wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

8 Pages«<5678>
Km/Litre
vin
#121 Posted : Sunday, December 30, 2012 10:40:55 PM

I think the way one drives is the main determining factor on consumption.I have done both average and literary flying and the difference is quiet big.Average speed of between 80kph will give you optimum results.Beyond there wewe na petrol station mtaamua.
Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
wangu.n
#122 Posted : Tuesday, January 01, 2013 5:33:45 PM

I'm getting a mazda demio or a passo (yet to decide) in a few weeks, my first car.. what are the stats on these cars? Also is the honda fit better than demio??
I'm the typical female driver, I've tried visualising myself as that hot super woman with all the stunt driving in the movies but sadly this technique doesn't help my driving, I still do lots of instant brakes n if you hoot I'll switch off my engine... so, comsumption??
amga
#123 Posted : Tuesday, January 01, 2013 8:30:16 PM

try the demio or the vitz, very economical engines. done 1K from city to Nyeri in the demio
guru me
#124 Posted : Wednesday, January 02, 2013 7:36:55 AM

Wangu.n check out the link below. Seems the Fit and Demio have the Passo beat in terms of fuel efficiency.

http://www.thegreencarwe...cars-in-japan-revealed/

The Vitz however seems to hold its own. My experience has been that Toyotas fair better in Kenya especially when it comes to parts availability.

Concur with amga on the Vitz
wangu.n
#125 Posted : Wednesday, January 02, 2013 10:52:33 AM

@guru me Thanks for the link..
I guess the passo is out so compe is between fit and demio
#126 Posted : Wednesday, January 02, 2013 11:01:44 AM

The top 10s in each segment
were as follows:
Small and standard sized
vehicles:
1. Toyota Prius – 35.5km/l
2. Honda Civic Hybrid –
31.0km/l
3. Toyota Vitz – 24.5km/l
4. Honda Fit – 24.0km/l
5. Toyota iQ – 23.0km/l
=5. Mazda Demio – 23.0km/l
=5. Smart ForTwo Coupe –
23.0km/l
=5. Smart ForTwo Cabriolet –
23.0km/l
9. Toyota Belta – 22.0km/l
10. Toyota Passo – 21.5km/l
=10. Daihatsu Boon –
21.5km/l
Light vehicle category:
1. Daihatsu Mira – 27.0km/l
2. Subaru R1 – 24.5km/l
=2. Subaru R2 – 24.5km/l
=2. Suzuki Alto Lapin –
24.5km/l
5. Subaru Stella – 23.0km/l
=5. Daihatsu Move – 23.0km/l
=5. Daihatsu Sonica –
23.0km/l
=5. Daihatsu Move Conte –
23.0km/l
=5. Suzuki Wagon R – 23.0km/
l
=5. Suzuki Cervo – 23.0km/l
=5. Mazda AZ Wagon –
23.0km/l
#127 Posted : Wednesday, January 02, 2013 11:14:56 AM

There are numerous 660cc Light Vehicle Category pieces today, not yet popular in Kenya though. Nissan Moco is one.
tuvok
#128 Posted : Wednesday, January 02, 2013 1:20:03 PM

Anyone used the VW TDI cars for comparison?
Some don't like them because of the fuel quality (i think pre 2007 they should be ok for low sulphur diesel), though a mech I know says that if you treat them well they are great.

Randomly picking a 2006 1.9 TDI VW 105 bhp Golf from autotrader.co.uk to get the performance / economy stats

Manual - MPG (UK) - Town/Highway/Combined - 43.5/65.7/56.5
(km/l -> 15.4/23.26/20)

Auto (DSG) - MPG (UK) - Town/Highway/Combined - 37.7/58.9/48.7 (km/l -> 13.35/20.85/17.24)

Looks to me that barring any potential fuel issues a turbo diesel offers excellent consumption with great performance.

Of course lead foot winning over egg shell would skew these figures significantly.
Mkimwa
#129 Posted : Wednesday, January 02, 2013 3:30:08 PM

Premio 2003 model, 1.5l

NRB - MSA - Fuelled full tank in NRB. By the time i reached mombasa at average speed of 100kph, I had one bar above half tank. Did another 200km on the remaining half tank. Consumption for whole tank was 15.5km/l.

MSA - NRB. Consumption was 13.9km/l, driving mostly at 120kph, with a very heavy foot on accelerator. On reaching NRB,the gauge was slightly above quarter tank.

Conclusion: Its the driving style that really matters..
JkMwatha
#130 Posted : Wednesday, January 02, 2013 3:56:03 PM

Mkimwa wrote:
Premio 2003 model, 1.5l

NRB - MSA - Fuelled full tank in NRB. By the time i reached mombasa at average speed of 100kph, I had one bar above half tank. Did another 200km on the remaining half tank. Consumption for whole tank was 15.5km/l.

