wazua Sat, Nov 15, 2025

285 Pages«<101102103104105>»
How to tell NSE has bottomed out
mwekez@ji
#2041 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2013 8:35:17 PM

the deal wrote:
Foreigners net sellers today.

... hugely in safaricom (-KES 98M), then EABL (-KES 12M). Inflows in BBK, KCB, Equity, Kengen, Uchumi

mwekez@ji
#2042 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2013 8:57:57 PM

Did this spook some of the foreigners in safari

Safaricom loses 2.2pc of voice traffic market share to competitors http://www.businessdailyafrica....06/-/yl9dps/-/index.html
mwekez@ji
#2043 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2013 10:13:42 AM

Kestrel has this morning stamped ACCUMULATE rating on Safari with Target Price of KES 6.45
#2044 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2013 10:43:16 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
Kestrel has this morning stamped ACCUMULATE rating on Safari with Target Price of KES 6.45

Can non kestrel members see the reasons? Or can you post highlights of their reasoning here?

Aguytrying
#2045 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2013 10:51:34 AM

Its obvious that now its time for the market to tank. When was the last time we saw such heavy supply vs demand ? or foreigners being net sellers? and we know what happened then. Question is how far down we'll go.
Time to get ready to splash some cash at the bargains that may arise.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
mibbz
#2046 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2013 10:59:26 AM

@stocksmaster was right,mid feb is the time to decide whether to buy stock or currency.Till then we wait.....plus the nominations must have caused jitters among foreign investors,if people can fight about nominations what about hotly contested elections....my 2 cents
mwekez@ji
#2047 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2013 11:31:08 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:

Can non kestrel members see the reasons? Or can you post highlights of their reasoning here?

We issue an ACCUMULATE recommendation on Safaricom with a fair value price of KES 6.45, implying upside potential of 12.2%. We expect a stable operating environment over the next year precipitated by a predictable tariff regime and profitability growth resulting from steady revenue growth and cost containment initiatives. In 1H13 (half year results for the period ending 30 September 2012), Safaricom managed to post a 93.7% y/y increase in EPS driven by higher call rates, improving cost management and recovery from a KES 1.0bn foreign exchange loss in 1H12. For FY13, we expect an EPS of KES 0.41. In the longer term, we see higher earnings driven by higher revenues and stable costs. The stronger earnings will lead to higher free cash flows which will consequently result in higher dividends as capital expenditure slows and debt is repaid.

Positives
· Larger subscriber numbers (forecast 3yr CAGR of 4.1%) and increased minutes of usage (forecast 3yr CAGR of 4.1%) will drive organic growth in voice revenues · The new higher call rates (+33.3% on-net, +25.0% off-net) will lead to strong voice revenue growth and an improvement in EBITDA margins in FY13E (+270bps y/y)
· Increase in call rates by competitors (an average increase of 20.0%) will reduce Safaricom churn rate
· M-PESA and Data now account for larger portions of total revenue. (M-PESA +176bps y/y to 17.6% of total revenue, Fixed data +44bps y/y to 1.7% of total revenue and Mobile data +11bps y/y to 5.0% of total revenue)
· Increases in M-PESA revenues and earnings will be driven by more active users and larger trans-action numbers and sizes (M-PESA ARPU increased 18.5% y/y in 1H13)
· M-Shwari will help grow M-PESA revenues as well as add a new separate revenue line in the medium to long-term with little risk to Safaricom
· Strong market share (68.7% subscriber market share) and sustainable pricing in mobile data is likely to lead to a sustainable competitive advantage
· Investment in extending its fibre optic network (from 600km to 2,400km) will help grow Safari-com’s fixed data revenues
· Continued cost management is expected to drive EBITDA margin expansion (+270bps in FY13E, +67bps in FY14F and +103bps in FY15F)
· Lower finance costs following the repayment of debt in the next 3 years should lead to higher earnings
· Higher free cash flows and lower debt should lead to higher dividends (+50.0% y/y in FY14F)

Risks
· Mobile Termination Rates will continue coming down (-20.3% y/y on 1 July 2013 and -13.9% y/y on 1 July 2014) putting pressure of voice revenue growth
· The introduction of excise duty on M-PESA (10.0% of the transaction fee) creates some uncer-tainty on M-PESA revenues and/or earnings · Foreign exchange losses or gains could significantly affect earnings as they did in FY12 (KES 1.0bn loss in 1H12 and KES 1.0bn gain in 2H12)
· Safaricom is attracting a smaller percentage of new subscribers (46.8% of new subscribers)
hisah
#2048 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2013 1:23:41 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:

