wazua Wed, Jan 29, 2025

cremation business / urn selling
deadpoet
#1 Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2012 8:25:49 AM

Viable business opportunity? but with only a focus on unclaimed bodies at hospitals/morgues.

From the sketch research I've done, it's mainly a thing for the Hindu community, although it is sometimes used by some families (Dr. Maathai was cremated).

People die all the time, so there's always going to be business. Morbid but true.
#2 Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2012 3:07:03 PM

@Deadpoet, good idea lakini how come your username is also death related?? Just asking
deadpoet
#3 Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2012 3:58:10 PM

hehe,@rahatupu that happens to be incidental...

I was just brainstorming biz ideas for the new year, and thought I would look into this one first.
#4 Posted : Monday, January 14, 2013 12:50:05 AM

Enyewe ni kama hii watu waliogopa... :( :( Africans fear death, you know!
jonna
#5 Posted : Monday, January 14, 2013 4:07:25 AM

Yeah, you can combine the cremation business together with a home for seniors especially now that people are set to retire in large numbers.
As for death, I never really worry about it since its nothing that I can control and plus it only takes seconds to die but living, that's something I can decide how am going to live.
Energy.
deadpoet
#6 Posted : Monday, January 14, 2013 7:40:01 AM

Interestingly, I've found out that local cremations do not utilise furnaces - several tree logs are used, which is not a sustainable way of going about this kind of thing.

Downside is that the furnaces happen to be quite expensive.
Bachuma Gate
#7 Posted : Monday, January 14, 2013 12:44:06 PM

Have you thought of a high end cemetry for buring wadosi.
DOH
deadpoet
#8 Posted : Monday, January 14, 2013 1:51:10 PM

I don't think that would work.. most wadosi are buried in shagz (they have the $$$) and always with extended family members being involved.

Better to focus on the unclaimed or those that can't afford such burials/long stays at mortuaries.
Bachuma Gate
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2013 10:05:26 AM

deadpoet
Go to Langata cemetery and check the section for permanent graves. This is the most expensive section. Its spilling over. Now imagine if you can offer a better managed cemetery complete with 2 or 3 chapels. Well done tomb stones etc. Lots of greenery. You can also throw in a Crematorium. Coupled with that more and more people are shunning the idea of having to be buried in shags. For those who came from Western Kenya, its normally a THURS to SUNDAY/MON affair. Esp with Gen Y.
DOH
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2013 6:15:40 PM

@deadpoet - Respect to the living dead; Prof. Wangari