MSA - NRB. Consumption was 13.9km/l, driving mostly at 120kph, with a very heavy foot on accelerator. On reaching NRB,the gauge was slightly above quarter tank.

Conclusion: Its the driving style that really matters..

Could possible reason for 'heavier foot' be that MSA - NRB is uphill (rising altitude)?
sentinel prime
#131 Posted : Thursday, January 03, 2013 9:20:59 PM

wangu.n wrote:
@guru me Thanks for the link..
I guess the passo is out so compe is between fit and demio

don't rely on official EPA estimates,they are usually inaccurate.

user reported estimates are more accurate.

Also remember the year of make.

I did some extensive research when I was on the market and if I can recall the passo was the best followed by Suzuki swift,vitz and Nissan note...but overall the margins were negligible.

I think in terms of resale value, reliability, ease of spare parts puts the vitz slightly ahead of passo(daihatsu) in overall value.

but the Honda fit is the best quality machine by far.
guru me
#132 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 3:06:59 AM

@Sentinnel Prime -Interesting. Where does one find such user reported data. On the Honda Fit- dont know much about the it but concur that generally Hondas are built and quite popular in North America but for some reason never really caught on in Kenya. Are spare parts readily available though for the Fit? Regardless of built quality, it too must break down some time.
sentinel prime
#133 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 1:05:15 PM

guru me wrote:
@Sentinnel Prime -Interesting. Where does one find such user reported data. On the Honda Fit- dont know much about the it but concur that generally Hondas are built and quite popular in North America but for some reason never really caught on in Kenya. Are spare parts readily available though for the Fit? Regardless of built quality, it too must break down some time.

Google :) websites like carsurvey.org,auto express, what car have user reported fuel consumption figures.

the fit spares are harder to find and more expensive than for vitz by around 30-50%!!!....however both cars run like clock work so no advantage to the fit.

The build materials and versatility are what sets the fit apart...the vitz's hard plastics are quite tacky.
bartum
#134 Posted : Sunday, August 18, 2013 5:09:45 PM

nice read
#135 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2013 1:49:27 PM

In the related thread i asked guys who've done round trips on a full tank to raise up their hands and share wako wapi?

Na hiyo tabia ya kurusha mawe to the car infront washana naye Shame on you hiyo ni uniform ya kwaya.

Most cars around promise mileages of 15 to 20 km per liter highway. Now assuming a 60ltr fuel tank this would mean at least 900-1200km on a single full tank meaning Nrb msa and back or kisumu Mombasa with something left in the tank
Discuss from experience.

Related thread: http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=25529&p=3#post452676
D32
#136 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2013 3:53:40 AM

2013 Audi a3 1.2 TFSI with 57.6 mpg capability

http://www.audi.co.uk/ab...cision-even-harder.html

They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#137 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2013 5:04:37 AM

At the beginning of this thread there were guys beating debe for the hybrids. What is the experience with hybrids two years down the line in light of the article below?

Importing a hybrid car Ship in the mechanic as+well!

share experiences hata kama ni ya neighbour, 'friend' or 'a guy i know'
theking
#138 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2013 8:27:29 AM

Siringi wrote:
In the related thread i asked guys who've done round trips on a full tank to raise up their hands and share wako wapi?

Na hiyo tabia ya kurusha mawe to the car infront washana naye Shame on you hiyo ni uniform ya kwaya.

Most cars around promise mileages of 15 to 20 km per liter highway. Now assuming a 60ltr fuel tank this would mean at least 900-1200km on a single full tank meaning Nrb msa and back or kisumu Mombasa with something left in the tank
Discuss from experience.

Related thread: http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=25529&p=3#post452676

I've done Nairobi - Vihiga (10 or so kms from Kisumu)and back to Nairobi, then another 5 days or so of 42kms daily on one full tank. Car is an Allion 1.5lt. Do the math
CLK
#139 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2013 12:09:48 PM

theking wrote:
Siringi wrote:

Discuss from experience.

I've done Nairobi - Vihiga (10 or so kms from Kisumu)and back to Nairobi, then another 5 days or so of 42kms daily on one full tank. Car is an Allion 1.5lt. Do the math

this is 16km/l or so, impressive lakini you were driving at what speed??
innovator
#140 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2013 1:18:54 PM

Siringi wrote:
At the beginning of this thread there were guys beating debe for the hybrids. What is the experience with hybrids two years down the line in light of the article below?

Importing a hybrid car Ship in the mechanic as+well!

share experiences hata kama ni ya neighbour, 'friend' or 'a guy i know'

@siringi, My advice on hybrids, only listen to reviews from those people who use/own hybrids. I use it and the analysis by Baraza to me is mis-information. With some few tips about use, the car is GOOD.