15 Pages«<34567>»
Meet M-Shwari from Safaricom!!!!
rock
#41 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 1:54:50 PM

vky wrote:
Your M-Shwari account has been created successfully.....mi ni member already!!!

how do you sign up for the account

...just update you Mpesa menu and M-shwari will appear click on it and activate

Mi pia ni member pap!
#42 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 1:57:19 PM

Just because a big shot is at the launch doesn't mean a product is kosher.

Anyone remember the fanfair with Nation Hela?

This is a dangerous product even if you sugar coat it. You are saying that someone can borrow 7% pm...that's shylocking at its best.

On the other hand, you say it belongs to Safaricom...No it belongs to CBA....No it is only virtual money....Oh No...It is unregulated borrowing....You can have a press release if you wish but that's just what it is.

Mpesa must be regualated. Just because the CBK shared the bedroom with the Mpesa behomoth doesn't make it fair business practise.

In short, CBK has decided to support one lender in the country who is skimming money off uneducated folks who will be borrowing at rates previously unheard of. The story given as to who it supports simply means that the business people at Marikiti will be borrowing at a rate of 7% a day. Someone care to do the math?

They are also going to use my money that I have on Mpesa to give out loans to people who may otherwise not qualify for prudent loans. If equity has a bad loan book, anyone want to guess how long it will take for the 5k mama mbogas to start defaulting?

Hii Mpesa, will go Nation Hela way. Na mtalia.
#43 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 2:46:45 PM

@alma, as you kept shouting about MPesa, M-Shwari was luanched, mimi iko ndani kabisa!!!
#44 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 2:52:31 PM

@McReggae hakuna shida. You are under the new constitution. You can think and do as you wish.

I've said what I think about Mpesa.

Now can you please explain what you think rather than what you read in a press release that was paid for? Ama mnadhania we don't know how much money is being spent to sell this product.

Tell me if I'm wrong that tomorrow morning every radio station will be talking about it.

You journalists will be the end of this country. Regurgitating information for a paycheck.
bird_man
#45 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 2:58:03 PM

@Alma...what exactly is the problem with mshwari in your view?
As for the rates...its ok especially for business people who can make more from that advance than the rate.A case of "Chege wa Marikiti" has been given here.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
marshalliah
#46 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 2:59:58 PM

This product looks very similar to Mkesho. It will be an interesting case study noting that Mkesho as millions of Equity customers gave it a wide berth. Its just different a monkey this time but should sort out the failures of Mkesho. For instance, if you deposited 10,000 to Mkesho, you had to withdraw it twice before accessing the money, i.e. First withdraw from Mkesho to Mpesa was charged e.g 150, then withdraw again from an agent and charged again e.g. 150. To benefit from that interest on deposits, you had to get interest above these charges.

What is different now with Mshwari???

On borrowing, 7% per month is only music to those who can make much more profit like those 'marigiti' vendors.
#47 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:12:49 PM

I don't mind much about the interest rate since we are used to 10p.c of okoa jahazi after 3 days and airtel's kopa chapaa (with faulu) at 8.5p.c for 14 days.

What worries me most is defaulting on the entire economy, yet okoa jahazi already had hundreds of millions worth defaultees.
I have a handful of safcom shares and this worries me.

The process of getting the loan is too easy.

#48 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:13:12 PM

Can someone please explain how the governor of the central bank can be seen hobknobbing around with a product that is a case study in shylocking? Is that the current gov't policy? To lend funds at 7% per few hours for those who can't afford it?

Say what you will. Buy the media on every radio station on Wednesday. It doesn't change the fact that if Mpesa is lending out money, it should be under the Banking Act.

Unless the CBK is stating that shylocking is now a legitimate business, why would banks now follow KYB principles when its biggest competitor has none of those rules to follow?

#49 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:23:47 PM

Welcome to M-Shylock!!!!
bird_man
#50 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:27:06 PM

@Alma....I think the governer is allowed to attend whatever launch he wants to.The rates are ok for SOME people.Same way some people say mortgages are expensive while others go for them.It may be expensive to you but Mr.Chege will have made his 925sh that day.

Also note that all lending is not under Banking Act.Examples include Saccos,Non deposit taking MFIs etc.

Sema shida ingine.Infact my only worry is what they will do to prevent defaults.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
15 Pages«<34567>»