wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Chang'aa and Busaa
Ngong
#21 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 1:03:14 PM

Ngong wrote:
Let me help u @kusadikika since nobody seems to answer you.
CHANG'AA;
1.Sugar about 4 kg
2.Clean water about 15 litres
3.Yeast small quantity eg 100grams
4.Mix all this together and koroga kabisa!
5.Keep this mixture in a dark cool place for about 7 days
That is the clean raw material for this good aromatic drink which is also a base for almost all perfumes.
If still interested we can proceed to the next stage later

Thank you very much @ Ngong. I am very interested. This looks rather simple and doable so far. Does the container need to be air tight ama exposure to air has no effect? Do I need to koroga every one or 2 days ama just the first koroga is enough? What next. Endelea bwana.

Lesson continues....
Airtight is better but not a requirement,another thing is temperature high fastens the process.Koroga kabisa only once and forget!
That said now you can taste this solution after about seven[7] days.
It should test a bit bitter & krest soda in colour if u used white sugar & brown if molasses.
If it tastes sugary then its NOT ready, another more days til bitter.
DISTILLING
Equipment required
1.One drum about 100 litres
2.One big jiko ya makaa & makaa
3.One sufuria a size that can enter in the drum and leave some space around it.
4.Three [3] pieces of mianzi half sticks 3/4 size of the drum
5.Metal basin sio karai ile ingine ya kuweka vikombe na birika gichagi.
6.Leso
7.Cold water 200 litres I suggest you set your lab in the shower!
Thats all for equip
Are stil there kusadikika?
#22 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 4:22:24 PM

Ngong wrote:
Let me help u @kusadikika since nobody seems to answer you.
CHANG'AA;
1.Sugar about 4 kg
2.Clean water about 15 litres
3.Yeast small quantity eg 100grams
4.Mix all this together and koroga kabisa!
5.Keep this mixture in a dark cool place for about 7 days
That is the clean raw material for this good aromatic drink which is also a base for almost all perfumes.
If still interested we can proceed to the next stage later

Thank you very much @ Ngong. I am very interested. This looks rather simple and doable so far. Does the container need to be air tight ama exposure to air has no effect? Do I need to koroga every one or 2 days ama just the first koroga is enough? What next. Endelea bwana.

Lesson continues....
Airtight is better but not a requirement,another thing is temperature high fastens the process.Koroga kabisa only once and forget!
That said now you can taste this solution after about seven[7] days.
It should test a bit bitter & krest soda in colour if u used white sugar & brown if molasses.
If it tastes sugary then its NOT ready, another more days til bitter.
DISTILLING
Equipment required
1.One drum about 100 litres
2.One big jiko ya makaa & makaa
3.One sufuria a size that can enter in the drum and leave some space around it.
4.Three [3] pieces of mianzi half sticks 3/4 size of the drum
5.Metal basin sio karai ile ingine ya kuweka vikombe na birika gichagi.
6.Leso
7.Cold water 200 litres I suggest you set your lab in the shower!
Thats all for equip
Are stil there kusadikika?

Tuko pamoja mwalimu Ngong. Lakini swali kwanza, hii mianzi ndio nini? Endelea na upishi.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 5:46:16 PM

@Mr. Tyrus,
Busaa is not a stage in preparing chang'a, the chang'a raw materials are different from those of busaa:

For starter, busaa yu need fresh clean maize: Chang'a it ranges from ugali remains, rotten dry raw maize, by product of busaa and many others!!!!

Please dont cheat people, pure chang'aa is made from clean sugar, molases and even honey.

Omera pure changaa is best found in Ugenya followed by Alego, I'm an expert at making this stuff as I did in my early stages of life!!!!

Im not from the region but @mcdoba.. your ingredients are basically an improvisation so as not to waste maize for Ugali. Why waste good maize for food while any other condiment can do?... otherwise Busaa is a stage in making Changaa.. It needs good hybrid maize..
Ngong
#24 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 6:22:48 PM

Sawa,
Miazi ni ya kuhold ile sufuria ikiwa ndani ya mtugi.
Drum naye ni ya mabati sio plastic.
Ngong
#25 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 6:41:33 PM

Stage Three:
1.Washa Moto kama ya shetani
2.Weka drum juu ya moto na mwaga the solution now called kangara ndani yake.
3.Ingiza the three miazi pieces in the drum from the centre outwards at 120 degrees apart.
4.Ingiza the sufuria to be held by the miazi at a distance of about 30-40 centimeters from the solution.The sufuria is empty!
5.Weka the metal basin juu ya mdomo ya drum.The bottom of this basin should be about 20 to 30 cm from the top of the sufuria which is inside the drum.
6.Put cold water in the basin.
7.Dip the leso in cold water and use it to seal any gap between the drum and the sufuria if any to avoid the vapour from escaping.kama mshipi!

Swali?
#26 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 6:50:46 PM

The economy must be terrible, if people now want to brew their own alcohol. Exactly a week before XMass

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly the govt is to blame! Let me check the How I made my First Milli thread. Wazua kuna watu aina mingi
#27 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 10:29:24 PM

Ngong, hio ni chang'a yaa wapi.....your 1st instructions are off the mark.

@poundfoolish, they are not improvisation they are the best I tell!!

