wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

X mas holiday in Kisumu/Nyanza
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 9:37:30 AM

I have never been to Nyanza and this xmas period I want to have a one week tour of the region. I have looked at google maps and intend to travel from Nairobi to kisumu (via kericho), then Siaya, Bondo, Kogelo, then head south to Kendu bay, Homa bay, Migori and muhuru bay, then back to nbi via kisii and narok. How are the roads connecting those towns in nyanza? And how's the hotel accomodation in those towns?
wairegi
#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 10:20:12 AM

Great that you want to travel to the lakeside;
1. The best route to Kisumu is the Narok via Bomet then Kericho. If you use nakuru the ride is not very good from Total all the way to Kericho. There is road construction that been going for over two years. It will take you around 6 hours

2. While in Kisumu, you can stay at Kiboko bay, Kisumu hotel, NCCK guest house. You have many choices here and so much depend on how deep you pockets are.

3. Kendu bay not sure how you will connect from the nothern side. You might need to come back to kisumu the roads are better. Otherwise you go to lwanda kotieno and ferry to Mbita and then you head south.

4. Please do visit Hotel Lwang'ne, tasty fish.
FancyFace
#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 10:57:13 AM

wairegi wrote:

directions please, I would love to sample that fish smile

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 11:00:43 AM

wairegi wrote:
1. The best route to Kisumu is the Narok via Bomet then Kericho. If you use nakuru the ride is not very good from Total all the way to Kericho. There is road construction that been going for over two years. It will take you around 6 hours

2. While in Kisumu, you can stay at Kiboko bay, Kisumu hotel, NCCK guest house. You have many choices here and so much depend on how deep you pockets are.

3. Kendu bay not sure how you will connect from the nothern side. You might need to come back to kisumu the roads are better. Otherwise you go to lwanda kotieno and ferry to Mbita and then you head south.

800Kshs for your car...make sure that you know the times the ferry comes....i think they are spaced at 1 hour on either side of the lake..
#5 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 12:14:05 PM

Carry a change of DOMO TShirts with only OAR on them, for your safety

seppuku
#6 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 12:16:19 PM

FancyFace wrote:
wairegi wrote:

True, they make great fish at Lwang'ne but the ambiance leaves a lot to be desired - not very clean and lots of intrusion from locals. Just further ahead is Tilapia Beach which offers comparable quality in a much neater environment. Just head down Oginga Ondinga street and take a right turn when you cross the railway line. Tilapia Beach is about 200m from the turn and Lwang'ne is directly in front of the turn. And if you end up in Kiboko Bay don't fail to sample their Honey Glazed Pork Chops. They are to die for and best had with roast potatoes IMO. Enjoy your trip.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
FancyFace
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 12:29:02 PM

seppuku wrote:
FancyFace wrote:
wairegi wrote:

True, they make great fish at Lwang'ne but the ambiance leaves a lot to be desired - not very clean and lots of intrusion from locals. Just further ahead is Tilapia Beach which offers comparable quality in a much neater environment. Just head down Oginga Ondinga street and take a right turn when you cross the railway line. Tilapia Beach is about 200m from the turn and Lwang'ne is directly in front of the turn. And if you end up in Kiboko Bay don't fail to sample their Honey Glazed Pork Chops. They are to die for and best had with roast potatoes IMO. Enjoy your trip.

thanks will sure pay these guys a visit :d/ Drool

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
wairegi
#8 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 12:34:14 PM

wairegi wrote:

800Kshs for your car...make sure that you know the times the ferry comes....i think they are spaced at 1 hour on either side of the lake..

Tilapia beach will do but they are pricy just follow the direction given below.

For the ferry they also don't operate on holidays so the best bet would for you to go back to Kisumu and head south.

For some night spots ..you have SIGNATURE..but they charge entrance fee..mixed crowd. Clarice just near KBC..

#9 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 1:12:24 PM

Thank you @all for the advice. I intend to be in Kisumu on 24-26th dec and explore/enjoy the town. Then spend a day/night in Bondo (after visiting Maseno, siaya & Kogelo), and a day/night each in HomaBay and Migori. It would have been interesting to take the ferry from lwanda kotieno to Mbita then visit Rusinga island and then Homabay but am disappointed the ferry doesn't operate during holidays. How is the night life in the towns i'll be staying in i.e Kisumu, Bondo, Homabay and Migori? Which are the must visit nightspots? Which is a more lively town to spend in - Bondo or siaya?
wairegi
#10 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 2:04:49 PM

Nitelife..Kisumu' Octopus, signature will do
#11 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 2:38:02 PM

kit mikai is a must.

simbi nyaima in rachuonyo
seppuku
#12 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 3:15:07 PM

wairegi wrote:
Nitelife..Kisumu' Octopus, signature will do

True that. Lakini hiyo Signature iko sijui fourth floor so just pray nothing happens to cause you to want to get out in a hurry. Otherwise it's a happening place. Clarice is cool too, as was suggested. Up-market-ish actually. Octopus enda jionee mwenyewe Not talking
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 3:34:00 PM

Octopus (Praying Mantis) looks like a deserted boring place during the day only to come to live especially after midnight!
#14 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 3:41:35 PM

Popular joints include Barcadia and Signature in town,Cafe ole and Buddy's Bar(United mall).
For good live band we have Bomas and Junction inn on your way to Kondele.
Lots of Joints at Wayside and nice Kuku choma their.

Enjoy ur trip
#15 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 3:43:35 PM

Make sure u visit Stanbradox located at the bus stage very nice joint n affordable frothy waters.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 4:01:52 PM

dossy7 wrote:
Make sure u visit Stanbradox located at the bus stage very nice joint n affordable frothy waters.

That one used to be a place of ill repute some 5yrs agosmile
#17 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 4:10:55 PM

dossy7 wrote:

@Dossy,
EisssH!!!.....Security?

@Jagger,

Impala sanctuary and the museum should spice your stay in the city.....If with family,Rock Motel along Ksm-Maseno road is a fairly good place.......And for all this nice places,spare yourself embarassment if you will be riding a Plombox.They are not tolerated heresmile......as for the roads,if i were you,i would avoid Total-Kisumu road.Bure kabisa!!
#18 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 4:12:52 PM

Tebes wrote:
dossy7 wrote:

That one used to be a place of ill repute some 5yrs agosmile

Hahahaha n nope fanana used to be the place
#19 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 4:14:27 PM

dossy7 wrote:

@Dossy,
EisssH!!!.....Security?

Impala sanctuary and the museum should spice your stay in the city.....If with family,Rock Motel along Ksm-Maseno road is a fairly good place.......And for all this nice places,spare yourself embarassment if you will be riding a Plombox.They are not tolerated heresmile......as for the roads,if i were you,i would avoid Total-Kisumu road.Bure kabisa!!

Maybe for the parking which is limited @Guka
#20 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 4:30:22 PM

Is there any better,quieter,cheaper,friendly place than Hotel DewChurch Drive?Okay.Their parking is small and squeezed,the ambient is funny but it's an amazing place.....the staff,their food....exceptional.