wazua Wed, Dec 25, 2024

30 Pages«<1819202122>»
The power of financial education
Marty
#381 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 2:42:10 PM

Mbithi wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
good job Marty.....on a lighter side, i must mention that i have noticed you love tea...almost all your anectodes have the word tea in themsmile

Very true Fyatu.....hehehehehe.....

No doubt I love tea. U see am a teetotaller.
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
Fyatu
#382 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 6:29:10 PM

Marty wrote:
Mbithi wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
good job Marty.....on a lighter side, i must mention that i have noticed you love tea...almost all your anectodes have the word tea in themsmile

It is widely believed that teetotallers are more successfyl financially than "watu wa chupa" - perhaps you have an anectode for this???
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Marty
#383 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 9:13:54 AM

Fyatu wrote:
Marty wrote:
Mbithi wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

It is widely believed that teetotallers are more successfyl financially than "watu wa chupa" - perhaps you have an anectode for this???

Not sure this is the case, but if you found a young man drinking at 9am on a monday; you might retort like the liver juggler (RIP); "Kijana, inakaa ulitengeneza pesa kitambo"
Marty
#384 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 9:20:24 AM

Miser, pinchpenny and stingy Final Part

He is no doubt a hardworker and saves a lot, plans ahead and grows. After ferrying goods to City Market for two years or so, he decided to shift gears and venture into the crazy Matatu world. He bought his first Matatu and assumed the role of a driver. He didn’t stop there; worked even harder and got a second one…continued working hard till he owned a fleet of around 10 Matatus. By then, the fellow was getting richer by the day. At least he improved his eating habits.

He later ventured into stocks big time, a bit of real estate. Actually as we speak he owns several flats in Ruaka and elsewhere. He is now filthy rich but as u may guess correctly he’s still very stingy.

Someday a few years ago, I went for a house warming party for a close relative and I found him there. We enjoyed goat meat while I kept a distance from him. Just before he left he called me aside and told me that the Premio I was driving was his dream car. In his words he said it looks like a Merc. Strange man this is; you see he drives that AE 91 despite being a multi-millionaire. I couldn’t help but laugh but knowing this man, I knew he was serious.

This guy does not even have a wife and kids; wait..he had a wife and a son back then but I always suspect his stinginess drove her away. I also know how badly his brothers are doing but let us not venture there. You see there are those brothers you have and you are so determined to help but they are beyond help…a story for another day. It makes me wonder coz all this wealth he has and does not seem to enjoy is vanity. You see there are vultures circling around as soon as you depart to your maker and what you never did with your money, they’ll do it. They will ride the big cars, go on holiday and live largest with your hard earned money; after all they don’t know the pain you underwent when making the money.

You know majority of us underestimate the power of giving and being charitable whichever your faith…a universal concept that applies across board. Give freely and create space to receive more. And the biblical wise man, he who wrote the Psalms and Proverbs advised us:

Proverbs 11:24-25: One person gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous person will prosper; and whoever refreshes others will be refreshed.

If I had all the wealth in this world and I have this brother of mine in need and I never helped him, what sort of happiness do I derive from that money? When we land in Heaven, you might be asked very simple questions; you found this guy who was hungry, did you give him food? I was naked, did you clothe me?

And my favourite verse Luke 6: 38: Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you."

In this thread we are educating people in the spirit of giving. We endeavor to be very practical. Will take a break next week but when we resume, we shall venture into the construction underworld…if you have ever constructed you might flash back and relate with the posts; if you are about to construct you might learn a thing or two...but one thing is for sure; this underworld is not for the faint hearted. They once conned me in Rongai as I bought timber...poor me but I learnt my lessons. God bless.
#385 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 12:27:56 PM

@Marty, Marks' story is a real inspiration. I remember there was a time I was in a place where I know most wazuans are, the place where you invest all our hard earned money in companies stocks and following them with a microscope here on wazua almost getting hear attacks - looking to make a kill while all this time there's a sure investment we can't see, investment in ourselves through God. Thanks for the reminder.

jerry
#386 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 1:36:33 PM

Fyatu wrote:
Marty wrote:
Mbithi wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

Not true. Those who drink are more successful! I think I should resume.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#387 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 1:44:27 PM

jerry wrote:

Not true. Those who drink are more successful! I think I should resume.

Those who drink look successful because most of them are putting up a show. One fact I can tell you is you'll never get a worthwhile client or successfully close a deal in a pub.

tinker
#388 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 5:12:07 PM

Marty 4 President....He has given another reason 2 stop drinking and be charitable.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
#389 Posted : Saturday, November 17, 2012 2:32:18 AM

Applause Tho' @Marty, you should quantify generosity. Is it giving what you are asked for, giving in the measure you deem fit, denying yourself so as to bless another... ? Fafanua.

