Just because a big shot is at the launch doesn't mean a product is kosher.
Anyone remember the fanfair with Nation Hela?
This is a dangerous product even if you sugar coat it. You are saying that someone can borrow 7% pm...that's shylocking at its best.
On the other hand, you say it belongs to Safaricom...No it belongs to CBA....No it is only virtual money....Oh No...It is unregulated borrowing....You can have a press release if you wish but that's just what it is.
Mpesa must be regualated. Just because the CBK shared the bedroom with the Mpesa behomoth doesn't make it fair business practise.
In short, CBK has decided to support one lender in the country who is skimming money off uneducated folks who will be borrowing at rates previously unheard of. The story given as to who it supports simply means that the business people at Marikiti will be borrowing at a rate of 7% a day. Someone care to do the math?
They are also going to use my money that I have on Mpesa to give out loans to people who may otherwise not qualify for prudent loans. If equity has a bad loan book, anyone want to guess how long it will take for the 5k mama mbogas to start defaulting?
Hii Mpesa, will go Nation Hela way. Na mtalia.