wazua Fri, May 15, 2026

Final Lesson
#1 Posted : Friday, December 14, 2012 11:47:11 AM

Yesterday as I was meditating by the river side, I met this boy of around eight who gave me my last lesson.

He was throwing my friends' rocks into the river, and when I inquired why he was doing so, he told me that the rocks were too many, that his actions were insignificant.

At that time I couldn't help but recall my thoughts on conscience and @Hamburglar!

But then I teased the boy and said, 'wewe haujui mzee Kobe'.

'Najua! Ina fly!'

'Haujui mzee Kobe!'

'Najua! Tortoise! Ina fly! Ina fly! Hauoni? Hata grasshopper ina fly! . . . tortoise na grasshopper zina fight, zina Kulana!'

I was so embarrassed. How could I not see a flying tortoise?

That is when I realized the aim of education is to have power over imagination, not the acquisition of knowledge. Einstein was so right!

And just to drive the point home, I met this adult who hated Christians because he aspires to be a Buddhist so that he can worship idols.

And looking back at all conversations I have ever had I see powerless humanity falling under the weight of imagination.

Merry Christmas and happy conversations.
#2 Posted : Friday, December 14, 2012 11:50:52 AM

Does 'Final Lesson' mean what I think it means? FINAL?Pray Pray Pray

#3 Posted : Friday, December 14, 2012 12:10:09 PM

So you're giving up on humanity? Kitanzi, madawa ama utaruka?

#4 Posted : Friday, December 14, 2012 12:29:59 PM

It seems you haven't understood what death means. But no.

I have just been promoted to another state of consciousness and being.

It seems I have outgrown my clothes.
#5 Posted : Friday, December 14, 2012 1:04:07 PM

@FINAList, over to you.. I'm hoping its neither, more a writting sabbatical

josiah33
#6 Posted : Friday, December 14, 2012 6:14:52 PM

Back when we were just kids we used to call this little critters(LADYBUGS) MZEE KOBE and they do fly.
#7 Posted : Friday, December 14, 2012 8:02:57 PM

josiah33 wrote:

Back when we were just kids we used to call this little critters(LADYBUGS) MZEE KOBE and they do fly.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause Applause
brav
#8 Posted : Saturday, December 15, 2012 6:56:54 AM

HEE I thot they are called ladybird kumbe ni bug?
ChessMaster
#9 Posted : Saturday, December 15, 2012 9:36:55 AM

@tycho - Even Buddha said there is only One God.I'm not a buddhist and don't advocate for idol worship but just clarifying that.I do agree,imagination is better than knowledge as Einstein said.Knowledge and imagination without intent are useless.They yield nothing. Merry Christmans
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
richdad
#10 Posted : Saturday, December 15, 2012 12:35:08 PM

Hii mambo na religion is just funny. @tycho We shall all get out of this world whether we are good or not. What happens after that is not our business to judge.

How we live with fellow humans should have no relation to what we believe.
Keep it simple