I give you 'The Bible and Health ~ Kent Hovind', it's a must watch, IMHO

biraru
#390 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2012 1:15:58 PM

@marty....please share the info to biraru09 at gmail dot com , I also need to get some info from u on buyin plots thru ballots
phantom
#391 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2012 1:29:10 PM

@Marty you missed my email phanto504atgmail.com. Thanks
Your boss's job is to give you a job. Its your job to make yourself rich
#392 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2012 8:09:42 PM

Miser, pinchpenny and stingy reminds me of Moneyman in Half a day and other stories. But Mr. Moneyman has no match he's in league of his own.
Ion joining Campus was the right decision, If you had opted to become a farmer maybe you won't have joined wazua...
See you after the break.
arkard
#393 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2012 11:12:13 PM

Mastermind wrote:
Miser, pinchpenny and stingy reminds me of Moneyman in Half a day and other stories. But Mr. Moneyman has no match he's in league of his own.
Ion joining Campus was the right decision, If you had opted to become a farmer maybe you won't have joined wazua...
See you after the break.

Haiya kumbe watu si wazee vile...
Above all, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.
#394 Posted : Sunday, November 25, 2012 7:48:19 PM

@Marty,good work.please continue the series and email me The power of financial education part 3 and 4 to the following email address,pacecon2003@yahoo.com
Marty
#395 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 8:33:06 AM

The underworld of Construction Part 1

I constructed and my final verdict is that everyone on that site was a thief unless they proved otherwise. You see these fellows thought that I had loads of cash (limitless) and all they wanted was to squeeze the most out of me, illegally and otherwise.

I set out to do my residential house with the little cash I had and hoped against hope that someday I’ll live in my own home. The dream came to pass but by the end of the project, I had some Solomonic wisdom regarding the dealings in that world; which I will share with you. The trusted hardware supplier stole in cohort with the clerk of works, the jua kali foreman stole, the timber guy based in Rongai stole, the KYMs stole cement, the fundis stole man hours and my rogue brother meant to assist reduce the pilferages also colluded with them that stole…but they only did it for a short time coz my eagle eyes and a bit of investigative skills and that mole, actually two of them helped me…Someday I woke up and decided enough was enough, slapped the foreman after a lengthy rebuke, fired all of them workers, sat down and reflected on the way forward, installed controls before resuming the construction….welcome to the underworld that construction has become.

It started with profiling of the house and using lime to mark where trenches were to be dug. No sooner than the markings were done, a gang of Mungiki youths showed up demanding to dig the trenches, in their own words, that work was set aside for them and no-one else. And you see they were to charge some fee 3 times compared to the usual charges from other KYMs…of course I told them I had no money and will call them when am ready only for them to show up a few days later and find the trenches already dug. Few threats here and there but they disappeared into thin air.

Then I met this guy who would supply everything in this world and dude is an architect by profession. Kamau will have a solution to all problems; he will get you fine sand from somewhere past Athi River, he’d hook you up with some cheap AFCO cement, he owns a lorry that he’d use to get foundation stones somewhere in Ruiru, ndarugu stones as well. Wait…Kamau knew where to also get some nice trees which we can split and get timber…actually that guy who prepares the timber is a good friend of his…this Kamau even had the best of painters and metal fabricators around. The interesting thing about Kamau is that he even proposed redesigning my house to make the roof better, space utilization…sijui nini…and so I asked him, “Kwani Kamau you know everything, what is you specialty?” I smelled a big rat here and avoided Kamau like a plague. And by the way he used to sniff snuff; that powdered tobacco…and that really put me off and so I dismissed him.

By the way, when they were digging those trenches for the foundation, it emerged that the hard rock was as many as 7 to 10 feet below ground level. You see when I flashed back to that time I was buying that kaplot and that agent who usually drinks himself silly showed me some rocky area within the plot and I thought that doing the foundation would be very easy on that plot only to be confronted by that thick layer of hard core stones upon digging the trenches. So this place was actually a quarry at some point, which was back filled with hard core stones and a layer of 1 foot thick cotton soil; so in other words what I bought was a quarry plot. This architect of mine who doubled up as a structural engineer returned a verdict that we could only suspend the house as opposed to doing 7 to 10 courses of foundation stones…..suspend the house..in the air or what?..I wondered. So he explained the concept of suspending…doing columns to the level of the hard rock, then some beams at ground level to support the walls..

