Police & Traffic Offences
mgeman
#21 Posted : Sunday, December 02, 2012 7:05:01 PM

Wazuans, here is a link from KTA summarising the new traffic penalties RINK
I am an African

-Thambo Mbeki Speech
#22 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 9:34:49 AM

Am sorry but I have to go back to my earlier question ; A cop friend is telling me that the fire extinguisher and first aid box only applies to psv vehicles i.e. matatus & taxis. Problem is, he knows zilch about the section of the traffic act with the details.

I seriously need to make a decision on whether to buy these things.
#23 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 9:49:41 AM

Can a wazuan clarify to me whether it is mandatory to have a fire extinguisher and first aid kit in a private vehicle. Am told cops are having an early christmas courtesy of our ignorance.

...Yes. Its in subsidiary legislation to the traffic Act...nakumatts motor botique has everythn.

...yaani hauniamini??
#24 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 9:53:01 AM

mgeman wrote:
Wazuans, here is a link from KTA summarising the new traffic penalties RINK

All vehicles more than four years old from the recorded date of manufacture shall be subjected to
inspection by the Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit (section 16(2)).
#25 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 9:58:14 AM

So. We who drive cars that are more than 4 yrs old have to take them for inspection. Finally the Ministry has achieved all they wanted
#26 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 10:52:12 AM

Can a wazuan clarify to me whether it is mandatory to have a fire extinguisher and first aid kit in a private vehicle. Am told cops are having an early christmas courtesy of our ignorance.

...Yes. Its in subsidiary legislation to the traffic Act...nakumatts motor botique has everythn.

...yaani hauniamini??

Section 56 of the traffic act is clear.. not mandatory for Private vehicles
TiggerTiggy
#27 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2012 9:02:05 AM

more than 10M in fines collected so far.
BTW you should have 2 triangles, fire extinguisher and approved first aid box, so says some cop i asked yesterday. there seems to be confusion regarding extinguisher and first aid box in personal cars.
#28 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2012 9:05:32 AM

TiggerTiggy wrote:
more than 10M in fines collected so far.
BTW you should have 2 triangles, fire extinguisher and approved first aid box, so says some cop i asked yesterday. there seems to be confusion regarding extinguisher and first aid box in personal cars.

Who approves the first aid box?
What size of firex do you require?

kiash
#29 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2012 9:52:44 AM

Funny that they implement the laws and eve the head of the traffic police is not sure about the speed limit. I did not know that PSV speed limit is 80kph have been in a mats to upcountry doing up to 140kph.

http://www.standardmedia...enders-nabbed-by-cameras
#30 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 8:37:00 AM

It seems police had an early christmas but thank God two kenyans have brought it out in today's watchman. I also think its againist the wazuan spirit to misinform members. Someone told us here that it is mandatory to have fire extinguishers and first aid boxes in private cars. Kumbe under the traffic act even the reflector triangles are not mandatory. You are only obliged to display them when the vehicle stalls on the road.

Lets educate each other.
11 Pages<12345>»