wazua Sat, Jun 13, 2026

10 Pages«<23456>»
MATATU SRIKE
#31 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 9:31:09 AM

Today all the mikebes are on the roads, some are moving by the grace...

#32 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 9:36:42 AM

Things are elephant!!! Matatu conductors have refused personal cars to carry commuters from the stages....If you offer lifts, they threaten to stone your car!!!

Getting worse along Haille Sellasie where they are forcing occupants of personal vehicles to alight, smashing windows and even mugging people!!!
Behemoth
#33 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:21:56 AM

I always do 9kms in the morning.....had to do 35kms in 2 hrs 15mins!!!

Were u jogging? Coz I manage 10km in 50 minutes by walking.
Eagles don't flock, you have to find them one at a time.
#34 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:25:04 AM

if the government just placed the police lorries on the roads to ferry people around town - the strike ita isha pap.
#35 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:27:07 AM

Behemoth wrote:
I always do 9kms in the morning.....had to do 35kms in 2 hrs 15mins!!!

Were u jogging? Coz I manage 10km in 50 minutes by walking.

Read again bana, Had to drop a close one!!!!
#36 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:27:21 AM

josiah33 wrote:
Time for matatus to exit the scene and give way to a more orderly transport system.

Applause Applause Applause Applause You are spot on! Public transport should be the responsibility of the government.

And they are even trying to hold the Govt. at ransom.

Poleni waKenya, I feel you.
But Gova are you listening? Don't concede, don't compromise. These mats want to continue their stupid defiance on the road Shame on you
#37 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:29:08 AM

Things are elephant!!! Matatu conductors have refused personal cars to carry commuters from the stages....If you offer lifts, they threaten to stone your car!!!

Getting worse along Haille Sellasie where they are forcing occupants of personal vehicles to alight, smashing windows and even mugging people!!!

...what kind of govt is this??such guys should be shot wth rubber bullets we have made looting and burning things a way of life,we have lost direction...jana i think at kajiado people protesting over grabbed council land,looted and destroyed property,its jst the norm this days.
#38 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:33:38 AM

I don't agree with the extra heavy fines in the bill. Simply because the cops will grow fat with hongo.

But there is no way we can allow people go on strike because they don't like a law then loot from citizens.

These matatu people have to be tamed and tamed appropriately.

Let them go on strike for as long as they wish. Kimunya kaa ngumu. They are the ones who depend on the daily money to feed their kids.

The cops are probably not doing anything about it as many traffic cops own matatus and implementation of this law means they no longer have the monopoly of kitu kidogo from the blue caps.
#39 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:34:42 AM

if the government just placed the police lorries on the roads to ferry people around town - the strike ita isha pap.

...i waz thnkn tht way too,plus thea so many idle govt carz liase with skul buses n vans provide super security tuone what this thugs would do or how long they,d stay at home without an income,they had so much time too dialogue and reach an agreement wth the govt bt they failed now they r crying foul...our own boko haram,they want to do their own thngz and they have miserably failed in self regulating themselves.So sad.
#40 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:58:00 AM

Guys.. I think we are getting this the wrong way. This is not about the matatus. It is about the government not handling things properly.There is no point in hiking fines while the systems do not work. We keep blaming the matatus for breaking all the rules but we never ask ourselves why they do it or where they get the audacity. The reason is the system is not working and so they have realized that it is cheaper to be corrupt and pocket the traffic police. Once a cop is corrupted, the guy can do all the heck he wants..Even the current laws and penalties are sufficient but the thing is they are not enforced. Do you think higher fines will enforce the law? Hell no. The police system is inept and the court system is bogus. Who would you approach to solve your issues if the courts fail you? We are busy shouting down the matatus but we forget that this issues are for all of us!! Most of these mats are on loan and the owners are suffering in that they have no one to turn to when harrased!!! Many times we had discussed here that some cops some place set up road blocks for pure extortion. Infact, one AP guy shot and killed a woman coz the mat did not give him 20/= on Juja rd. That is how low we had sunk about 5 years ago.

Basically, I do not think the fines are the real issue here but that the reality on the ground is that we have done it wrongly by not making sure our systems work and in so doing,we are enriching people..

Case in point.. what happened to the Mututho law? When was the last time they were enforced? Do you know why? They are someones cash cow now....

The real question is where were we when this law was being drafted... Oh yes I remember. We were discussing UHURUTORAOMDVD nonsense... Who will save Kenya?
10 Pages«<23456>»