Investor
Property
Syokimau Railway Line
Chiaroscuro,imagine walking from fire station to railways to board the train with the rain in the evening and finding the train has just left or it is yet to arrive.btw,if the train does not target matatu guys,how do you connect to ngong road,westlands,upperhill,waiyaki way where offices are situated?no wonder in the business daily today,the train is running with 40 passengers 30 of them school children on a tour.
Come on...We need to stop thinking cheap. Cheap is very expensive. At the same time, some people are so attached to their cars they forget to count. When you spend 1.5 hours in a traffic jam then another 1 hour on the way back, you have basically wasted 2.5 hours a day of your life. 2.5 hoursx365 means you will have wasted 912.5 hours in a year. Or simply 39 days of your life doing nothing but destroying the ozone layer. In other words, being a useless being. 300 bob is cheap. It means that now you will have 2 hours in your life every day which you can spend with your family or at least tending to the broilers you have in your backyard. Life is about math. Lakini some of us had better pay citi kajo fees than live a productive life. Cheap has never been productive. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:Come on...We need to stop thinking cheap.
Cheap is very expensive. At the same time, some people are so attached to their cars they forget to count.
When you spend 1.5 hours in a traffic jam then another 1 hour on the way back, you have basically wasted 2.5 hours a day of your life.
2.5 hoursx365 means you will have wasted 912.5 hours in a year. Or simply 39 days of your life doing nothing but destroying the ozone layer. In other words, being a useless being.
300 bob is cheap. It means that now you will have 2 hours in your life every day which you can spend with your family or at least tending to the broilers you have in your backyard.
Life is about math.
Lakini some of us had better pay citi kajo fees than live a productive life. Cheap has never been productive. ...@alma i totally agree if i,d save all that time by using the train i would always use it...you also keep fit while dn so,if am working at GPO,Moi avenue,Kenyatta avenue etc it wud talk me like 10-15 mins to walk to railways thats good exercise instead of getting mad while in the jam,seething and boiling with rage...and it doesnt rain daily in Kenya,you can be using your car when the rainy season sets in...save on time,save on money,exercise for free,what else would you want. possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
mawinder wrote:Chiaroscuro,imagine walking from fire station to railways to board the train with the rain in the evening and finding the train has just left or it is yet to arrive.btw,if the train does not target matatu guys,how do you connect to ngong road,westlands,upperhill,waiyaki way where offices are situated?no wonder in the business daily today,the train is running with 40 passengers 30 of them school children on a tour. Is it better to walk to Central Bus Station under the same weather conditions...and then find that there are no matatus because the the are held up by the rain-induced jam on Mombasa road? BTW: The train runs on a timetable, so the issue of "finding the train has just left or is yet to arrive" does not arise! People must learn to go by a timetable.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 249 Location: nairobi
mawinder wrote:Chiaroscuro,imagine walking from fire station to railways to board the train with the rain in the evening and finding the train has just left or it is yet to arrive.btw,if the train does not target matatu guys,how do you connect to ngong road,westlands,upperhill,waiyaki way where offices are situated?no wonder in the business daily today,the train is running with 40 passengers 30 of them school children on a tour. Thats the reality..... ..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
murchr wrote:maka wrote:mkeiyd wrote:the only drawback on this is the 100bob fare. otherwise it makes a lot of sense time wise. how long does it take to find park after 10 in the morning in town?how long does it on the road? About having different classes of fares,that would be beating the whole logic of MASS urban transport. Whether its a tube or a subway, the brits/americans stand or has our middle class gotten richer than those two? ...We need to do a practical study on the viability of ths thing hakuna mtu anaishi mahali huko awe case study for a week we make a comparison of how much they save if they use the train instead of a car to and fro...and the car shouldnt be a vitz. Fuel from Syokimau to and fro = 300 + parking fees 150. (note this is not a rainy day) and if u have a guzzler ur likely to be spending more, so what is 200/- for a hustle free ride? 300 bob fuel syokimau - railway station to and fro - I need to buy that car asap, please advice on the car.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 249 Location: nairobi
maka wrote:alma wrote:Come on...We need to stop thinking cheap.
Cheap is very expensive. At the same time, some people are so attached to their cars they forget to count.
When you spend 1.5 hours in a traffic jam then another 1 hour on the way back, you have basically wasted 2.5 hours a day of your life.
2.5 hoursx365 means you will have wasted 912.5 hours in a year. Or simply 39 days of your life doing nothing but destroying the ozone layer. In other words, being a useless being.
