Thika Highway not so super!
Anywhere across the country, the speed limit is 110KPH. I thought all drivers know that. Ukifanya more than that, don't blame the cops when 'arrested'. They are simply enforcing the law. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
MJ wrote:50, 80, 100 or 110....What is the speed limit on Thika super highway? Today I was 'arrested' for doing 118km/hr How much did u cough out? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
jguru wrote:mkeiyd wrote:I think it's 100kmh on the two inner most lanes. The ones trucks are supposed to keep off. Otherwise on the outer lane,for service trucks n buses, the limits are 80kmh n on some sections,50kmh.
The "super" prefix to the highway is a fabrication of the media n some in the roads ministry. It's just a highway for there are super highways/motorways.
Thika highway it is. Agreed. The first highway I've seen anywhere in the world with BUMPS! Reason:coz some of us dont like using our brains lords of impunity,changing lanes hapharzadly its like u are particpating in an F1 race,not using foot bridges,others sell the wares by the road side endangering thea lives in the process we lack any form of morality and deceny,we have to be policed like kindergaten kids...aargh shida za kujitakia tu possunt quia posse videntur
Intelligentsia wrote:It doesn't matter what speed you are doing on some of these roads if the cop at the end of it is 'hungry.'
Haiya, you may get threatened with being arrested for driving your plombox alone, coz it has the capacity of carrying six kenyans but you are only carrying one person instead - yourselufu. Was once stopped at Mbaruk, Nakuru and told I was speeding at 125KPH; being aware of these favorite speed gun points I had made sure that I was within a speed range of 80kph +/- 10kph (speed limit here is 100kph). But the idiots could hear non of it. "Kwani ulikuwa unaendesha gari ama ulikuwa unaangalia speedometer???" Next, toa 5000/= tukuandikie Cash Bail. "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
Was once arrested in Nakuru for doing 62kph in a 50kph zone hapo Midlands Hotel while driving from Nairobi to Eldoret. It was a sato and was given a choice of either paying 3000 bob cash bail to appear in court the following monday or to kutoa kitu kidogo of 1k. Kama ni wewe ungefanya aje?
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
Tebes wrote:Intelligentsia wrote:It doesn't matter what speed you are doing on some of these roads if the cop at the end of it is 'hungry.'
Haiya, you may get threatened with being arrested for driving your plombox alone, coz it has the capacity of carrying six kenyans but you are only carrying one person instead - yourselufu. Was once stopped at Mbaruk, Nakuru and told I was speeding at 125KPH; being aware of these favorite speed gun points I had made sure that I was within a speed range of 80kph +/- 10kph (speed limit here is 100kph). But the idiots could hear non of it. " Kwani ulikuwa unaendesha gari ama ulikuwa unaangalia speedometer???" Next, toa 5000/= tukuandikie Cash Bail. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
jguru wrote:mkeiyd wrote:I think it's 100kmh on the two inner most lanes. The ones trucks are supposed to keep off. Otherwise on the outer lane,for service trucks n buses, the limits are 80kmh n on some sections,50kmh.
The "super" prefix to the highway is a fabrication of the media n some in the roads ministry. It's just a highway for there are super highways/motorways.
Thika highway it is. Agreed. The first highway I've seen anywhere in the world with BUMPS! You conveniently forgot this is the only country in the world full of peculiar kenyans, and they must be protected from themselves . TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,334 Location: Masada
simonkabz wrote:jguru wrote:mkeiyd wrote:I think it's 100kmh on the two inner most lanes. The ones trucks are supposed to keep off. Otherwise on the outer lane,for service trucks n buses, the limits are 80kmh n on some sections,50kmh.
Thika highway it is. Agreed. The first highway I've seen anywhere in the world with BUMPS! You conveniently forgot this is the only country in the world full of peculiar kenyans, and they must be protected from themselves . Ati protected them from their own selves. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Jus Blazin wrote:Anywhere across the country, the speed limit is 110KPH. I thought all drivers know that. Ukifanya more than that, don't blame the cops when 'arrested'. They are simply enforcing the law. Thank you for the info, I didn't know that.
Jus Blazin wrote:Anywhere across the country, the speed limit is 110KPH. I thought all drivers know that. Ukifanya more than that, don't blame the cops when 'arrested'. They are simply enforcing the law. @Jus Blazin, On Thika highway on the inner most lanes, what is the minimum speed limit? Is it 80kph or 100kph. I was discussing with someone,i said it's 100kph,he said its 80kph,which is which? Coz if its 80kph,then what's trucks' speed limit? Less than 80kph? I've always thought it to be 80kph.
Thika Highway not so super!