wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

18 Pages<1234>»
What is a "good salary" in Kenya?
Money Whisperer
#21 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 1:25:51 PM

In Kenya,you may not get an answer.For instance a lecturer in Narok university earning a net of 180k a month lives a better life than a Nairobian with a net of 250k.rent in Narok for a decent 3 bedroom bungalow is 12k,water is from a borehole,food is cheap,salary for maid is 2k,lunch is 200,fuel expenditure is 200 daily coz work is nearby,plus many other benefits.For the Nairobian it is a different ball game altogether.

True dat. but on average a salary of 180K in Nairobi makes one live a comfortable life. Of course outside Nairobi such a person is a celeb. Wacha Narok, Nakuru on such a salary in five years you can finance your own campaign
"Money never sleeps"
tnai9
#22 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 3:23:49 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
In Kenya,you may not get an answer.For instance a lecturer in Narok university earning a net of 180k a month lives a better life than a Nairobian with a net of 250k.rent in Narok for a decent 3 bedroom bungalow is 12k,water is from a borehole,food is cheap,salary for maid is 2k,lunch is 200,fuel expenditure is 200 daily coz work is nearby,plus many other benefits.For the Nairobian it is a different ball game altogether.

True dat. but on average a salary of 180K in Nairobi makes one live a comfortable life. Of course outside Nairobi such a person is a celeb. Wacha Narok, Nakuru on such a salary in five years you can finance your own campaign

180K, comfortable?? maybe a bachelor, or someone without non-school going kids(2). Assuming 180K gross=(180K*.7)+5.6K=131.6k net

Very conservative Monthly expenses for a typical 180K p.m. Nairobian

rent 20K
Car loan 20K
Insurance 2K
Fuel 8k
Food 10k
Shopping 10K
Sacco 30k
Entertain 6k
Water/KP 3k
Misc 5K
Hse gal 4K
Extended fam 3k
chamaa 5k
kanjo/park 1.5K
mpangowakado 3k

Total 130.5K
Savings 1.5k

This is living from hand to mouth and only if u can stick to the budget.
This is a sad life!!!!!!

"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
wilyum
#23 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 3:33:15 PM

[quote]
180K, comfortable?? maybe a bachelor, or someone without non-school going kids(2). Assuming 180K gross=(180K*.7)+5.6K=131.6k net

rent 20K
Car loan 20K
Insurance 2K
Fuel 8k
Food 10k
Shopping 10K
Sacco 30k
Entertain 6k
Water/KP 3k
Misc 5K
Hse gal 4K
Extended fam 3k
chamaa 5k
kanjo/park 1.5K
mpangowakado 3k

Total 125K
Savings 5k[/quote]

savings=30+5+3+6=44k, good savings wewe!!
tnai9
#24 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 3:37:55 PM

[quote=wilyum]

rent 20K
Car loan 20K
Insurance 2K
Fuel 8k
Food 10k
Shopping 10K
Sacco 30k
Entertain 6k
Water/KP 3k
Misc 5K
Hse gal 4K
Extended fam 3k
chamaa 5k
kanjo/park 1.5K
mpangowakado 3k

Total 125K
Savings 5k[/quote]

The guy maybe servicing a sacco loan he invested in DECI!!
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
anasazi
#25 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 4:41:02 PM

Alternative Budget
=======================
Rent - 30k
Insurance - 3k
Fuel & Car Maintenance - 10k
Food - 10k
Shopping - 10k
Entertainment - 6k
Water/ Power - 3k
Miscellaneous - 5k
House girl - 8k (there are many costs to having a house girl)
Extended Family = 3k
Chama - 5k
Parking - 1.5k
School Fees - 10k
Church - 18k
Savings - 10k

Basically shows that depending on what your obligations are, plus not living in a big house (30k is pretty fair), ata hio 180 ni kidogo in this Nairobi. Live in another town and that's a different ballgame (though getting that money in other towns pia ni ngumu)
Form is temporary, class is permanent
madhaquer
#26 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 5:11:20 PM

Good salary depends alot on the social status you want to project.
In Nairobi, you will be good with anything below 200k if you choose to live in Eastlands/Zimma/West etc...
The minute you step into the upmarket and the rents go into 40k and above, huwezimake.

A good salary in my opinion ought to be 350k and above.
With that, you can rent in an upmarket neighborhood or build your own hse, drive a nice car and not worry about fuel prices, run a small project without necessarily running to the bank for a loan and most importantly you can save up, plan and retire early.

If you are below 350k p.m you are condemned to Eastlands, you will have to service loans for some petty projects and you better join a sacco if you are not already a member of one. If anything make sure you have a medical cover and a pension to cushion the shocks which will definitely come.
#27 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 6:02:37 PM

jaco78 wrote:

And tusker is just 100 Bob.

I can vouch for this i was born and brought up in Nairobi & got really depressed when i was transferred out to the rural areas. However this has changed. Though i can't say i am very well paid, i live in a beautifully finished three bedroomed house on its own quarter acre compound where i grow maize & kales paying kshs. 5,500 pm as rent and i am 5 minutes walk from my place of work, meaning i can wake up at 7.30am & still be early to work. needless to say i comfortably save 50% of my income every month.I enjoy an enhanced quality of life.

And the reverse happens when you move from rural to Nairobi.Picture this, I moved recently (Last year) from rural to Nairobi and my rent increased five fold from 5,000 to 25000. Food and other services also increased proportionally. Have had to make adjustments to budget to live within my means.