Then I realized that not only had I got a raw deal of a plot, but I was in for some more surprises…most of them very costly….and I will tell you how I formed a habit of whistling subconsciously when confronted with those costly surprises…and this neighbor of mine who promised to give me water for koroga only for the wife to decline on the material day of koroga, having already assembled the team and machinery and my begging mission to salvage the situation that had boiled down to a teary fight between man and wife……more in the next post.
Tito44
#396 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2012 12:11:09 PM

@Marty Ulimaliza kujenga hii nyumba kweli? Looking forward to the next post on how you managed to get around this
tinker
#397 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2012 3:41:17 PM

Real world ! awaiting part 2. Finer architectural details are also welkam, as in the actual design of the hse, how many bedroom, what was its estimated budget and what it actually costed to finish
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
Marty
#398 Posted : Thursday, November 29, 2012 11:36:57 AM

The underworld of Construction Part 2

You know the BoQ (Bill of Quantities) is quite interesting. It contains costs which are not so big individually but when you add the figures up, the totals are massive. When the architect brought the BoQ, it was quite tricky to understand it, being the layman I was. I am surprised these days I can make a lot of sense from it. You see when it talks of substructure, superstructure, formworks, cubic meters for mass concrete, twisted bars etc.; it can dwarf your knowledge. I demanded that the guy supplies me with a schedule of materials which is much easier to understand. You see 5 lorries of sand, or Y8s, Y12s and the likes makes more sense to a layman.

Before it escapes me I recall that incidence when we were to cast the slab and my good neighbor who had promised to give me water; a circus it became. On the materials day, the koroga squad arrived by 6am and quickly set up the machinery, then they proceeded to carry cement from the site house and they emptied as many as 20 bags on the ground…by the way, the operations of this koroga squad is rather organized and interesting. The toughest guys will be somewhere they call “Chini ya mnazi”; just next to the concrete mixer and their role is to load mass concrete atop wheelbarrows. The lightweights will be assigned simple tasks like pouring water, cement, sand and ballast inside the mixer. Interesting these fellows know how to balance the ratios inside the mixer…don’t ask me how they co-ordinate, please observe. Back to my neighbor’s story: When some fellows went inside my neighbor’s compound to get water, the lady of the house came out with a machete claiming that the water was given without her authority. The man being a man wanted to show his authority and attempted to force the lady into submission but when the machete was wrestled from her, she started wailing and close the gate. She held onto the keys like her life depended on them. I had to utilize my negotiation skills but they never worked till I parted with some 2k to appease the lady and finally she gave in.

Life gets quite interesting. You know the same lady was once thrown out of the house by the husband and the dude disappeared to Western and switched off his phone. I found her outside the gate and she pleaded with me for some coins to take her to her Meru. Of course I remembered the water incident but decided to let it pass and I gave her cash enough to eat some meal and ferry her stuff to her shags.

Back to the construction of my house: You see I noted that I had lost it and fired all the workforce and I had to figure out how to move on. But I had to understand how these fellows were stealing from me. And so I confided in one fellow and he opened up. The fellow eventually became my mole. The chief architect of the thefts was none other than my own brother (who was to be my eye on the ground). He was a wolf in sheep’s skin. You see he knew what all the others were doing and he’d get a cut from each. He was the guy who was meant to confirm and receive supplies in my absence. Some of the deliveries were less and I’d pay for the expected full deliveries. It is very easy to receive 9 cements and pay for 10, after all the difference of one when already utilized is barely noticeable. The hardware guy would bill me for quantities which were not fully delivered. I’d only check on the delivery notes and assume that what was there was accurate. The foreman was also cheeky; he had two sites and would utilize some of the KYMs on the other site whereas I was the one paying them. Just before I arrived in the evening, I’d find them on my site and assume they worked the whole day. Poor me.

I knew the only way out was to install controls at all these levels. I also had to have a grip of the procurement process coz therein was the biggest loss. The controls worked wonders and I’ll outline them in the next post. However, this never prevented me from being conned by the timber guy in Rongai. This was my last loss but I learnt a lot from it. More in the next post.
S.Mutaga III
#399 Posted : Thursday, November 29, 2012 11:41:09 AM

You forgot to add me to your ailing list....simonmaina71(at)gmail(dot)com
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
Pesa Nane
#400 Posted : Thursday, November 29, 2012 10:25:48 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
You forgot to add me to your ailing list....simonmaina71(at)gmail(dot)com

Everything plus much much more are posted on WAZUA googlegroups. If you have not joined, please see earlier posts for details.smile Karibu.
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.