wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

National Security Why we need Firm Decisive Action/Solution
#1 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 12:05:22 PM

The recent reports and incidents involving killing of Police officers and military personnel is worrying and disturbing and deserve the most firm and unambiguous solution and action.

We must not be driven to accept these events as "normal" since it is slowly coming to that. We must not accept this solution that: "elders are seeking to avert the surrender of the butchers of Baragoi by agreeing to returning the cattle and the disengagement of the military air surveillance". These killers must pay for the lives of the police officers with the same coin period.

In Garissa, when we accept that the residents can hide the AS elements amongst themselves and "demonstrators" can shoot at cops and soldiers, I think this will be sinking too low and missing the bigger picture. When complaints against the operation in Garissa and Eastleigh to get the killers and their tools of trade are elevated to a higher ground than the fact that criminals/terrorists/goons whatever you call them are at the core of the problem with the tacit support of known businessmen and politicians then we shall forever be mourning and gnashing our teeth calling for reconciliation/peace/human rights/tolerance.... whatever!

This codling of criminals in the name of ''rights'' is sickening.This criminals kill, so what rights do the dead have?
sky5
#2 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 3:15:43 PM

Well said.

It is sickening to hear politicians defending criminals especially when the criminals kill Govt officers!!!

What 'rights' do criminals have when they take other people's right to life?
#3 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 3:21:24 PM

This was to be expected when we fought Shommaria, the worst may be yet to come. The US go through the same thing with halkenida and hishlamists. Moshlems don't fight fair and they never seem to give upSad

#4 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 3:31:07 PM

#5 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 3:35:29 PM

If the police deaths had happened in Rwanda..

"Three or so years ago, there was an accident at an office complex that was being built in Kigali.
Two workmen died, and it emerged that the wealthy owner of the building, perhaps because he had powerful friends in the ruling Rwanda Patriotic Front (RPF), had not bought workman’s compensation.
A lone policeman was dispatched on a Saturday afternoon to go and serve the businessman with a summons to show up at a police station.
The policeman went looking for the rich man, until he found him at a funeral of a prominent citizen of Kigali.
The businessman was seated in the front row in a tent at the funeral, and on both sides very senior army officers of the Rwanda Army flanked him.
With all the mourners watching in mild horror, the policeman walked and served the businessman with the summons!
The big military officers gently told the policeman that it was “un-African” to serve summons at a funeral, and promised the policeman that they would present the businessman first thing on Monday morning at the police station.
The policeman walked away empty-handed... and promptly reported to his superiors that he had been outranked.

True to their word, the generals delivered the businessman to the police station on Monday. But it was also the end for them. They were thrown into prison.
The powers that be in Rwanda were outraged, and a Big Man there told me: “When a policeman serves you with a summons, even when you are in church or in bed, in Rwanda you must answer them immediately. The day we allow generals to countermand a police officer like that, however good their reasons, we shall begin a slide to lawlessness”. The message hit home.'

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/15e99qp/-/index.html

jamplu
#6 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 4:23:16 PM

It doesn't just add up that officers were killed in broad day light not once but several times and people around pretend they saw nothing. These people sacrifice everything even their lives for this country to some of us they are our brothers or relatives and they have families too. Let MP's and the human rights clowns stop talking too much when some of these officers react they way they do like it happened in Garissa. I dare them go to the parents,sibling, widows and the fatherless kids of the dead police officers and soldiers and try to explain how human rights crap works.
When you are shot at in Kismayu and you manage to get through it safely and then someone kills 3 of your colleagues and shoots at you again and again where you supposed to be safe something will snap!

#7 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 4:46:53 PM

jamplu wrote:
It doesn't just add up that officers were killed in broad day light not once but several times and people around pretend they saw nothing. These people sacrifice everything even their lives for this country to some of us they are our brothers or relatives and they have families too. Let MP's and the human rights clowns stop talking too much when some of these officers react they way they do like it happened in Garissa. I dare them go to the parents,sibling, widows and the fatherless kids of the dead police officers and soldiers and try to explain how human rights crap works.
When you are shot at in Kismayu and you manage to get through it safely and then someone kills 3 of your colleagues and shoots at you again and again where you supposed to be safe something will snap!

