wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Chang'aa and Busaa
#1 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 5:52:57 AM

I seek knowledge.

I want to know how to make good chang'aa and good busaa. Anyone in here with a list of equipment and ingredients needed and step by step instructions of how to make any one of them please share. Any information will be highly appreciated.

I believe these brews are traditional to Western Kenya so when I say good chang'aa and busaa I mean the authentic traditional kind that would have been made say 100 years ago.

Anybody with knowledge of the history of the 2 brews please share also. What are the origins of the names chang'aa and busaa? Are they luhya?
MrTyrus
#2 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 10:58:52 AM

Clean chang'aa and busaa is just ensuring your ingredients include clean starch like from organic maize, good yeast, clean water, clean apparatus (fermenter, distiller, boiler). Also, ensure your personal and handling hygiene is good. making alcohol is sensitive as a small speck of dirt can make u end up with a different chemical component that is not alcohol.

From my understanding, busaa is just a stage in preparing chang'aa i.e. chang'aa is distilled busaa. and busaa is a result of fermenting germinating starch e.g maize. that has been heated to get the sugar required in fermenting.

once you get your busaa, heat it to 78degrees and capture the evaporating alcohol and you've got yourself chang'aa.

you can improvise on equipments from things found around the house but I would recommend you buy a complete home brewing kit which would be easier to get approval in accordance to mututho law. I have tried to acquire one but noone seem to have stocked them here in Kenya.

#3 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 11:03:46 AM

@Mr. Tyrus,
Busaa is not a stage in preparing chang'a, the chang'a raw materials are different from those of busaa:

For starter, busaa yu need fresh clean maize: Chang'a it ranges from ugali remains, rotten dry raw maize, by product of busaa and many others!!!!
#4 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 11:05:36 AM

I seek knowledge.

I want to know how to make good chang'aa and good busaa. Anyone in here with a list of equipment and ingredients needed and step by step instructions of how to make any one of them please share. Any information will be highly appreciated.

I believe these brews are traditional to Western Kenya so when I say good chang'aa and busaa I mean the authentic traditional kind that would have been made say 100 years ago.

Anybody with knowledge of the history of the 2 brews please share also. What are the origins of the names chang'aa and busaa? Are they luhya?

...btw waz actually thnkn along these lines but mine waz beer most Germans brew their own beer if i get to know how to do it il b the happiest man alive...
#5 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 11:45:09 AM

@Mr. Tyrus,
Busaa is not a stage in preparing chang'a, the chang'a raw materials are different from those of busaa:

For starter, busaa yu need fresh clean maize: Chang'a it ranges from ugali remains, rotten dry raw maize, by product of busaa and many others!!!!

Please dont cheat people, pure chang'aa is made from clean sugar, molases and even honey.

#6 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 11:52:12 AM

The economy must be terrible, if people now want to brew their own alcohol. Exactly a week before XMass

#7 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 11:53:52 AM

@Mr. Tyrus,

Please dont cheat people, pure chang'aa is made from clean sugar, molases and even honey.

@impunity that is a big lie mc doba is almost right. anybody from Ugenya yawa?

@kusadikika, i can give you my mum's number. she will guide you though the process. been doing it for the last......... since i was born found it going on
#8 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 11:54:37 AM

@Mr. Tyrus,

Omera pure changaa is best found in Ugenya followed by Alego, I'm an expert at making this stuff as I did in my early stages of life!!!!
Money Whisperer
#9 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 11:57:32 AM

Chang'aa is naturally clean as long as you use the right ingredients, because it is a product of distillation. It gets "dirty" when you adulterate it or try to fortify it with other stuff. Busaa is tricky because it is a fermentation process that can result in other by-products if not handled properly
"Money never sleeps"
#10 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 12:00:14 PM

#11 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 12:03:01 PM

#12 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 12:06:49 PM

From the media I always see obese rats, muddy ngothas, ARVs, formalin etc.

Also requires professional tasters for quality control.

they dont say Cheers.
MrTyrus
#13 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 12:15:01 PM

Thanks @McReggae for the clarification. I also heard that if u drink alot of busaa, the next morning if u drink a glass of water it activates ulevi tena coz the maunga unga za busaa are still in the stomach. ni ukweli?
#14 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 12:21:04 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
Chang'aa is naturally clean as long as you use the right ingredients, because it is a product of distillation. It gets "dirty" when you adulterate it or try to fortify it with other stuff. Busaa is tricky because it is a fermentation process that can result in other by-products if not handled properly

Applause Applause Applause very true!!!!
#15 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 1:11:38 PM

@Mr. Tyrus,

Omera pure changaa is best found in Ugenya followed by Alego, I'm an expert at making this stuff as I did in my early stages of life!!!!

As far as I know ppure chang'aa is made from plain sugar fermented; those made from rotten ugali seems to the ones made along the banks of Nairobi river.

Ngong
#16 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 10:35:10 PM

Let me help u @kusadikika since nobody seems to answer you.
CHANG'AA;
1.Sugar about 4 kg
2.Clean water about 15 litres
3.Yeast small quantity eg 100grams
4.Mix all this together and koroga kabisa!
5.Keep this mixture in a dark cool place for about 7 days
That is the clean raw material for this good aromatic drink which is also a base for almost all perfumes.
If still interested we can proceed to the next stage later
#17 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 12:54:22 AM

At what stage does sukari nguru come in and in what quantities?
#18 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 1:52:13 AM

Ngong wrote:
Let me help u @kusadikika since nobody seems to answer you.
CHANG'AA;
1.Sugar about 4 kg
2.Clean water about 15 litres
3.Yeast small quantity eg 100grams
4.Mix all this together and koroga kabisa!
5.Keep this mixture in a dark cool place for about 7 days
That is the clean raw material for this good aromatic drink which is also a base for almost all perfumes.
If still interested we can proceed to the next stage later

Thank you very much @ Ngong. I am very interested. This looks rather simple and doable so far. Does the container need to be air tight ama exposure to air has no effect? Do I need to koroga every one or 2 days ama just the first koroga is enough? What next. Endelea bwana.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 4:39:36 AM

At what stage does sukari nguru come in and in what quantities?

Sukari nguru is to replace sugar in the initial stage.

majimaji
#20 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 10:15:29 AM

Gee, always wanted to know how to make my own moonshine!! This indigenous knowledge should have a manual.