We issue an ACCUMULATE recommendation on Safaricom with a fair value price of KES 6.45, implying upside potential of 12.2%. We expect a stable operating environment over the next year precipitated by a predictable tariff regime and profitability growth resulting from steady revenue growth and cost containment initiatives. In 1H13 (half year results for the period ending 30 September 2012), Safaricom managed to post a 93.7% y/y increase in EPS driven by higher call rates, improving cost management and recovery from a KES 1.0bn foreign exchange loss in 1H12. For FY13, we expect an EPS of KES 0.41. In the longer term, we see higher earnings driven by higher revenues and stable costs. The stronger earnings will lead to higher free cash flows which will consequently result in higher dividends as capital expenditure slows and debt is repaid.

Positives
· Larger subscriber numbers (forecast 3yr CAGR of 4.1%) and increased minutes of usage (forecast 3yr CAGR of 4.1%) will drive organic growth in voice revenues · The new higher call rates (+33.3% on-net, +25.0% off-net) will lead to strong voice revenue growth and an improvement in EBITDA margins in FY13E (+270bps y/y)
· Increase in call rates by competitors (an average increase of 20.0%) will reduce Safaricom churn rate
· M-PESA and Data now account for larger portions of total revenue. (M-PESA +176bps y/y to 17.6% of total revenue, Fixed data +44bps y/y to 1.7% of total revenue and Mobile data +11bps y/y to 5.0% of total revenue)
· Increases in M-PESA revenues and earnings will be driven by more active users and larger trans-action numbers and sizes (M-PESA ARPU increased 18.5% y/y in 1H13)
· M-Shwari will help grow M-PESA revenues as well as add a new separate revenue line in the medium to long-term with little risk to Safaricom
· Strong market share (68.7% subscriber market share) and sustainable pricing in mobile data is likely to lead to a sustainable competitive advantage
· Investment in extending its fibre optic network (from 600km to 2,400km) will help grow Safari-com’s fixed data revenues
· Continued cost management is expected to drive EBITDA margin expansion (+270bps in FY13E, +67bps in FY14F and +103bps in FY15F)
· Lower finance costs following the repayment of debt in the next 3 years should lead to higher earnings
· Higher free cash flows and lower debt should lead to higher dividends (+50.0% y/y in FY14F)

Risks
· Mobile Termination Rates will continue coming down (-20.3% y/y on 1 July 2013 and -13.9% y/y on 1 July 2014) putting pressure of voice revenue growth
· The introduction of excise duty on M-PESA (10.0% of the transaction fee) creates some uncer-tainty on M-PESA revenues and/or earnings · Foreign exchange losses or gains could significantly affect earnings as they did in FY12 (KES 1.0bn loss in 1H12 and KES 1.0bn gain in 2H12)
· Safaricom is attracting a smaller percentage of new subscribers (46.8% of new subscribers)

I don't like when Kestrel covers stocks I follow. They behave like Goldman Sachs i.e. do the exact opposite of what they reco.

Back in April 2010 - Buy reco, market price was 5.60/-
http://www.kestrelcapita...m_Update_April_2010.pdf

Back in June 2010 - Buy reco, market price was 5.50/-
http://www.kestrelcapita...om_Update_June_2010.pdf

Back in 2012 - Sell reco 2.75/-
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=17555

What do we note? In 2010, mpesa bank was ramped all the way to 6/- and topped out in Aug 2010. The largest exit volume was a day after the results announcement in May 2010. While in 2012 the sell reco was for accumulation as the rally swiftly raced to the current levels from 2.90 - 5.80. Yesterday the volume was higher and today we see price dipping. Like I have stated before the price is overextended and has some room to fall, near term 5.30 then 5.00.

Now we have a buy reco with 6.45/- as the target. Well I can guarantee you that indeed we are close to the top. The keyword here is guarantee.

The next rally should be the chance to sellout while the buy hype lasts.

In KE I keenly keep an eye on recos of especially Kestrel and SIB. While outside I keep an eye on MS and Citigroup. Always playing the opposite of their recos.

Happy hunting.

