Investor
Stocks
Safaricom HY2013 Profit before tax up 113%
mazingira wrote:If SafCom or KCB do manage to get into the Ethiopian market ...sweet jesus then KCB should be a 75 bob share and safcom with mpesa right ... 12 bob ... Isn't this statement abit too far fetched? Or atleast 5 years too early
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,126 Location: Nairobi
dunkang wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Whoa! MTR dropped to 1.44 & what's worse? Back-dated to July! Hio haitutishi. Inter network charges contributed to less than 5pc of total revenue. Hmmm, what I see: 1) Chance for further cuts in prices for cross-network calls e.g. Airtel says 2/- calls to Safcom means some may switch to Airtel for Safcom-Safcom calls. 2) Lower MTR revenue for Safcom [coz net inflow to Safcom] That said... M-Pesa is king. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Mukiri wrote:mazingira wrote:If SafCom or KCB do manage to get into the Ethiopian market ...sweet jesus then KCB should be a 75 bob share and safcom with mpesa right ... 12 bob ... Isn't this statement abit too far fetched? Or atleast 5 years too early 5 years whyu being a party pooper bwana...it makes sense to me like this...Kenya's population is half of that of Ethiopia point. Disposable income maybe less but territorially the country is bigger I.e. more scope for money transfer and banking branches point. If one in 5 were to join the like of satcom that'd mean an added 8 mill customers...half that... 4 million each worth about 150 shillings nett to the supplier be it satcom Kcb or wan jkia you got 600 million shillings very conservatively. I think if Eabl can lock horns with Heineken Bralirwa a if they rally a little more why not buy a sizable share in the breweries ...wazuans suggested it lets rally behind Eabl now and make it a reality.
CCK & MTR reduction http://www.businessdaily...00/-/qaj7up/-/index.htmlGreedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Found that insurance company rumour. Mpesa bank is not forming an insurance firm rather it's partnering with Britam (Britak) and Changamka. Quote:Insurance company Britam has partnered with telecommunication giant Safaricom and tech-based medical supplier Changamka to provide a low cost medical insurance product that utilizes technological innovation to facilitate financing of healthcare services.
The three companies will jointly unveil the new product tomorrow, Tuesday November 27, 2012. rink - http://goo.gl/hjLar
For a moment there I was wondering WTH... $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
mazingira wrote:Mukiri wrote:mazingira wrote:If SafCom or KCB do manage to get into the Ethiopian market ...sweet jesus then KCB should be a 75 bob share and safcom with mpesa right ... 12 bob ... Isn't this statement abit too far fetched? Or atleast 5 years too early 5 years whyu being a party pooper bwana...it makes sense to me like this...Kenya's population is half of that of Ethiopia point. Disposable income maybe less but territorially the country is bigger I.e. more scope for money transfer and banking branches point. If one in 5 were to join the like of satcom that'd mean an added 8 mill customers...half that... 4 million each worth about 150 shillings nett to the supplier be it satcom Kcb or wan jkia you got 600 million shillings very conservatively. I think if Eabl can lock horns with Heineken Bralirwa a if they rally a little more why not buy a sizable share in the breweries ...wazuans suggested it lets rally behind Eabl now and make it a reality. I hear you. In this market, there are realists and there are dreamers. 'We can...' 'Let's ...' 'If we...' dangerous statements those, no?
hisah wrote:Found that insurance company rumour. Mpesa bank is not forming an insurance firm rather it's partnering with Britam (Britak) and Changamka. Quote:Insurance company Britam has partnered with telecommunication giant Safaricom and tech-based medical supplier Changamka to provide a low cost medical insurance product that utilizes technological innovation to facilitate financing of healthcare services.
The three companies will jointly unveil the new product tomorrow, Tuesday November 27, 2012. rink - http://goo.gl/hjLar
For a moment there I was wondering WTH... Any info from the DailyPost gutter press is bound to be a tad bit exaggerated. I doubt safcom would want to antagonize large institutions, some of them very politically connected. There is business and there is war. Wonder tho' the effect of this? Could this be the reason the counter is on such high demand? Are they now competing with NHIF? Another consideration is CCK MTR. The biggest question, should I cancel my 6/- sell bid?