Well said

What is scaring is that slowly but surely this is now almost becoming normal. Terrorists/bandits/criminals kill a cop/soldier no action, they kill and maim, hurl grenades, blow up buses, churches and no action should be taken. Why?

1. Our cops are underpaid
2. Our intelligence system has failed
3. We can reconcile and negotiate
4. "Our people" will lose property and business
5. Marginalization of NEP...... endless crap
6. Religious leaders appeal for calm
7. The terrorists want it to seem to be a religious affair....

When action is taken then a community rises up against the law enforcers seeking to arrest the perpetrators. The future looks bleak very bleak.

It is time that everyone must be told to state on whose side they are. Communities that hide criminals in the name of religion, culture, brotherhood or otherwise should be subjected to the same treatment as the criminals by the security forces. You dine with them you suffer with them, period!.
#8 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 5:15:17 PM

2. [b wrote:
Our intelligence system has failed[/b]

Maybe, maybe not.

But note that a lot of big planned terrorist ops (esp. on skyscrapers) on our soil have actually been foiled through coordinated intelligence but these will never ever make it to the dailies. Still, publicised cases such as the capture of those 2 Iranians (na walienda wapi?) with the powerful RDX explosives, showing a good case of maturity of our intelligence apparatus, even the Americans and Israelis were impressed.

Plus no country can have 100% intelligence success all the time, some plots always slip through the cracks and succeed, such as the terrorist attacks in Mumbai, Kampala bombings (Ug has a very no. of informers - hao wasee wa boda boda), 9/11 in U.S, etc.

#9 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 5:37:48 PM

I like the way kenyans display their fake outrage. The moral from the story by nation columnist onyango obbo, is that we are a failed state. I guess he couldn't say it loudly because he is ugandan. But kenyans including wazuans completely missed that. There is no other country in the world where you can kill 42 cops and get away with it.

Just remember the commandaer of the troops who were killed in baragoi actually called police headquarters to say they had been attacked and some of his men had been killed. Well it wasn't until another two days for red cross to get there by which time the brave soldier had bled to death. Ooh and even by then the top dogs at vigilante house had not bothered to visit baragoi. Plus you president and anyone who matters in govt were busy attending to more important business like opening the VP's house in karen.

What did the president say about the killings? Aah i remember, NOTHING. Remember when 150 kenyans were killed by sdlf in mt elgon? Well your commander in chief didn't notice. Wait until 9 kenyans died in a plane crash in cameroon, he was all over declaring 3 days of nationak mourning. Kwamchetsi makhoha put it so succintly, mt elgon people need to learn how to die in a posh manner to catch the president's attention.
sitaki.kujulikana
#10 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 6:43:04 PM

during the past regimes you would not see ministers and mps going on national media to justify the killings.

total lack of respect and any semblance of order, I would have expected the principles to fire the ministers and the party organs to kick them out of their parties
#11 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 8:56:15 PM

Deleted
#12 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 8:58:10 PM

Wazua seems to be moving to a consensus that excessive force needs to be used on the communities that caused the 2 incidents against security officers. I hope, that should it come to that level that guys will not turn against the same govt they incited against its people. I am not holding my breath for this though. The level of activism in kenya has risen sharply. Govt security bosses always on the spotlight over operations. As we speak, parliament is demanding answers from Haji on why excessive force is being used in Garissa. Turkana MPs have threatened legal action should govt launch a punitive operation. This same govt still has memories of Philip Alston n Mungiki cases, post poll chaos cases, mt elgon etc. Most of those killed by police in such cases were just security forces doing their job. Also, the media. Jicho Pevu will def make a series from Garissa operation and claim gvt was heavy handed. The judiciary is another. Brethren, this is the path we chose when we opted for democracy. Dont compare with Ug and Rwanda. U cant eat your cake and still have it!
#13 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 9:51:13 PM

I like the way kenyans display their fake outrage. The moral from the story by nation columnist onyango obbo, is that we are a failed state. I guess he couldn't say it loudly because he is ugandan. But kenyans including wazuans completely missed that. There is no other country in the world where you can kill 42 cops and get away with it.

