wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

28 Pages«<34567>»
Safaricom HY2013 Profit before tax up 113%
hisah
#81 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 6:50:06 AM

hisah wrote:
Back in Nov 2009 after Scom had mounted a rally from 2.60 it stalled at 4.70. BD later had a headline that read Scom rally fails to clitch IPO price. Then in Jan 2010, the rally launch from 4.50 to 5.30 then by Jun & Aug 2010, 6/- printed.

Profit taking, then rally until the bull dies... Patience.

Btw @4.80 Scom was 70% up for 2012...

Patience till? 8/- maybe?

Unless PBT gets to 30B level, 8/- is farfetched. But Mr Market is known to be irrational during strong bullish periods, so it can happen with ridiculous P/Es being the end result. At such times being a seller is the best position.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#82 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 10:20:42 AM

mlennyma wrote:
Meanwhile excitement is over and the guy who said 5bob is a must might wait a little longer.

Volumes suggest wanjikus panic or profit taking. Most of the trades are below 10,000 shares. So far.

certainly the latter. Wanjiku will not panic since the stock is bullish. I might sell half of my holdings too.
#83 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 12:37:32 PM

where is @maka, he had void in another thread that this thing will not touch 4.5 bob this year!
#84 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 1:54:01 PM

marshalliah wrote:
received Safaricom dividend today. nice suprise. they had earlier mentioned pay out is in Dec 2012. anyone else whose got their 22 cents today?

received mine too

smile My Banker told me she loved my smile today

#85 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 1:58:31 PM

marshalliah wrote:
received Safaricom dividend today. nice suprise. they had earlier mentioned pay out is in Dec 2012. anyone else whose got their 22 cents today?

received mine too

smile My Banker told me she loved my smile today

received mine jana via mpesa!
hisah
#86 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 3:30:05 PM

hisah wrote:
Watching the bids build up. I'm interested in the large bids like the 13M @4.55/- The next support level is being raised from 4/- to 4.50/-

VWAP @4.55/-
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
the deal
#87 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:08:22 PM

hisah wrote:
Watching the bids build up. I'm interested in the large bids like the 13M @4.55/- The next support level is being raised from 4/- to 4.50/-

VWAP @4.55/-

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly a more sober and humble post from bwana @Hisah.
hisah
#88 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:44:52 PM

the deal wrote:
hisah wrote:

VWAP @4.55/-

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly a more sober and humble post from bwana @Hisah.

I posted the above last week to indicating that the floor is being raised from 4/- to 4.50/- based on the bid pattern. How is that drunkardness...
#89 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:48:15 PM

3.50 will come and iam not drunk.
#90 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 5:37:14 PM

hisah wrote:
the deal wrote:
hisah wrote:

VWAP @4.55/-

I posted the above last week to indicating that the floor is being raised from 4/- to 4.50/- based on the bid pattern. How is that drunkardness...

Just received a confirmation that my trade went through @4.55. Im happy to have sold this laggard stock. Having averaged down heavily I leave wit a very small loss and no hard feelings..

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#91 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 10:29:26 PM

hisah wrote:
the deal wrote:
hisah wrote:

VWAP @4.55/-

Just received a confirmation that my trade went through @4.55. Im happy to have sold this laggard stock. Having averaged down heavily I leave wit a very small loss and no hard feelings..

From IPO?

I'm holding mine. 6/- will come, let the impatient first offload.

maligumu
#92 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 11:58:58 PM

hisah wrote:
the deal wrote:
hisah wrote:

VWAP @4.55/-

Kumbe watu wameumia ! Learn to cut losses early enough and move on . When was the last time Safcom was past 5 sh ? Can't remember well but may be when many were floating in the tide of 2010 January . Next time don't be left floating naked .
Peace be with you
hisah
#93 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 7:13:11 AM

maligumu wrote:
hisah wrote:
the deal wrote:
hisah wrote:

VWAP @4.55/-

Kumbe watu wameumia ! Learn to cut losses early enough and move on . When was the last time Safcom was past 5 sh ? Can't remember well but may be when many were floating in the tide of 2010 January . Next time don't be left floating naked .

Last time mpesa bank was above 5/- was in Jan - Sept 2010.

Seems @obiero got in ard 2010 and refused to grow a thick hide ama skin smile

All the best @obiero, win some, lose some.

Now we wait for simba to push to 40/- in 2013.
#94 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 2:03:27 PM

Has Wanjiku been completely bought out. I hope so, so as the match to past 5/- can start.

#95 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 10:47:36 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Meanwhile excitement is over and the guy who said 5bob is a must might wait a little longer.

Volumes suggest wanjikus panic or profit taking. Most of the trades are below 10,000 shares. So far.

certainly the latter. Wanjiku will not panic since the stock is bullish. I might sell half of my holdings too.

Just cashed out half of my holdings at 4.65. Let me see how far this bull tide will carry the stock, hopefully on the positive side of 5 bob, then i can liquidate the other half.
#96 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 12:11:43 PM

http://www.businessdaily...8/-/ja07ar/-/index.html

Now you can read why safaricom profits will be sustained. It all started with orange raising cost, now yu, next you know who.

hisah
#97 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 3:13:07 PM

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate-News/Yu-mulls-tariff-rise--to-meet-high-cost-of-doing-business-/-/539550/1621328/-/ja07ar/-/index.html

Now you can read why safaricom profits will be sustained. It all started with orange raising cost, now yu, next you know who.

Slowly the madness is clearing the way for sensible business strategies to make a comeback. Price wars don't just cut the grade. Price war is a loathed marketing strategy that should be used as a last course since it's a suicide mission.

Just like banks or insurance firms or manufacturing, the telco market is no different. Each competitor needs to establish a niche market. Fighting with a giant in any market is harmful to any business no matter how huge your reserves/cashflow. Money/funds are scarce and at one point, the price war/undercutting biz strategy bleeds the aggressor badly and becomes unsustainable.

An idea I'd like to sell is for the 4 telcos to combine their mobile money system rather than fighting senselessly. This way they can combine their synergies and come up with a way of reaching the lowest unbankable person.

#98 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 11:11:34 PM

hisah wrote:
An idea I'd like to sell is for the 4 telcos to combine their mobile money system rather than fighting senselessly. This way they can combine their synergies and come up with a way of reaching the lowest unbankable person.

@hisah why would MPESA which transacts 30% of Kenya's GDP need the other telcos...

Safcom has like an 80%+ market share in mobile money and they are very unlikely to gain from partnerships with tiny players!

IMHO The best would be the other telcos teaming up to battle MPESA!!
hisah
#99 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2012 1:38:41 PM

guru267 wrote:
hisah wrote:

@hisah why would MPESA which transacts 30% of Kenya's GDP need the other telcos...

Safcom has like an 80%+ market share in mobile money and they are very unlikely to gain from partnerships with tiny players!

IMHO The best would be the other telcos teaming up to battle MPESA!!

Here I was thinking like a socialist smile Yaani kusaidia mwananchi smile
hisah
#100 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2012 1:40:56 PM

The supply today spreads up to 5.20/- but very thin volume. 5/- will be crossed soon since bids will have to tempt sellers to come out...