wazua Fri, Jan 17, 2025

28 Pages«<1314151617>»
Safaricom HY2013 Profit before tax up 113%
hisah
#281 Posted : Wednesday, January 09, 2013 3:09:55 PM

Sanity is back smile Technicals were very stretched, RSI, Stochastics, Bollinger bands. A correction is now in order.

VWAP to close @5.80/- but with that afternoon reversal large bids left @5.30 - 5.40 level are likely to be revisited.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#282 Posted : Wednesday, January 09, 2013 3:25:14 PM

Vodafone Africa Becomes Profit Machine - http://www.bloomberg.com...mes-profit-machine.html

The rising powerhouse is helping make up for Europe’s slowdown after Chief Executive Officer Vittorio Colao last year had to write down $9.5 billion on the value of Vodafone’s Spanish and Italian units.

Vodafone’s biggest African business, Johannesburg-based Vodacom Group Ltd. (VOD), surpassed the company’s U.K. unit in 2010 by profit, and it outpaced the Spanish division the following year. With earnings expanding at 50 percent annually in some countries, profit from Africa could overtake that from all of southern Europe in as little as three years, said Nick Read, the executive who heads the region.

M-Pesa, Vodafone’s mobile payment system, is used by 15 million people in Kenya and moves the equivalent of 31 percent of the country’s gross domestic product through its system, according to Safaricom Chief Executive Officer Bob Collymore.

M-Pesa is in eight countries and has begun offering savings accounts and other banking services in some markets. The system is more successful than traditional banks because it gives people an efficient way of sending small sums and doesn’t require a bank account, Collymore said.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#283 Posted : Wednesday, January 09, 2013 8:48:55 PM

A dude buying safcom at 6bob expects to sell at how much?
#284 Posted : Wednesday, January 09, 2013 9:53:21 PM

Just received a confirmation that my trade went through @4.55. Im happy to have sold this laggard stock. Having averaged down heavily I leave wit a very small loss and no hard feelings..

Kijana...I am damn sure you don like looking at the price now. Pole.
#285 Posted : Wednesday, January 09, 2013 10:09:18 PM

Just received a confirmation that my trade went through @4.55. Im happy to have sold this laggard stock. Having averaged down heavily I leave wit a very small loss and no hard feelings..

Kijana...I am damn sure you don like looking at the price now. Pole.

uchokozi nayo Laughing out loudly

#286 Posted : Wednesday, January 09, 2013 10:34:05 PM

A lesson in patience. 100k and counting

@Mukiri, this patience was truly worth it. Am currently 473K net gain (at 5.90), and am just wondering, should i take that or wait for 500k (at 6.05)?

How is Wanjiku behaving, or she hardened already?

473kApplause When I grow up, I want to be like yousmile

mwekez@ji
#287 Posted : Wednesday, January 09, 2013 11:38:41 PM

Noted' Morgan Stanley UK have been trading on Safaricom on a daily basis. HSBC also traded today
hisah
#288 Posted : Thursday, January 10, 2013 8:24:16 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
Noted' Morgan Stanley UK have been trading on Safaricom on a daily basis. HSBC also traded today

If u were checking this counter yesterday from around 2pm a 5.60 sell order was placed before the 1M @6/- ask. All over sudden all those 6 - 6.15 ask orders disappeared. Then bids at 5.80-5.90 got flashed out.
Reversal manipulation. I love the casino. It's the same everywhere.
Next waiting for EABL, BAT, KCB, ARM to top out then NSE should slide and trade sideways. These rallies are insane with P/E (PER) looking ridiculous. We don't need a reminder of the same as in back in 2006-2007 period with P/Es in some counters above 25 - 40s!?
hisah
#289 Posted : Thursday, January 10, 2013 9:29:17 AM

@dunkang - what say u we take this thing to 7/- since we're the mouthpiece since the 3/- lows. We can rope in @maka and @philanga too as we ratchet the market madness euphoria then we leave a lot of monkeys behind smile So devious this thought smile
hisah
#290 Posted : Thursday, January 10, 2013 10:19:13 AM

Africa eyes Mpesa model - http://www.theeastafrica.../-/wfmiwiz/-/index.html

#291 Posted : Thursday, January 10, 2013 11:10:47 AM

hisah wrote:
Africa eyes Mpesa model

Safaricom's (and mpesa's) growth is severely limited by 2 factors.

1. Population of kenya. 20 million own phones. If this was China or India, potential customers would be half a billion. Thinks of the revenues and profits!

2. Vodafone's control. Vodafone "merely" owns 40%. On paper, Safaricom is a bonafide Kenyan company just like Roar, Member, NMG, JHL and many other private and unlisted public companies operating in EA and beyond. Safcom (and mpesa) have the potential to be global brands like Microsoft google. Will Vodafone allow it to expand out of Kenya and sell the Mpesa product as a trully multinational Company? I don't think so. They would rather licence the platform to other telcoms and enjoy the Royalties in London.

Maybe GOK should exercise their muscle as one of the shareholders, the regulatory and legislative authority to compel Safcom to expand globally to maximise the wealth of the minority.
#292 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 4:38:58 AM

hisah wrote:
@dunkang - what say u we take this thing to 7/- since we're the mouthpiece since the 3/- lows. We can rope in @maka and @philanga too as we ratchet the market madness euphoria then we leave a lot of monkeys behind smile So devious this thought smile

6/- is A DEFINITE print today
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#293 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 6:22:12 AM

hisah wrote:

6/- is A DEFINITE print today

Highly unlikely. With,the index at 4,500pts,they'l be some cautious moves either way.
But should we get there,it'l be a "hallelujah moment" smile
@SufficientlyP
Cde Monomotapa
#294 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 7:24:07 AM

hisah wrote:

Mosdef: EcoCash Zimbabwe transferring nearly $100 million monthly to rural areas http://bulawayo24.com/in...companies-byo-24531.html
Cde Monomotapa
#295 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 7:28:00 AM

Zim ain't playing. M-Shwari reloaded! ~> Econet, TN Bank deal gets SECZ nod http://www.herald.co.zw/...:business&Itemid=133
#296 Posted : Thursday, January 24, 2013 1:58:34 PM

BusinessDailyAfrica wrote:

-Intel has partnered exclusively with Safaricom and will on Thursday avail a range of handsets dubbed Yolo, billed as the first smartphone with ‘Intel inside’ in Africa.
-The Yolo smartphone becomes Intel’s third
branded mobile phone.
-It will sport an Intel processor, 4.5-inch
touchscreen display, a front camera for video calling and a 5-megapixel camera.

ChessMaster
#297 Posted : Thursday, January 24, 2013 5:18:27 PM

one word DATA!
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
#298 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2013 1:18:01 AM

hisah wrote:

...post peacful elections and a smooth swearing in this counter will trot.Dont we all wish we had crystal balls...
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#299 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2013 1:01:43 PM

Safari currently feeling the January heatsmile Now trading at 5.35Drool
@SufficientlyP
hisah
#300 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2013 2:21:14 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
Safari currently feeling the January heatsmile Now trading at 5.35 Drool

The reversal has been slower than my expectation. VWAP hasn't tested 5.30.