300 bob is cheap. It means that now you will have 2 hours in your life every day which you can spend with your family or at least tending to the broilers you have in your backyard.
Life is about math.
Lakini some of us had better pay citi kajo fees than live a productive life. Cheap has never been productive. ...@alma i totally agree if i,d save all that time by using the train i would always use it...you also keep fit while dn so,if am working at GPO,Moi avenue,Kenyatta avenue etc it wud talk me like 10-15 mins to walk to railways thats good exercise instead of getting mad while in the jam,seething and boiling with rage...and it doesnt rain daily in Kenya,you can be using your car when the rainy season sets in...save on time,save on money,exercise for free,what else would you want. its better to treat a disease than the symptoms....we all know the problem is on rounabouts along uhuru highway.There is a train to thika and if railway was the solution, then thika road project could have been shelved. Upgrading uhuru highway and doing away with round abouts is the way 2 go... ..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
maina20 wrote:maka wrote:alma wrote:Come on...We need to stop thinking cheap.
Life is about math.
Lakini some of us had better pay citi kajo fees than live a productive life. Cheap has never been productive. ...@alma i totally agree if i,d save all that time by using the train i would always use it...you also keep fit while dn so,if am working at GPO,Moi avenue,Kenyatta avenue etc it wud talk me like 10-15 mins to walk to railways thats good exercise instead of getting mad while in the jam,seething and boiling with rage...and it doesnt rain daily in Kenya,you can be using your car when the rainy season sets in...save on time,save on money,exercise for free,what else would you want. its better to treat a disease than the symptoms....we all know the problem is on rounabouts along uhuru highway.There is a train to thika and if railway was the solution, then thika road project could have been shelved. Upgrading uhuru highway and doing away with round abouts is the way 2 go... No its not. developing mass transit systems is the way to go.
accelriskconsult wrote:maina20 wrote:maka wrote:alma wrote:Come on...We need to stop thinking cheap.
Life is about math.
Lakini some of us had better pay citi kajo fees than live a productive life. Cheap has never been productive. ...@alma i totally agree if i,d save all that time by using the train i would always use it...you also keep fit while dn so,if am working at GPO,Moi avenue,Kenyatta avenue etc it wud talk me like 10-15 mins to walk to railways thats good exercise instead of getting mad while in the jam,seething and boiling with rage...and it doesnt rain daily in Kenya,you can be using your car when the rainy season sets in...save on time,save on money,exercise for free,what else would you want. its better to treat a disease than the symptoms....we all know the problem is on rounabouts along uhuru highway.There is a train to thika and if railway was the solution, then thika road project could have been shelved. Upgrading uhuru highway and doing away with round abouts is the way 2 go... No its not. developing mass transit systems is the way to go. ...I agree @maina20 take time and read this http://en.m.wikipedia.or...ondon_congestion_charge even if we remove all roundabouts the change will be watered down after some few years rem the population is growing,the standard of living is also rising substantially translating to more cars on the road when compared to past years...CBD will be congested as ever,parking bays wont grow at the same speed unless we knock down buildings and build multi level storey parking bays or take up uhuru park and build parking spaces,the solution as you have been told is safe,reliable,efficent mass transportation...thats the way to go... possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
The problem with this syokimau project is the false optimism exuded by the media. The syokimau train is not a new train its a refurbishment of an old train...and that the problem with this commuter train. Currently RVR has about 5 trains plying different Nrb routes.Reliability of this service is a pipe dream.Take for instance today, people traveling from kahawa and Ruiru had to endure hrs of delay...a train that was supposed to arrive in Nrb at 7.30am arrived at 9.30 .... and this is not a first time ..its is something they do regularly...you cant rely on these trains. In the media they reported the syokimau train will be taking 25minute I was there yesterday The ATA is 45 minutes...and that's becoz its a new service once it gets old and the hype dies down it will not be a surprise when the delays become unbearable to the target customers. The other thing is the terminus outside the Nrb station..the dust and the chaos out there will make it unattractive to high end clientele...it's even worse when it rains. In my opinion for the train to serve its purpos of decongesting the road they shld have competitive rates that will convince someone that the hustle from the Nrb station is worth the saving made. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
accelriskconsult wrote:maina20 wrote:maka wrote:alma wrote:Come on...We need to stop thinking cheap.
Life is about math.