#28 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 10:45:47 PM

Some part of this video shows the basics of making chang'aa, watch and then ask further questions
#29 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2012 6:01:33 AM

I knew you had something up your sleeve McDoba. Thanks a lot for the video.
#30 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2012 6:04:30 AM

Ngong wrote:
Stage Three:
1.Washa Moto kama ya shetani
2.Weka drum juu ya moto na mwaga the solution now called kangara ndani yake.
3.Ingiza the three miazi pieces in the drum from the centre outwards at 120 degrees apart.
4.Ingiza the sufuria to be held by the miazi at a distance of about 30-40 centimeters from the solution.The sufuria is empty!
5.Weka the metal basin juu ya mdomo ya drum.The bottom of this basin should be about 20 to 30 cm from the top of the sufuria which is inside the drum.
6.Put cold water in the basin.
7.Dip the leso in cold water and use it to seal any gap between the drum and the sufuria if any to avoid the vapour from escaping.kama mshipi!

Swali?

Asante sana mwalimu Ngong. Very clear and concise. Much appreciated.

Yuko wapi mwalimu wa busaa. Ama mwalimu Ngong unaweza funza hii pia.
Foz00
#31 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2012 7:26:20 AM

#32 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2012 10:04:03 AM

The economy must be terrible, if people now want to brew their own alcohol. Exactly a week before XMass

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly the govt is to blame! Let me check the How I made my First Milli thread. Wazua kuna watu aina mingi

Nothing peculiar here about Kenya and terrible economy. Home brewing is serious business/hobby the world over. Just google beer brewing kit for a start and you may yet join this bandwagon.
#33 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2012 10:09:20 AM

This would be perfect - had it not been for the Probox like price tag.

The WWPB does all of this inside one machine. After sterilization, you add water and it is boiled and sterilized. Then add the wort (either from a kit, or of your own making). Add yeast, then sit back and do nothing but check pressure until next weekend. This is the first innovation: the brewery ferments the beer in a pressurized container, meaning you don’t have to carbonate it later — it is fizzy from the beginning.

Next comes clarification. Draining the clear beer into another container would lose the fizz, so the WWPB injects a clarification agent into the beer, under pressure (using CO2). You then attach a small vessel to the bottom of the brew tank and the sediment settles into this. Remove the vessel and you have a tank full of clear, fizzy beer.

Then you switch the temperature control to chill, and the beer is brought to serving temperature. There’s even a tap and pressure system to dispense the beer and keep it fizzy down to the last drop. The brewery uses a 23 liter (6 US gallon) tank

If you have ever made beer, you will be suitably impressed by this very clever design, invented by New Zealanders Ian Williams and Anders Warn. You may be put off by the price, though: US$4,500. That’s certainly a lot for even the most dedicated home brewer, but for a cafe that wants to make and sell its own brew, it’s a pretty good price.

Sad Sad Sad Sad
#34 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2012 10:17:14 AM

@Mr. Tyrus,
Busaa is not a stage in preparing chang'a, the chang'a raw materials are different from those of busaa:

For starter, busaa yu need fresh clean maize: Chang'a it ranges from ugali remains, rotten dry raw maize, by product of busaa and many others!!!!

Please dont cheat people, pure chang'aa is made from clean sugar, molases and even honey.

@impunity that is a big lie mc doba is almost right. anybody from Ugenya yawa?

@kusadikika, i can give you my mum's number. she will guide you though the process. been doing it for the last......... since i was born found it going on

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly @ Impunity, why argue with McDoba, you know where he comes from!!!!!
#35 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2012 12:03:25 PM

The science needs to be right. With Ngong/Impunity method the resulting brew(Kangara/Busaa, whatever which is already drinkable) from CLEAN brewing ingredients will have little methanol(Very Dangerous Output) and the distillation process can be as rough as described. The changaa will have water in it and an "off-flavor" at times but is always safe to drink.

On the other hand, the real changaa involves a lot of expertise in distillation and use of rubbish ingredients (Whilst avoiding methanol). Either heat applied/ Passing pipes under rivers to condense ethanol, or multi-stage distillation processes are involved. You get a very concentrated drink that needs to be diluted, this is the real changaa.

A New Kenya
#36 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2012 3:14:17 PM

The science needs to be right. With Ngong/Impunity method the resulting brew(Kangara/Busaa, whatever which is already drinkable) from CLEAN brewing ingredients will have little methanol(Very Dangerous Output) and the distillation process can be as rough as described. The changaa will have water in it and an "off-flavor" at times but is always safe to drink.

On the other hand, the real changaa involves a lot of expertise in distillation and use of rubbish ingredients (Whilst avoiding methanol). Either heat applied/ Passing pipes under rivers to condense ethanol, or multi-stage distillation processes are involved. You get a very concentrated drink that needs to be diluted, this is the real changaa.

Do you have instructions or a video of this multi-stage distillation process? Please share.

From McDobas video is appears Kisumu is the capital city of chang'aa brewing yaani they get molasses delivered in trucks!!!! for industrial scale production of chang'aa and am yet to read of blindness or mass death from chang'aa at the lakeside city (or did I miss it).
#37 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2012 6:52:02 PM

@kusadikika, chang's only gets people blind after it has been adulered mostly after distillation has been done!!
Ngong
#38 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2012 9:48:58 PM

Ngong, hio ni chang'a yaa wapi.....your 1st instructions are off the mark.

@poundfoolish, they are not improvisation they are the best I tell!!

Nice video!
But I dint see any difference with my instructions.
molasses=sugar and water
yeast which I also mentioned
4 days I said 7 days
The small pot replaces the sufuria
The big pot replaces the metal drum
The basin they use a big sufuria and for the wet lesso they use mad.
SAME EVERYTHING APART FROM THE UNHYGIENIC...
Ngong
#39 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2012 10:10:07 PM

He! na hiyo website iko na mambo mengi ambayo sio ya kanisa
thuks
#40 Posted : Saturday, November 08, 2014 8:28:21 PM

I came to the party late. @kusadiki , have you been enjoying your drink?
I care!