wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

3 Pages<123
Inside Kenya's Trendiest and most expensive school...
#41 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 12:21:02 PM

eboomerang wrote:
This is such an oxymoron of life.

A developing country with extremely expensive elementary schools. Meanwhile, some of the best economies and countries in Europe have very HIGH QUALITY and FREE education to University level, countries such as Norway, Germany and Denmark. These are countries where world leading companies have been created and continue to be created.

So paying higher price of education does not necessarily mean you have a guaranteed successful life, it may earn you social status though :) but that's about it.

Applause Applause Applause Hear hear

This our country has misplaced priorities. If its not our leaders earning super salaries, its their kids paying exorbitant fees. This little children will grow up to be monsters and widen the economic gaps further. All at the expense of the ordinary mwanainchi tax payer!

I wonder what their neighbors Kibera, just down the road, have to say. Tang'oa reli?

...is it anyone's fault if you/I grow up in or surrounded by oppulence?

Well, if you put it like that, its not.Sad

#42 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 12:23:22 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:

This our country has misplaced priorities. If its not our leaders earning super salaries, its their kids paying exorbitant fees. This little children will grow up to be monsters and widen the economic gaps further. All at the expense of the ordinary mwanainchi tax payer!

I wonder what their neighbors Kibera, just down the road, have to say. Tang'oa reli?

Do you hate rich people??Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

If they can afford it, let them be!

It's a private school...there are many options around.

Why are so many parents here mud-slinging this school?

Sawa sawa boss. Its a serious case of this monkey looking at the fruit far up the tree and trying to convince himself its poisonous

#43 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 12:30:15 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:

Do you hate rich people??Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

If they can afford it, let them be!

It's a private school...there are many options around.

Why are so many parents here mud-slinging this school?

Sawa sawa boss. Its a serious case of this monkey looking at the fruit far up the tree and trying to convince himself its poisonous

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause
josiah33
#44 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 3:31:43 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:
[quote=josiah33]Sometimes back the so called lifestyle diseases were only found amongst the rich but have now found there way down and they affect even the not so rich. My prediction is that in the not so far future we will have some new 'posh' diseases being diagnosed here and which would mostly affect the rich kids in "computer labs" somewhere in some hi-tech schools in Kenya- "diseases" like LAPTOP-ITIS.

http://usatoday30.usatod...08-22-laptop-pain_N.htm[/quote]

FYI, the article in USA Today is not peer-reviewed.

Unless you want to spread false notions, come back with a peer-reviewed source.

Ok Boss. By the way if i was Kamlesh Pattni i'd take my boy to this school.
#45 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 4:16:53 PM

Hahaa! Ati 'economic firewall'Laughing out loudly. Never heard it put that way.

nakujua, what 'kind of talk' goes around in such places? And is 'such talk' exclusive to high end establishments?
josiah33
#46 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 4:18:52 PM

I agree that this is just a lifestyle being sold here and it's very expensive. When some people in the more developed countries are questioning the use of laptops in class here we are being told(ok, not the likes of me who can't afford the lifestyle) that it's trendy.

Moreover, learning in a classroom should be a social process in which the student interacts with the instructor and other students. I try to avoid straight lecturing in favor of engaging my students in interactive questions and answers. Moreover, I arrange ways in which the students can learn through discussions with each other. Even my biggest classes have a 5-minute allocation for small group discussions. Especially in an interdisciplinary class that attracts many different kinds of students, much can be learned from such discussions among them. I've noticed that laptop use discourages students from this kind of participation.

http://www.stanford.edu/...Bstudent%2Blearning.pdf

http://www.psychologytod...-laptops-in-classrooms-0
#47 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 4:10:50 PM

Reminded me of this Related Story ===> Children-of-city-s-rich-the-schools-they-go-to-and-who-they-marry
"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
#48 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 4:21:07 PM

That story is crap,I am yet to see anyone in the article that is rich or whom they married.
#49 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 6:11:43 PM

That story is crap,I am yet to see anyone in the article that is rich or whom they married.

EnyeweSad That is the price we pay for half baked journalists
Kama this one needs kupigwa fine disjointed stories
"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
hindi ni riu
#50 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 6:31:33 PM

:) Now I found what I was looking for! Finally!!!!

Ok. Not hating but....I think the likes of James Mwangi turned out fine. Success in life doesn't reaaaally depend on which school you attended. May be 10%. The rest is your character and determination to succeed in life.

β€œOnce the last tree is cut and the last river poisoned,you will find you cannot eat your money" Traditional saying.
#51 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 6:46:41 PM

Siringi wrote:

EnyeweSad That is the price we pay for half baked journalists
Kama this one needs kupigwa fine disjointed stories

True indeed.There is nowhere where the rich sat and decided where to take their kids to school.WSR's son is in Catholic university,Mwau's son was in a public high school,Esther Koimett the daughter to Total man was at UoN,the fee payers at Starehe and the backdoor students to National schools are filled with children from rich backgrounds.
mdudu
#52 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 6:55:02 PM

old thread when kysse was essky.
#53 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 9:43:31 PM

#KOT trending topic today ===>Fees structure brookhouse_international_school

work hard so that you can afford to take your kids to a school that hosts presidential debates.

Wacha hizi shule ndogo ndogo that can only be used as polling stations
#54 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 11:07:23 PM

Siringi wrote:

work hard so that you can afford to take your kids to a school that hosts presidential debates.

Laughing out loudly #Dead!
#55 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 1:14:45 PM

then one of my tweeps go say...

#56 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 1:53:47 PM

siyui niweke smile ama Sad amaPray ok Applause

from my twirra TL

#57 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 2:06:50 PM

Siringi wrote:

Laughing out loudly #Dead!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause