wazua Tue, Mar 24, 2026

5 Pages123>»
Equity Bank on personal loans
gabrini
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 8:53:00 AM

I hear that nowadays if you want a salary loan from them you need to have 3 salaried guarantors-1 from your institution and 2 from other institutions but whose salos pass thro the bank. Now aint this blackmail - i mean its like telling you that if you want a loan from us you need to tell other institutions to have their staff open accounts with us.or is it another way of saying 'we are restricting issuance of loans coz of the harsh economy' anyone with insight on this
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 10:12:00 AM

Get serious!

They are only trying to ensure that they will get their money back!

Do you think it would be easier to produce a title deed to secure the loan?

Look at the bad (personal) loans books of other banks that don't insist on such guarantees.

Anyway: With about 60% of all bank accounts in the country,it is unlikely that you don't have a friend who has an account in Equity.

WaKenya saa zingine mnashangaza!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
nahdy
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 10:20:00 AM

@ gabrini

put urself in equity's shoes
if u had money to lend out,wat would be ur requirements?
gabrini
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 10:31:00 AM

@Nahdy

just guarantors,be it from the same institution or not as long as they have sound accounts with me.my bone of contention is not repayment its about sourcing guarantors from other institutions.Do other banks have such dictatorial conditions
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 10:48:00 AM

The conditions shouldn't be a problem unless your guarantors expect you to default,which could be why you are unable to get them to guarantee.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 12:00:00 PM

Jameni... haven't you read the horror stories? If you guarantee someone & he defaults kidgo,EB will debit your account (salo paid through EB) immediately. Which means you have to run around bila chapa.

*** Do NOT guarantee anyone at EB unless you are 100% sure the loanee is totally upstanding AND can pay back the loan.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 12:08:00 PM

A friend of mine (EKE) switched his salo account from EB after someone (OBF) he had guaranteed defaulted. EB took EKE's cash (to the extent of the missed payment) without telling EKE. Akaenda ATM... wapi...? Jamaa/EKE thought he was stiffed by his employer kumbe it was EB's 'deduction' on behalf of OBF.

***OBF has been having financial problems so EKE is trying to 'de-guarantee' but unless OBF finds a suitable replacement... Long story short... EKE wanted a 'soft loan' from me!

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
bird_man
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 12:10:00 PM

@Gabrini

With Equity giving out so many loans to 'normal mwananchi' the only way to protect themselves is to ensure that the guarantors have active and sound accounts with the bank....that's why you have requirement No.1

Requirement No.2 is to ensure that in case you and your company-mates are all fired or retrenched.....the bank will still be in a position to recover some money since they will have guarantors from another company as well.I know this because i saw it last week where around 38 people from the same company were retrenched.....and guess what.....they were guarantors of each other on loans.......so where will the bank get its money now that their salaries are over??

The course of the world is changed by those who dare dream!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 12:16:00 PM

After reading & listening to others,I would buy EB shares,use them as a bank but NEVER guarantee someone else... EB will drag me down as well over a small glitch.

#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 12:52:00 PM

@VVS: that's the meaning of the word 'GUARANTEE' If the borrower defaults,the guarantor pays up! It's that simple...especially if the guarantor also banks with the same bank.

Many Kenyans imagine that banks 'GIVE' loans! Loans are LENT,to be paid back on the terms agreed....strictly.

So don't complain if one bank seems to be asking for 'too many' guarantors; just go to another bank....there are over 50 in Kenya!
5 Pages123>»