wazua Thu, Apr 2, 2026

Kakuzi Ltd Profit Warning
FUNKY
#1 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 9:36:19 AM

http://bit.ly/X6RnEl

Seems most agricultural firms are going to issue profit warnings this year!!
ProverB
#2 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 9:58:31 AM

FUNKY wrote:

..actually..firms largely exposed to coffee... Brazil had a really good year..and is likely to do so over season 2012-2013.. implying kenyan coffee remains depressed well into the new year.. nothing positive till july-sept 2013 window
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
#3 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:12:19 AM

Thought our coffee was unique and the quality is 1 of the best in the world. And target market is Middle East and Europe or are middle men screwing us again!
#4 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:22:24 AM

What else did investors expect?? Last year the Kes was at 107/$ and this year its at 85/$!..

It doesn't take a rocket scientist to see what will happen to exporters earnings!
#5 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:24:30 AM

ProverB wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

..actually..firms largely exposed to coffee... Brazil had a really good year..and is likely to do so over season 2012-2013.. implying kenyan coffee remains depressed well into the new year.. nothing positive till july-sept 2013 window
Kakuzi has no (or very little) coffee but KES was much stronger in 1H 2012 vs 2011.
hisah
#6 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:32:18 AM

Thought our coffee was unique and the quality is 1 of the best in the world. And target market is Middle East and Europe or are middle men screwing us again!

What @proverb says plus eurozone in recession plus global coffee commodity price nosedive this year plus strong KES equals trouble for any pure coffee play.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
ProverB
#7 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:51:39 AM

ProverB wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

Kakuzi has no (or very little) coffee but KES was much stronger in 1H 2012 vs 2011.

True..my head was on Eeagards!..i have some coffee and we use Socfinaf who is somehow affiliated to Eeagards..
..Kakuzi is in Tea, Avocadoes, Macadamia, Pineapples..kiasi livestock breeding and Forestry..

..strong KES undid an awesome last year for agric firms..probability of KES sustaining over next 6 months points to first half replicating in the second one..

..considering #matatu strike.. political atmosphere..suspension of brains over next 3-5 months... it is almost a guarantee shilling will not hold steady

..meaning slightly better half than this one...but i doubt it will be good enough to undo losses thus far realized..

..especially when u factor those idiot hooligans rioting and blocking roads and attacking boda boda/motorbikes/tuktuk cashing in on #matatu strike...affecting employees..how long the strike goes is anyone's guess...but for political milage..it is likely to be shelved..and how sad is that. Sad
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
S.Mutaga III
#8 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 11:54:45 AM

I may decide to have half of my portfolio in agrics...i believe their situatio is temporary.If huge bargains come along,the likes of williamson and rea vipingo,I will pull the buy trigger.
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
ProverB
#9 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 11:58:55 AM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
I may decide to have half of my portfolio in agrics...i believe their situatio is temporary.If huge bargains come along,the likes of williamson and rea vipingo,I will pull the buy trigger.

Eeeeish!! Mboss?? have you tried vaimba? (but i digress)

..please read the respective company's own forecasts??

Anyway...your only other options are financials and may be crown berger...just because it is very small (share volume) and is profitable.. but half portfolio on agriculture?...unless portfolio yako ni ndogo tu sana.
S.Mutaga III
#10 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 1:00:44 PM

ProverB wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:

Eeeeish!! Mboss?? have you tried vaimba? (but i digress)

..please read the respective company's own forecasts??

Anyway...your only other options are financials and may be crown berger...just because it is very small (share volume) and is profitable.. but half portfolio on agriculture?...unless portfolio yako ni ndogo tu sana.

yeah...i have a very small portfolio...just 5 companies...never had more than six because it shows you dont know what you are doing.I would rather invest heavily on four stocks than small amounts in 10stocks
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.