No salary is ever enough, the more you are paid the more the needs and wants increase to meet income.
Ndaragwa
#28 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 6:49:13 PM

anasazi wrote:
Alternative Budget
=======================
Rent - 30k
Insurance - 3k
Fuel & Car Maintenance - 10k
Food - 10k
Shopping - 10k
Entertainment - 6k
Water/ Power - 3k
Miscellaneous - 5k
House girl - 8k (there are many costs to having a house girl)
Extended Family = 3k
Chama - 5k
Parking - 1.5k
School Fees - 10k
Church - 18k
Savings - 10k

Basically shows that depending on what your obligations are, plus not living in a big house (30k is pretty fair), ata hio 180 ni kidogo in this Nairobi. Live in another town and that's a different ballgame (though getting that money in other towns pia ni ngumu)

anasazi - can you do an alternative budget for somebody who already owns a house outright.

#29 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 7:09:18 PM

I'd rather work in Nairobi despite all the associated 'problems'. I visited a friend working in one of those smaller towns and the quality of life is pathetic. There are no self contained houses to rent, no running water, no roads etc. You have to fetch water from a well and use a communal bathroom. He wanted to buy some land and put up a proper house but thought otherwise due to siasa and risk.
okwonkwo
#30 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 5:24:25 PM

I would presuppose that a 'good salary@ is one that enables you to live a @good life@. It is then the definition of a good life tnat varies from person to person. For some this means kids in fancy private schools, holidays in kenya (& perhaps SA even) once in a while, gym/club memberships, shopping at high end malls etc while for others a good life can be had without any of the above but able to pay rent in a decent neighborhood, kids in kawaida private schools, holidays in coasto every dec and frequenting local establishments for pints and family outings without having to go into debt to pay for all this.

On a related tangent, i recently had a discussion with a high school pal who works a decent office job abroad and mentioned to them that managers in quite a few kenyan companies can pull upwards of 400k gross pm and it sort of was a shock to my pal coz i presume they left the country when a 'good salo' was 100k pm. He mentioned that if he could get such a job he would gladly relocate back home even tho his current salo is somewhere near 600k when converted to ksh. Was i wrong in my statement that salos of 400k upwards are no longer uncommon?
sentinel prime
#31 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 8:37:33 PM

lower your expectations....a mans life does not consist of the abundance of things he owns.

Money Whisperer
#32 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 8:46:48 PM

[quote=wilyum]

rent 20K
Car loan 20K
Insurance 2K
Fuel 8k
Food 10k
Shopping 10K
Sacco 30k
Entertain 6k
Water/KP 3k
Misc 5K
Hse gal 4K
Extended fam 3k
chamaa 5k
kanjo/park 1.5K
mpangowakado 3k

Total 125K
Savings 5k[/quote]

1. shopping and food fall in the same category. do not add them together adjust say 15K
2. School fees is not a monthly expenditure
3. Mpango wa kado and misc are in the same category. don't add them together but adjust so that mpango wa kado shares in the 5K allocated to that vote head
4. Car loan is a term expenditure so after you are done with the loan you save 20K.
5. Saaco is a saving/investment so not expenditure
6. increase rent to 30-35K and live comfortably
7. reduce costs like use car only on Fridays or when you have to run errands after work

NB I meant 180K take-home though 130 is still good
"Money never sleeps"
sentinel prime
#33 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 11:28:12 AM

I'd rather work in Nairobi despite all the associated 'problems'. I visited a friend working in one of those smaller towns and the quality of life is pathetic. There are no self contained houses to rent, no running water, no roads etc. You have to fetch water from a well and use a communal bathroom. He wanted to buy some land and put up a proper house but thought otherwise due to siasa and risk.

depends on the size of the town.Most medium to large towns beat Nairobi in the quality of life.
kayhara
#34 Posted : Saturday, December 26, 2015 8:21:24 PM

Football aside,would you prefer a 10% raise in your salary or same salary but a 25% lump sum in January and 75% monthly,assume 100K salary.
To Each His Own
jerry
#35 Posted : Sunday, December 27, 2015 12:12:28 AM

kayhara wrote:
Football aside,would you prefer a 10% raise in your salary or same salary but a 25% lump sum in January and 75% monthly,assume 100K salary.

Where does footbal come from? 10% raise is my choice.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
kayhara
#36 Posted : Sunday, December 27, 2015 9:23:47 AM

jerry wrote:
kayhara wrote:

In reference to Arsenal and Man U woes
To Each His Own
subaru
#37 Posted : Monday, December 28, 2015 8:11:18 AM

kayhara wrote:
jerry wrote:
kayhara wrote:

In reference to Arsenal and Man U woes

Jon Jones
#38 Posted : Monday, December 28, 2015 8:29:31 AM

Nowadays, with the inflation and all, I guess 500k is the new "good" salary according to me, for a bachelor. If married, 800k will do.
Since men have learned to shoot without missing, I have learned to fly without perching
Boris Boyka
#39 Posted : Saturday, January 02, 2016 8:29:48 AM

Jon Jones wrote:
Nowadays, with the inflation and all, I guess 500k is the new "good" salary according to me, for a bachelor. If married, 800k will do.

Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#40 Posted : Saturday, January 02, 2016 9:36:49 AM

Jon Jones wrote:

And remember Net salary after tax for gross salaryof 500K will be around 360K.