$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
mnandii
#2049 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2013 1:25:39 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
Its obvious that now its time for the market to tank. When was the last time we saw such heavy supply vs demand ? or foreigners being net sellers? and we know what happened then. Question is how far down we'll go.
Time to get ready to splash some cash at the bargains that may arise.

I want to accumulate some this FEB.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
mnandii
#2050 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2013 1:29:43 PM

hisah wrote:

I don't like when Kestrel covers stocks I follow. They behave like Goldman Sachs i.e. do the exact opposite of what they reco.

What do we note? In 2010, mpesa bank was ramped all the way to 6/- and topped out in Aug 2010. The largest exit volume was a day after the results announcement in May 2010. While in 2012 the sell reco was for accumulation as the rally swiftly raced to the current levels from 2.90 - 5.80. Yesterday the volume was higher and today we see price dipping. Like I have stated before the price is overextended and has some room to fall, near term 5.30 then 5.00.

Now we have a buy reco with 6.45/- as the target. Well I can guarantee you that indeed we are close to the top. The keyword here is guarantee.

In KE I keenly keep an eye on recos of especially Kestrel and SIB. While outside I keep an eye on MS and Citigroup. Also playing the opposite of their recos.

Happy hunting.

Something to ponder. Think
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
hisah
#2051 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2013 2:47:23 PM

KK today is moving large volume - 4.5M with VWAP currently @13.70/- with supply x2 demand. Full yr results around the corner.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
ChessMaster
#2052 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2013 3:07:26 PM

mnandii wrote:
hisah wrote:

In KE I keenly keep an eye on recos of especially Kestrel and SIB. While outside I keep an eye on MS and Citigroup. Also playing the opposite of their recos.

Happy hunting.

Something to ponder. Think

Always question the source of your information and their possible intent.
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
hisah
#2053 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 8:02:37 AM

KE stocks were supposed to behave this way - http://www.bloomberg.com...arkets-on-election.html

I'm also in the middle of trying to see the correlation btwn ftse100 & nse ftse related indices. Will update once done.

For now ftse100 is at 50 week high despite a shambolic UK econ!

kaifastus
#2054 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 2:33:10 PM

guys are quite today,i wonder why...Hisah know dat your links are really useful.
Kanjora1
#2055 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 2:35:11 PM

Only 12 counters have gone green today...
ChessMaster
#2056 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 2:48:17 PM

risk management past progression?
hisah
#2057 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 3:17:45 PM

Today EABL and mpesa bank are 1st and 2nd in turnover today with EABL @113M and mpesa bank @87M. EABL price closes in green while mpesa bank closes in red. EABL volume behaviour signals selling is ebbing and will soon resume the climb path. Quite interesting that mpesa bank price slide this week is on heavy volume, but the price has not cratered to levels near 5 - 5.30/-

BAT too is experiencing selling, but on light volume - VWAP @515/-

Of course after charging up like a mad bull (50% plus in a few trading days - senseless panic buying), Kengen is now soaking up the parabolic rally reality check on newton's law of gravity! VWAP @12.10/- Last week it was the top gainer, this week it'll be the top loser! The whiplash volatility smile I'm still waiting in the 10s region to grab my chips.

Again KK is seeing huge volumes today. I'm keenly watching this counter. This one and KQ will test investors nerves on massive losses. I dread for KQ - labour wars, elections, fuel costs, USDKES edging up etc - not a nice Q4 this one.

On tech readings, strangely RSI is still in overbought levels across all indices! However, a reset has happened to some indices that had ridiculous readings above 90 as the rally went berserk!
ChessMaster
#2058 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 4:01:10 PM

People will always want to know what's happening around them and will always want the option of choosing where to get the information from. Media and Communication technologies.
ChessMaster
#2059 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 4:17:18 PM

Anyway,anyone up for talking agricultural shares?
#2060 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 4:42:23 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
Anyway,anyone up for talking agricultural shares?

Agric stocks in the market are:
- Williamson - Tea
- Sasini -Tea and Coffee
- Limuru - Tea
- REA Vipingo - sisal and horticulture
- (Mumias) - Sugar, energy, bottled water,
- (Kenya Orchads) - Jam, spices, honey etc
All tea and coffee stocks are having a bad season in terms of new taxation by GoK, low prices, USD-KES not like 2011.
REA Vipingo might be better IMO.
Mumias, though not agric strictly, is having it rough in sourcing for raw materials for its core business.
KOL, not an agric strictly, i even don't know where it gets its raw materials.