Just remember the commandaer of the troops who were killed in baragoi actually called police headquarters to say they had been attacked and some of his men had been killed. Well it wasn't until another two days for red cross to get there by which time the brave soldier had bled to death. Ooh and even by then the top dogs at vigilante house had not bothered to visit baragoi. Plus you president and anyone who matters in govt were busy attending to more important business like opening the VP's house in karen.

What did the president say about the killings? Aah i remember, NOTHING. Remember when 150 kenyans were killed by sdlf in mt elgon? Well your commander in chief didn't notice. Wait until 9 kenyans died in a plane crash in cameroon, he was all over declaring 3 days of nationak mourning. Kwamchetsi makhoha put it so succintly, mt elgon people need to learn how to die in a posh manner to catch the president's attention.

...well said,some animals are greater than others.
itz
#14 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 11:41:49 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
2. [b wrote:
Our intelligence system has failed[/b]

Maybe, maybe not.

But note that a lot of big planned terrorist ops (esp. on skyscrapers) on our soil have actually been foiled through coordinated intelligence but these will never ever make it to the dailies. Still, publicised cases such as the capture of those 2 Iranians (na walienda wapi?) with the powerful RDX explosives, showing a good case of maturity of our intelligence apparatus, even the Americans and Israelis were impressed.

Plus no country can have 100% intelligence success all the time, some plots always slip through the cracks and succeed, such as the terrorist attacks in Mumbai, Kampala bombings (Ug has a very no. of informers - hao wasee wa boda boda), 9/11 in U.S, etc.

@intelligentsia thinking above the fray.Kenyan intelligence NSIS has succeeded so far because as you said no big targets have been hit and you can tell by the attacks that have happened that the attackers are desperate because they can only get to small targets.
#15 Posted : Friday, November 23, 2012 10:12:12 AM

Wazua seems to be moving to a consensus that excessive force needs to be used on the communities that caused the 2 incidents against security officers. I hope, that should it come to that level that guys will not turn against the same govt they incited against its people. I am not holding my breath for this though. The level of activism in kenya has risen sharply. Govt security bosses always on the spotlight over operations. As we speak, parliament is demanding answers from Haji on why excessive force is being used in Garissa. Turkana MPs have threatened legal action should govt launch a punitive operation. This same govt still has memories of Philip Alston n Mungiki cases, post poll chaos cases, mt elgon etc. Most of those killed by police in such cases were just security forces doing their job. Also, the media. Jicho Pevu will def make a series from Garissa operation and claim gvt was heavy handed. The judiciary is another. Brethren, this is the path we chose when we opted for democracy. Dont compare with Ug and Rwanda. U cant eat your cake and still have it!

@Lol, what was the amount of force used to kill the 42 Police officer? Minimum?
Was excessive force not used to kill the 3 KDF officers?
Which Community killed? Or was it a bunch of people from these "community(s))?
The most important thing is not to lament about the cause, history.. blabla failure and blame game. No. Its time to chart a way forward. Do short term tactical operation as well as put in place long term measures. To condone killing of security agents is to negate the need for these officers in the first place.

Democracy cannot be equated to disorder and coddling of of crime, terrorism, banditry whatever you call it. The same force that is meted out on security agents must also be meted out on those who kill them and no one must be allowed to shield such goons.

You are either with them (terrorists/bandits/criminals) or with the government (security agents)no middle ground. Period.
kollabo
#16 Posted : Friday, November 23, 2012 1:52:29 PM

Remember the Thika PCEA women who died in TZ? No disrespect to them, but Chopper and condolences came very fast.
#17 Posted : Friday, November 23, 2012 4:02:50 PM

kollabo wrote:

Remember the Thika PCEA women who died in TZ? No disrespect to them, but Chopper and condolences came very fast.

@Kollabo, I dismissed the naysayers on the TZ issue, lakini it now seems that Baks is too elitist to be moved by deaths that are not posh.
#18 Posted : Friday, November 23, 2012 9:32:38 PM

We have enough military transport helis. The police top brass should have swallowed their pride n sought for help from the military. The death of the GSU inspector is a total embarassment to Kenya. Iteere should go, I bow my head in shame!