Stocks
How to tell NSE has bottomed out
? Which are very short term play, c2months
Whats up with Kenya Re today?(-8%)...any news?? A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
S.Mutaga III wrote:Whats up with Kenya Re today?(-8%)...any news?? Nothing much! just December fever... cash is king! Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
guru267 wrote:S.Mutaga III wrote:Whats up with Kenya Re today?(-8%)...any news?? Nothing much! just December fever... cash is king! Lets see what Santa has for us this xmas...i will watch this counter very keenly. A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
S.Mutaga III wrote:maka wrote:If you have made money,broken even get out now... I think a wise investor should focus on individual companies and not the whole market.Whenever you see a wonderful company at a fair price,buy the stock,whether bull or bear.Kind of independent thinking. DISCLAIMER:"fair" is relative. You have saved face by using the word 'relative'...I dont believe the general outlook is rosy we might be in for a bit of free fall. possunt quia posse videntur
maka wrote:S.Mutaga III wrote:maka wrote:If you have made money,broken even get out now... I think a wise investor should focus on individual companies and not the whole market.Whenever you see a wonderful company at a fair price,buy the stock,whether bull or bear.Kind of independent thinking. DISCLAIMER:"fair" is relative. You have saved face by using the word 'relative'...I dont believe the general outlook is rosy we might be in for a bit of free fall. Maka I agree... "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/11/2006 Posts: 972 Location: Home
This BD report is misleading. The index has had episodes of pullbacks as the rally progressed this year. However, the current pullback may be a bit deeper than the rest of 2012.
With some blue chips having rallied hard above 50% gains, profit taking is highly likely.
So far I like the correction since it offers discounts on quality stocks with fat dividend yields, cheap P/E, cheap P/B and Wanjiku aint interested. So we still don't have a crowded party 
My only concern is political hogwash. I'm praying for peaceful elections. $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
I have read in this thread a number are calling KCB @23, HFCK @14 & Kenya Re. I would also add E A Cables in the watch basket. Which other counters are in the watch basket
NSE opened 10mins ago & mpesa bank has already traded 20M shares?!? $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
mwekez@ji wrote:I have read in this thread a number are calling KCB @23, HFCK @14 & Kenya Re. I would also add E A Cables in the watch basket. Which other counters are in the watch basket ...having seen what scom can do am i allowed to throw it in the basket? possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
Yaani KQ is still strongly well above 10/- even after a series of extremely negative never ending news. How i wish safcom had such strong shareholders. Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2010 Posts: 2,221 Location: Sundowner,Amboseli
hisah wrote:NSE opened 10mins ago & mpesa bank has already traded 20M shares?!? Price must have been agreed upon off board and before market open. And had to be done early enough before the price does a safari @SufficientlyP
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:hisah wrote:NSE opened 10mins ago & mpesa bank has already traded 20M shares?!? Price must have been agreed upon off board and before market open. And had to be done early enough before the price does a safari ...how is that effected and we dont have alternative trading venues? possunt quia posse videntur
maka wrote:S.Mutaga III wrote:maka wrote:If you have made money,broken even get out now... I think a wise investor should focus on individual companies and not the whole market.Whenever you see a wonderful company at a fair price,buy the stock,whether bull or bear.Kind of independent thinking. DISCLAIMER:"fair" is relative. You have saved face by using the word 'relative'...I dont believe the general outlook is rosy we might be in for a bit of free fall. I also agree with you @maka,i think it will be a downward spiral til after elections with negligible ups.
FTSE ASEA Pan Africa Index Series launched Quote:The market capitalisation weighted index series measures the performance of eligible securities domiciled in the following 19 African countries: Botswana, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Egypt, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Libya, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sudan, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
The index series is free float and liquidity screened with country weights capped at 20% to ensure the index maintains an accurate representation of the investible opportunity set. The index series has been built to FTSE’s renowned standards of index design, which emphasises transparency, independence, innovation and strong governance. Price and Total Return variants are calculated on an End of Day basis.
Jonathan Cooper, Managing Director, Middle East & Africa at FTSE Group, said: “This launch enables ASEA to address one of its primary goals; to facilitate the development and promotion of products and services for Africa’s capital markets. FTSE has been providing solutions to African investors for 10 years and this new initiative confirms FTSE’s position as Africa’s index provider.” http://www.nse.co.ke/med...e-asea-pan-african-index$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
maka wrote:mwekez@ji wrote:I have read in this thread a number are calling KCB @23, HFCK @14 & Kenya Re. I would also add E A Cables in the watch basket. Which other counters are in the watch basket ...having seen what scom can do am i allowed to throw it in the basket? Safari iko na mafans …. a very resilient counter
Somebody assist with the full list of the counters in FTSE NSE 15 index and FTSE NSE 25 index. So far I can tell the following 5 counters are in both the 2 indexes 1. EABL 2. KCB 3. BBK 4. Equity Bank 5. Safaricom
…. Or is the full list confidential
mwekez@ji wrote:Somebody assist with the full list of the counters in FTSE NSE 15 index and FTSE NSE 25 index. So far I can tell the following 5 counters are in both the 2 indexes 1. EABL 2. KCB 3. BBK 4. Equity Bank 5. Safaricom
Been looking for it too. Seems its confidential  $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
hisah wrote:mwekez@ji wrote:Somebody assist with the full list of the counters in FTSE NSE 15 index and FTSE NSE 25 index. So far I can tell the following 5 counters are in both the 2 indexes 1. EABL 2. KCB 3. BBK 4. Equity Bank 5. Safaricom
Been looking for it too. Seems its confidential 
The constituents of FTSE 15 can be got from checking the top 15 counters ranked by market capitalisation. I would imagine most, if not all, of these counters would also be in the FTSE 25 as they are usually also the most liquid GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Investor
Stocks
How to tell NSE has bottomed out