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
VituVingiSana wrote:dunkang wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Whoa! MTR dropped to 1.44 & what's worse? Back-dated to July! Hio haitutishi. Inter network charges contributed to less than 5pc of total revenue. Hmmm, what I see: 1) Chance for further cuts in prices for cross-network calls e.g. Airtel says 2/- calls to Safcom means some may switch to Airtel for Safcom-Safcom calls. 2) Lower MTR revenue for Safcom [coz net inflow to Safcom] That said... M-Pesa is king. The MTR cut is a big blow to Safaricom but congrats to CCK for standing firm, the MTR cut will go a long way in leveling the playing field and enhance mobile telephony penetration in Kenya.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
Safcom moves from hold to sell. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
the deal wrote: The MTR cut is a big blow to Safaricom but congrats to CCK for standing firm, the MTR cut will go a long way in leveling the playing field and enhance mobile telephony penetration in Kenya. I remember the same was said during Number portability. @deal, is your valuation still at 2.30/- @mlenny, i thought ur deal went through at 4.55/-. Lolest Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
dunkang wrote:the deal wrote: The MTR cut is a big blow to Safaricom but congrats to CCK for standing firm, the MTR cut will go a long way in leveling the playing field and enhance mobile telephony penetration in Kenya. I remember the same was said during Number portability. @deal, is your valuation still at 2.30/- @mlenny, i thought ur deal went through at 4.55/-. Lolest Off course great one @Dunkang the MTR cut is just hot air like number portability...you have done your research well so why worry about my valuation...
Those who bought today at 5.25/- will be cursing CCK...hahaha
the deal wrote:dunkang wrote:the deal wrote: The MTR cut is a big blow to Safaricom but congrats to CCK for standing firm, the MTR cut will go a long way in leveling the playing field and enhance mobile telephony penetration in Kenya. I remember the same was said during Number portability. @deal, is your valuation still at 2.30/- @mlenny, i thought ur deal went through at 4.55/-. Lolest Off course great one @Dunkang the MTR cut is just hot air like number portability...you have done your research well so why worry about my valuation... 5.50 is too high 2.30 is too low Where in the middle is a good entry point is the question! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:the deal wrote:dunkang wrote:the deal wrote: The MTR cut is a big blow to Safaricom but congrats to CCK for standing firm, the MTR cut will go a long way in leveling the playing field and enhance mobile telephony penetration in Kenya. I remember the same was said during Number portability. @deal, is your valuation still at 2.30/- @mlenny, i thought ur deal went through at 4.55/-. Lolest Off course great one @Dunkang the MTR cut is just hot air like number portability...you have done your research well so why worry about my valuation... 5.50 is too high 2.30 is too low Where in the middle is a good entry point is the question! If all goes well, CCK plans to continue with the glide path by lowering the MTR further to Sh1.15 in July 2013 and down to Sh0.99 in July 2014. Link http://www.capitalfm.co....rop-to-lower-call-rates/
FUNKY wrote:Those who bought today at 5.25/- will be cursing CCK...hahaha IMHO, it was over-priced at 5.25 compared to other counters on the NSE. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
@2.80-3.50bob is the only range where i would dare place a purchase order for safaricom shares! Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Member Joined: 8/17/2011 Posts: 207 Location: humu humu
KIPPRA says the reduction will not have adverse effect on share price..perhaps the effect would taper off with time. I would love to have a look at kippras paper. Mpesa remains a good buy anywhere at sub 5 levels.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
hisah wrote:CCK cuts call interconnection rate to Sh1.44 - http://www.businessdaily...0/-/qaj7up/-/index.html
Quote:The Communications Commission of Kenya has cut the rate mobile phone operators charge each other for interconnecting customers by 34 per cent.
The communication regulator lowered the Mobile Termination Rate of (MTR) to Sh1.44 from the current Sh2.21 and backdated t he lower July—offering relief to firms like YU and Airtel that have been pushing for lower rates. Safaricom has been against a drop in MTR. Funny this comes out now when the other telcos have voiced their stand on not lowering prices anymore... Let's see how Mr Market reacts tomorrow. Is it a coincidence that Safaricom will be announcing a new product tomorrow? Too well timed IMO, to dilute the "bad news". Yu and Airtel will be foolish to throw away this lifeline by lowering prices. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
VituVingiSana wrote:the deal wrote:dunkang wrote:the deal wrote: The MTR cut is a big blow to Safaricom but congrats to CCK for standing firm, the MTR cut will go a long way in leveling the playing field and enhance mobile telephony penetration in Kenya. I remember the same was said during Number portability. @deal, is your valuation still at 2.30/- @mlenny, i thought ur deal went through at 4.55/-. Lolest Off course great one @Dunkang the MTR cut is just hot air like number portability...you have done your research well so why worry about my valuation... 5.50 is too high 2.30 is too low Where in the middle is a good entry point is the question! Safaricom have shown their resilience. They hiked prices but managed to retain their mkt share. with the bull in full swing, 5 bob will hold. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,555 Location: nairobi
on the face of it the m-shwari product looks dead on arrival. how will they guard against account dressing. how will bad debts be managed seing as they are not under CBK guide as a telco. who/how many will borrow 100K and repay in 30days. it seems faulty to me HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Investor
Stocks
Safaricom HY2013 Profit before tax up 113%