Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2012 Posts: 1,461 Location: Ngong Forest
bwenyenye wrote:Elder wrote:specky wrote:Actually the issue here is not the amended rules or the fines,the problem is the police officers are not in their right state of mind and they will just storm out their offices and charge you for an offence you have not committed so it will either be the TKK he demands or the hefty fine,and by the time you get to the station you will have committed multiple offences.........his word against yours,so be the judge on who the looser will be Or, with the fines and potential bribes being so high motorists would prefer to fight made up charges in court and the policemen who make up charges would realise that they would spend most of their time in courts and probably lose as well. Thus they would be discouraged from trumped up charges. Guys, the REAL problem is the court system. It is just as corrupt,inept and in cahoots with the police. If I am sure that I will find justice in Court, then I can fight the corruption. As it is, the system effectively encourages corruption..Case in point, a cop wants to arrest( be bribed) by a mat driver, as passengers, you ask to be dropped in town. Cop enters mat and orders the driver to the station. Before you know it, you are all under arrest for not wearing seat belts!!!no one checked by the way! You imagine you can tell the magistrate your story...you are dead wrong, even the arresting officer does not show up so you 'kataa' are charged a hefty bond and told to come next month.. cop never shows up, magistrate does jerk about it and gives another date.. effectively you get tired or get caught up one day and you don't show up on time,,and PAP!!! Forfeit cash bail and warrant of arrest issued.. You are now a fugitive..... bruury useless system!!!! Very Sad this is so,the judiciary and police know this, but I ask who gains from this weakness in our system? The judiciary that is overloaded with useless cases by the police or the policeman who never got the bribe he so much desired or the mwananchi who must safer anyway? The matatu guys should take the million signs to mutuga so that any policeman who brings five useless cases before court is jailed for three years with NO option of fine! kwisha!