wazua Sat, May 16, 2026

5 Pages<12345>
Thika Highway not so super!
#21 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2012 7:47:17 AM

mkeiyd wrote:
Anywhere across the country, the speed limit is 110KPH. I thought all drivers know that. Ukifanya more than that, don't blame the cops when 'arrested'. They are simply enforcing the law.

@Jus Blazin, On Thika highway on the inner most lanes, what is the minimum speed limit? Is it 80kph or 100kph. I was discussing with someone,i said it's 100kph,he said its 80kph,which is which? Coz if its 80kph,then what's trucks' speed limit? Less than 80kph? I've always thought it to be 80kph.

Are there no signs on the road?
mkeiyd
#22 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2012 8:50:22 AM

mkeiyd wrote:
Anywhere across the country, the speed limit is 110KPH. I thought all drivers know that. Ukifanya more than that, don't blame the cops when 'arrested'. They are simply enforcing the law.

@Jus Blazin, On Thika highway on the inner most lanes, what is the minimum speed limit? Is it 80kph or 100kph. I was discussing with someone,i said it's 100kph,he said its 80kph,which is which? Coz if its 80kph,then what's trucks' speed limit? Less than 80kph? I've always thought it to be 80kph.

Are there no signs on the road?

@murchr,I don't use that road everyday,i rem seeing the limits,what i'm seeking is clarification.
Nambie ni ngapi kaa wajua mwanangu. [say it like a Tanzanian would]
Motomoto
#23 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2012 8:58:23 AM

MJ wrote:
50, 80, 100 or 110....What is the speed limit on Thika super highway? Today I was 'arrested' for doing 118km/hr

Unaezji shikwa na polisi thika road! Unaenda na unenda kabisa. Ama hujazoea that there could be that nice road and you re still hustling with matatus on the outer lanes. Sikia-unachika varavara ya katikati na unakwenda. Kwani polisi atakusimamisha wapi. Jinga
#24 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2012 9:00:42 AM

Even used it jana and on the inner lane you see 50, 80 and 100 interchangeably!!!!
bebeto
#25 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2012 9:44:22 AM

Thank you for the info, I didn't know that.

Every road has its DESIGN SPEED....its just that in kenya, the highest is 110KPH.

otherwise, for thika road, its indicated 100KPH.

As for being arrested, please try engaging them. most of those are preconceived speeds that they bandika on you...most of the randars huwa hazifanyi kazi...i was once arrested for allegedly doing 115KPH just past Thika town, but i was sure i hadn't even touched a 100KPH. on remaining firm about it, he said..."inaonekana ni hiyo gari ingine"...and off i went. only that he wasted like 5 of my precious minutes.
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
sitaki.kujulikana
#26 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2012 10:47:27 AM

Motomoto wrote:
MJ wrote:
50, 80, 100 or 110....What is the speed limit on Thika super highway? Today I was 'arrested' for doing 118km/hr

Unaezji shikwa na polisi thika road! Unaenda na unenda kabisa. Ama hujazoea that there could be that nice road and you re still hustling with matatus on the outer lanes. Sikia-unachika varavara ya katikati na unakwenda. Kwani polisi atakusimamisha wapi. Jinga

was also wondering how you can be arrested at 118km/h, unless wako na system that capture your number plate then cross check with kra for your information then links to kajwangs office to know which county you come from then hooks up with knec's database to know the schools you went to, then maybe cross checks kenyanjobs blogspot to track where you work, then finally you get the ticket to appear in court.

#27 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2012 11:27:41 AM

jguru wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
I think it's 100kmh on the two inner most lanes. The ones trucks are supposed to keep off.
Otherwise on the outer lane,for service trucks n buses, the limits are 80kmh n on some sections,50kmh.

The "super" prefix to the highway is a fabrication of the media n some in the roads ministry. It's just a highway for there are super highways/motorways.

Thika highway it is.

Agreed.

The first highway I've seen anywhere in the world with BUMPS!

You conveniently forgot this is the only country in the world full of peculiar kenyans, and they must be protected from themselves .

Ati protected them from their own selves.

If u leave a kenyan on his own, he will quickly self destruct, and there will be nobody left to vote for PK! LOL!
richdad
#28 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2012 11:49:19 AM

From the comment here not many went through Kenyan driving schools. Thats where speed issue is discussed. Limit for small cars, trucks, pickups, psvs etc.
Keep it simple
Kausha
#29 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2012 10:43:20 AM

Totally ridiculous, we build highways to enhance faster movement within safety parameters. The highway should have minimum speed parameters of about 110KPH and max speed of say 140KPH. The service lane limits can stay at 80KPH. The speed limit issue was there because pedestrian crossings were not complete now they are, surely if you are on that highway you will certainly be drining above 100KPH. Idiotic cops now want to go collect easy money coz certainly 4 in 5 cars will at one point be moving past 110KPH. They should bring that gadget to Mombasa road, the 50KPH for trucks and 80KPH is very much needed there......trucks and private car drivers went rogue a while ago and they are dismembering and killing kenyans who have no demarcated pedestrian crossing to save them again....Stupid greedy policemen looking for bribes when they could use the same gadgets to save innocent Kenyans and collect fines which are deserved..
banyamulenge
#30 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2012 10:49:25 AM

richdad wrote:
From the comment here not many went through Kenyan driving schools. Thats where speed issue is discussed. Limit for small cars, trucks, pickups, psvs etc.

This is the biggest problem on Kenyan roadsSad Sad Sad

"The longer the fuse the mightier the blast!"
5 Pages<12345>