Market
Pennywise
Tyre Center - The good, the bad and the ugly
Tebes wrote:jaggernaut wrote:I ended up buying R15 Apollo Amazer 3G Maxx tyres @8,300. Apparently they were rated as the best performing summer tyres in Europe in 2012. RINK WHICH SHOP AND WHERE? Try Toyo tires ex-Japan. Great reviews online. Better than Michelin yet now available in KE cheaper
My car came with those Toyo tires from Japan. Have been seeing billboards advertising them locally. What is the cost for toyo 195 65 R15?
jaggernaut wrote:My car came with those Toyo tires from Japan. Have been seeing billboards advertising them locally. What is the cost for toyo 195 65 R15? I know they've got 205/65 R15 which also fits well in your case. @ 12 a piece
About to replace my 185/70/R14. Any leads on the best deals and the best make. Budget is 10K max per tyre. I currently have Goodyear Duraco bought 2.5 years ago, and wouldn't mind something different.
Rank: Member Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 398 Location: Where everyone knows you
Hi Tyre experts.
I need new tires for my Pajero GLX.
Currently have Goodyear Wrangler AT/S 205 R 16C
These have lasted me for about 6 years and 50K kilometers. However, having moved to Mombasa and doing some ( 10 % ) off main roads, I am getting quite a few punctures.
If cost was not a real issue, what would you recommend.
Thanks.
MatataMingi wrote:Hi Tyre experts.
I need new tires for my Pajero GLX.
Currently have Goodyear Wrangler AT/S 205 R 16C
These have lasted me for about 6 years and 50K kilometers. However, having moved to Mombasa and doing some ( 10 % ) off main roads, I am getting quite a few punctures.
If cost was not a real issue, what would you recommend.
Thanks. Hi Matata, Sorry to hijack the thread. Can you give me your email i would like to check something regarding Pajero GLX. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
Tyre Experts GT Radial tyres 205/55/16R How much can i get them for and where? also how do the one's made in Indonesia and China Differ? update president set president = speaker where president is null
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,497 Location: nairobi
Cnyaga wrote:Tebes wrote:jaggernaut wrote:I ended up buying R15 Apollo Amazer 3G Maxx tyres @8,300. Apparently they were rated as the best performing summer tyres in Europe in 2012. RINK WHICH SHOP AND WHERE? Try Toyo tires ex-Japan. Great reviews online. Better than Michelin yet now available in KE cheaper Ala. Toyo better than Michelin?? HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: New-farer Joined: 5/25/2010 Posts: 27 Location: Nairobi
Toxicity wrote:Tyre Experts
GT Radial tyres 205/55/16R How much can i get them for and where? also how do the one's made in Indonesia and China Differ? I know a guy. KES 7500. 0723018351. I'm sorry I don't know the difference, but I hear Indonesia is better
obiero wrote:Cnyaga wrote:Tebes wrote:jaggernaut wrote:I ended up buying R15 Apollo Amazer 3G Maxx tyres @8,300. Apparently they were rated as the best performing summer tyres in Europe in 2012. RINK WHICH SHOP AND WHERE? Try Toyo tires ex-Japan. Great reviews online. Better than Michelin yet now available in KE cheaper Ala. Toyo better than Michelin?? It's a new world order where the east is calling the shots. Started with car reliability, and now tyres.
bizbyte wrote:Toxicity wrote:Tyre Experts
GT Radial tyres 205/55/16R How much can i get them for and where? also how do the one's made in Indonesia and China Differ? I know a guy. KES 7500. 0723018351. I'm sorry I don't know the difference, but I hear Indonesia is better Hey bizbyte. Thanks will give you a shout. update president set president = speaker where president is null
Rank: New-farer Joined: 4/14/2014 Posts: 61 Location: Nairoville
I see its been more than a year since we discussed 'miguu'. Someone told me that there is a Chinese equivalent for all these good brands like kina Apollo. Not sure if he was scaring me into giving him business after fearing getting conned and relying on him as the tire expert. Guys, what's your take on that? Also, where can I get good Apollo tires at a good price in 2015? Some people see the glass half full. Others see it half empty. I see a glass that's twice as big as it needs to be. ― George Carlin
Apollo are not good,, they are equivalent of linglong China. Try dunlop, Michelin, Toyo, Good year, Yana
Rank: Member Joined: 6/22/2011 Posts: 561 Location: House
mucheminjagih wrote:Apollo are not good,, they are equivalent of linglong China. Try dunlop, Michelin, Toyo, Good year, Yana whats the market rate for the Dunlop 195/65/R15?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
mucheminjagih wrote:Apollo are not good,, they are equivalent of linglong China. Try dunlop, Michelin, Toyo, Good year, Yana Don't touch GoodYear ni BURE KABISA.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Apollo tafuta kingsway, but wheels depends on your taste, driving style and of course type of road condition you drive on.
lakini if you do not mind the noise, nunua kumho/marshals - very cheap and a decent brand.
mucheminjagih wrote:Apollo are not good,, they are equivalent of linglong China. Try dunlop, Michelin, Toyo, Good year, Yana I have had apollo tyres for past 2yrs and they still look "new". I am happy with them. They are made in India. Bought size 15 at 8300. They were voted best tyres in Europe some time back. Angalia link hapo juu.
Anyone who has used Triangle? “Once the last tree is cut and the last river poisoned,you will find you cannot eat your money" Traditional saying.
Ngogoyo wrote:mucheminjagih wrote:Apollo are not good,, they are equivalent of linglong China. Try dunlop, Michelin, Toyo, Good year, Yana whats the market rate for the Dunlop 195/65/R15? Dunlop bure kabisa. Bought 4 @11k.at the dunlop centre hapo past near CMC. Firts thye fitted the inside side out and then after few months they started bulging on the sides. Recentky bought GT Radial at 6.5k and they are far much better. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
Gathige wrote:Ngogoyo wrote:mucheminjagih wrote:Apollo are not good,, they are equivalent of linglong China. Try dunlop, Michelin, Toyo, Good year, Yana whats the market rate for the Dunlop 195/65/R15? Dunlop bure kabisa. Bought 4 @11k.at the dunlop centre hapo past near CMC. Firts thye fitted the inside side out and then after few months they started bulging on the sides. Recentky bought GT Radial at 6.5k and they are far much better. @Gathige...Apollo are good tyres. Wachana na Yana its crap.
Market
Pennywise
Tyre Center - The good, the bad and the ugly