wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Kakuzi Ltd Profit Warning
FUNKY
#1 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 9:36:19 AM

http://bit.ly/X6RnEl

Seems most agricultural firms are going to issue profit warnings this year!!
ProverB
#2 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 9:58:31 AM

FUNKY wrote:

..actually..firms largely exposed to coffee... Brazil had a really good year..and is likely to do so over season 2012-2013.. implying kenyan coffee remains depressed well into the new year.. nothing positive till july-sept 2013 window
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
#3 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:12:19 AM

Thought our coffee was unique and the quality is 1 of the best in the world. And target market is Middle East and Europe or are middle men screwing us again!
#4 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:22:24 AM

What else did investors expect?? Last year the Kes was at 107/$ and this year its at 85/$!..

It doesn't take a rocket scientist to see what will happen to exporters earnings!
#5 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:24:30 AM

ProverB wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

..actually..firms largely exposed to coffee... Brazil had a really good year..and is likely to do so over season 2012-2013.. implying kenyan coffee remains depressed well into the new year.. nothing positive till july-sept 2013 window
Kakuzi has no (or very little) coffee but KES was much stronger in 1H 2012 vs 2011.
hisah
#6 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:32:18 AM

Thought our coffee was unique and the quality is 1 of the best in the world. And target market is Middle East and Europe or are middle men screwing us again!

What @proverb says plus eurozone in recession plus global coffee commodity price nosedive this year plus strong KES equals trouble for any pure coffee play.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
ProverB
#7 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:51:39 AM

ProverB wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

Kakuzi has no (or very little) coffee but KES was much stronger in 1H 2012 vs 2011.

True..my head was on Eeagards!..i have some coffee and we use Socfinaf who is somehow affiliated to Eeagards..
..Kakuzi is in Tea, Avocadoes, Macadamia, Pineapples..kiasi livestock breeding and Forestry..

..strong KES undid an awesome last year for agric firms..probability of KES sustaining over next 6 months points to first half replicating in the second one..

..considering #matatu strike.. political atmosphere..suspension of brains over next 3-5 months... it is almost a guarantee shilling will not hold steady

..meaning slightly better half than this one...but i doubt it will be good enough to undo losses thus far realized..

..especially when u factor those idiot hooligans rioting and blocking roads and attacking boda boda/motorbikes/tuktuk cashing in on #matatu strike...affecting employees..how long the strike goes is anyone's guess...but for political milage..it is likely to be shelved..and how sad is that. Sad
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
S.Mutaga III
#8 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 11:54:45 AM

I may decide to have half of my portfolio in agrics...i believe their situatio is temporary.If huge bargains come along,the likes of williamson and rea vipingo,I will pull the buy trigger.
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
ProverB
#9 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 11:58:55 AM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
I may decide to have half of my portfolio in agrics...i believe their situatio is temporary.If huge bargains come along,the likes of williamson and rea vipingo,I will pull the buy trigger.

Eeeeish!! Mboss?? have you tried vaimba? (but i digress)

..please read the respective company's own forecasts??

Anyway...your only other options are financials and may be crown berger...just because it is very small (share volume) and is profitable.. but half portfolio on agriculture?...unless portfolio yako ni ndogo tu sana.
S.Mutaga III
#10 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 1:00:44 PM

ProverB wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:

Anyway...your only other options are financials and may be crown berger...just because it is very small (share volume) and is profitable.. but half portfolio on agriculture?...unless portfolio yako ni ndogo tu sana.

yeah...i have a very small portfolio...just 5 companies...never had more than six because it shows you dont know what you are doing.I would rather invest heavily on four stocks than small amounts in 10stocks
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
#11 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 1:28:29 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
ProverB wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:

yeah...i have a very small portfolio...just 5 companies...never had more than six because it shows you dont know what you are doing.I would rather invest heavily on four stocks than small amounts in 10stocks
Warren Buffett advises retail investors to pick 5-10 stocks & go in with conviction rather than spread oneself too thin... One can keep track of 5-10 stocks much better than 10+
ProverB
#12 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 1:37:12 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
ProverB wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:

I meant small in terms of cash outlay...not variety of stocks.

..unlike many i rather put my eggs in one tray and seriously watch that tray.
S.Mutaga III
#13 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 2:17:34 PM

ProverB wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:
ProverB wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:

You are right...am not a rich man.But am grateful for whatever I have.
streetwise
#14 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 2:19:19 PM

very shy on agriculture since I can't tell what will affect the conter, is it rain, brazil, disease, strike, labour, exchange rate etc. I let other worry about that. On the other hand the land on which these companies stand must have appricoites or is this taken into account in the full year results.
#15 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 2:24:28 PM

Agriculture is the backbone of almost all countries including KE. Why? Without (renewable) resource extraction, most countries will be in huge trouble.

If these firms adopted Israeli agricultural practices e.g. smart farming, greenhouses, drip irrigation... I think they could be more profitable.
marshalliah
#16 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 9:52:45 PM

The agric sector contributes 24% of the Kenyan GDP. Evidently, this does not reflect on NSE boards, if it did, agricultural stocks would sell at better prices.
mwekez@ji
#17 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:08:41 PM

"This profit warning announcement is based on the performance indicated by the unaudited results to 30th September 2012 with reference to information currently available." K W Tarplee, Chairman, 29 November 2012

The chap is quoting Q3 2012 results that we dont have (and wont get). I say, like i have said before, NSE/CMA should make it a rule for all listed firms to release quarterly results
Pesa Nane
#18 Posted : Saturday, December 01, 2012 1:01:59 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
"This profit warning announcement is based on the performance indicated by the unaudited results to 30th September 2012 with reference to information currently available." K W Tarplee, Chairman, 29 November 2012

The chap is quoting Q3 2012 results that we dont have (and wont get). I say, like i have said before, NSE/CMA should make it a rule for all listed firms to release quarterly results

Seconded! I thought with a little bit more (deep) search I would grab something, but obviously I was wrong! Any guess on 9M12 numbers?
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#19 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 12:05:28 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
ProverB wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:
ProverB wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:

You are right...am not a rich man.But am grateful for whatever I have.

That is a humble person, you will make it! smile
#20 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 12:17:13 PM

The major shareholders never sell but the Wanjikus in the stock who hold less than 500 shares panic sell at a whiff of trouble.

Why hasn't the stock tanked yet?