wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

Inside Kenya's Trendiest and most expensive school...
#21 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 3:57:04 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:

Verdict. The entrepreneurs are targeting a niche market. If (as a parent) you don't fit the bill, don't go about yapping.
[/left][/color]

I have stopped.Sad
I wonder how education will be like in 20 years to come.
#22 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 5:07:51 PM

I wonder if they do 'Pro bono', sponsor a poor kid/teacher's kid or something. After hols, the toi would go like 'Narudi heaven'smile

marshalliah
#23 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 6:29:16 PM

this is where internet lives;

http://www.google.com/ab.../datacenters/gallery/#/

I think they end up places like these
#24 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 6:53:33 PM

This world is not my home.
#25 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 7:07:36 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly yeah right,comforting ourselves.
My kids will make it to Harvard from Baba na Mama dogo primary.
josiah33
#26 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 8:52:30 PM

Sounds futuristic to us who used to sit in classes that were nowhere near this "computer labs" in a school in Karen. We! ati Ipad, Laptop na Wi-Fi. Jameni hata hawa walimu hawajali masilahi ya watoto- what about the kids getting Carpal Tunnel Syndrome from prolonged typing on their laptop's keyboards?
#27 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 9:08:13 PM

huh! had to google the cal tundo syndrome

Some of the predisposing factors include: diabetes, obesity, pregnancy, hypothyroidism, and heavy manual work or work with vibrating tools but not lighter work even if repetitive

They don't need to type.Keyboard is on screen.
The mouse will do the work.
life is sweet.smile
josiah33
#28 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 9:12:12 PM

Sometimes back the so called lifestyle diseases were only found amongst the rich but have now found there way down and they affect even the not so rich. My prediction is that in the not so far future we will have some new 'posh' diseases being diagnosed here and which would mostly affect the rich kids in "computer labs" somewhere in some hi-tech schools in Kenya- "diseases" like LAPTOP-ITIS.

http://usatoday30.usatod...-08-22-laptop-pain_N.htm
InnovateGuy
#29 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 9:55:23 PM

[quote=josiah33]Sometimes back the so called lifestyle diseases were only found amongst the rich but have now found there way down and they affect even the not so rich. My prediction is that in the not so far future we will have some new 'posh' diseases being diagnosed here and which would mostly affect the rich kids in "computer labs" somewhere in some hi-tech schools in Kenya- "diseases" like LAPTOP-ITIS.

http://usatoday30.usatod...08-22-laptop-pain_N.htm[/quote]

FYI, the article in USA Today is not peer-reviewed.

Unless you want to spread false notions, come back with a peer-reviewed source.

Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
eboomerang
#30 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 10:21:48 PM

This is such an oxymoron of life.

A developing country with extremely expensive elementary schools. Meanwhile, some of the best economies and countries in Europe have very HIGH QUALITY and FREE education to University level, countries such as Norway, Germany and Denmark. These are countries where world leading companies have been created and continue to be created.

So paying higher price of education does not necessarily mean you have a guaranteed successful life, it may earn you social status though :) but that's about it.
#31 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 12:44:03 AM

keraka wrote:
Have enrolled my 2 kids there.

Was just kidding.....or is it dreaming?

Applause Applause Applause Applause
Thinking of taking a bank loan to take my kerakalet to that school.
N remeber there are field trips to Europe and south Africa not Nakuru to see the Menengai crater ama L. Nakuru.Each trip would on average cost only 0.5m an accepatable figure by any standards.

roflol.
When kids in private schools here go to village market and naivasha boogies rides.

Wait a sec.So how are their drama activities like? Do they like go to Broadways and what of games? Athens? wow.
This school helps prepare a child to face a tech savvy world which is very good.
It will help them network with those in their levels only.
But such a kid would fail miserably in a village set up cz the disconnect would be soo big.
Well after all is said and done, we all desire the best in life and if you have money why not.
I see chinese marrying characters they interact with on internet.
The internet bond becomes too strong that they lose touch with the real world/life.
I pray it doesnt happen to young minds

they will never set foot in the village/kibera therefore will never be rated in that context Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#32 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 12:47:40 AM

vinii wrote:
Robinhood wrote:
@Vinii - si unge summarize tu bro?

hii story ilinikasirisha saana ... even if I sold my car, I would still not afford tuition fees for one term! bure kabisa

LMAO...and u forgot to mention it took you a couple of years to accumulate enough downpayment to buy the car..na bado you will still owe fees for the term

The so called life...some are more equal than others take heart vinii
#33 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 1:28:00 AM

...Life is never about any Ivy league college,Steve Jobs could have told you that...
#34 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 3:17:04 AM

eboomerang wrote:

A developing country with extremely expensive elementary schools. Meanwhile, some of the best economies and countries in Europe have very HIGH QUALITY and FREE education to University level, countries such as Norway, Germany and Denmark. These are countries where world leading companies have been created and continue to be created.

So paying higher price of education does not necessarily mean you have a guaranteed successful life, it may earn you social status though :) but that's about it.

Applause Applause Applause Hear hear

This our country has misplaced priorities. If its not our leaders earning super salaries, its their kids paying exorbitant fees. This little children will grow up to be monsters and widen the economic gaps further. All at the expense of the ordinary mwanainchi tax payer!

I wonder what their neighbors Kibera, just down the road, have to say. Tang'oa reli?

#35 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 9:25:04 AM

eboomerang wrote:

This our country has misplaced priorities. If its not our leaders earning super salaries, its their kids paying exorbitant fees. This little children will grow up to be monsters and widen the economic gaps further. All at the expense of the ordinary mwanainchi tax payer!

I wonder what their neighbors Kibera, just down the road, have to say. Tang'oa reli?

...is it anyone's fault if you/I grow up in or surrounded by oppulence?
InnovateGuy
#36 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 9:58:09 AM

Do you hate rich people??Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

If they can afford it, let them be!

It's a private school...there are many options around.

Why are so many parents here mud-slinging this school?

Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
#37 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 11:10:38 AM

hi shule si poa, I would encourage all wazuans to discourage the kids from even imagining studying there.
the kind of talk that goes around would permanently damage a young vulnerable mind
#38 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 11:19:34 AM

In your view what's the difference between this school and Baba na Mama dogo primary on one hand and Harvard and the University of Nairobi on the other hand?
#39 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 11:37:57 AM

Elder wrote:

In your view what's the difference between this school and Baba na Mama dogo primary on one hand and Harvard and the University of Nairobi on the other hand?

School of hardknocks vs school of softies
I prefer a balanced learning environment.This one is leaning a lot on e-stuff.
A kid that knows online shopping is the only way to shop is not balanced.
A kid whose life revolves around internet becomes a zombie.
But then what we read is only one sided.
And what's my biz anyway? They could end up creating an e-city somewhere between the sky and earth.

#40 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 12:09:43 PM

Elder wrote:

School of hardknocks vs school of softies
I prefer a balanced learning environment.This one is leaning a lot on e-stuff.
A kid that knows online shopping is the only way to shop is not balanced.
A kid whose life revolves around internet becomes a zombie.
But then what we read is only one sided.
And what's my biz anyway? They could end up creating an e-city somewhere between the sky and earth.

Was merely asking coz one of the main points made against the GEMS school can also be made against Harvard in comparison with the University of Nairobi - costs.

Pretty ironical that while some people (not saying you) are quick to dismiss expensive schools in Kenya as adding no value they are fast to embrace the Ivy League universities.

Would imagine that there are enough rich people (or expats whose kids education are paid by their employers) in Kenya who want their kids to associate and network with others of their kind and would find the economic firewall pretty attractive.