Lakini some of us had better pay citi kajo fees than live a productive life. Cheap has never been productive. ...@alma i totally agree if i,d save all that time by using the train i would always use it...you also keep fit while dn so,if am working at GPO,Moi avenue,Kenyatta avenue etc it wud talk me like 10-15 mins to walk to railways thats good exercise instead of getting mad while in the jam,seething and boiling with rage...and it doesnt rain daily in Kenya,you can be using your car when the rainy season sets in...save on time,save on money,exercise for free,what else would you want. its better to treat a disease than the symptoms....we all know the problem is on rounabouts along uhuru highway.There is a train to thika and if railway was the solution, then thika road project could have been shelved. Upgrading uhuru highway and doing away with round abouts is the way 2 go... No its not. developing mass transit systems is the way to go. I totally agree with you. In the developed world that most of us so envy, rail system is the common mode of transport, even for the senior executives. What should be improved now is the metro link, movement from the rail station to the various parts of the city. If this is addressed then i don't see people shying away from the railway. We also need to remember, an idea whose time has come can never be stopped...... Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
By the time the Uhuru Highway decker road is complete, all of you yapping here will have gotten used to using the rail. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
Life is about math.
Lakini some of us had better pay citi kajo fees than live a productive life. Cheap has never been productive. ...@alma i totally agree if i,d save all that time by using the train i would always use it...you also keep fit while dn so,if am working at GPO,Moi avenue,Kenyatta avenue etc it wud talk me like 10-15 mins to walk to railways thats good exercise instead of getting mad while in the jam,seething and boiling with rage...and it doesnt rain daily in Kenya,you can be using your car when the rainy season sets in...save on time,save on money,exercise for free,what else would you want. its better to treat a disease than the symptoms....we all know the problem is on rounabouts along uhuru highway.There is a train to thika and if railway was the solution, then thika road project could have been shelved. Upgrading uhuru highway and doing away with round abouts is the way 2 go... Despite the name Thika road project was not for going to thika I may be wrong..but then I could be right
Does this train operate during the weekends? The kids want a train ride.
murchr wrote:githundi wrote:From the face of it, the prices look unrealistic. Most users of rail transport are watu wa kawaida, the guy who waits for fares to go down.1. Wrong target market. 2. Not many people work around the rail transport, and i don't think they will be willing to walk up and down the city. I mean why do people buy cars; convinience, ease of movement and comfort. 3. Most of the passengers are standing. Why should i pay 100 to stand. It defeats logic. I'd rather be up early to avoid these inconviniences. I don't know why, but until the entire city transport is rationalized, this remains just but another white elephant. U missed the point, the target market is the motorists from Athiriver, Machakos and its environs. The wo/man who will park his/her car board the train save the fuel and time that he would have spent on traffic. Its not the man who even if he's charged 10/- he will wait for it at the corner to dandia it. 2. You dont have to work around railway, but u can board a bus to ur office/town etc from railways. 3. Commuter rails and buses in major cities around the world have provision for standing some people dont like sitting..if the train is full and u have to get to work, simama...kwani? You gave an example of you being early and enjoyn ur luxury, that is ur choice...others will choose otherwise. Soon, it will be very expensive to have ur car in the city, with the intro of tolls, traffic fines, fuel levy and high parking fees..reli mtapanda Mpende msipende Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
Life is about math.
Lakini some of us had better pay citi kajo fees than live a productive life. Cheap has never been productive. ...@alma i totally agree if i,d save all that time by using the train i would always use it...you also keep fit while dn so,if am working at GPO,Moi avenue,Kenyatta avenue etc it wud talk me like 10-15 mins to walk to railways thats good exercise instead of getting mad while in the jam,seething and boiling with rage...and it doesnt rain daily in Kenya,you can be using your car when the rainy season sets in...save on time,save on money,exercise for free,what else would you want. its better to treat a disease than the symptoms.... we all know the problem is on rounabouts along uhuru highway.There is a train to thika and if railway was the solution, then thika road project could have been shelved. Upgrading uhuru highway and doing away with round abouts is the way 2 go... That's quite some generalisation! Who the "we" in that statement? It can't be all wazuans because I don't agree that story about roundabouts being the problem. If you remove them, what will you put in their place? Roundabouts are a very effective traffic control system if and only if motorists obey the rules of entry and exit. So the problem really is our idiot drivers who never obey traffic rules... ...and police officers who have no clue about traffic dynamics controlling the flow at roundabouts that have traffic lights! So they allow vehicles from one side to flow for five minutes... by the time they complete a full cycle, some fellows have been waiting for 20 minutes...and the queue behind them is 5km long...blocking the the three other junctions behind ... and the whole city goes into grid-lock! We should just remove the police and leave the roundabouts in place! Perhaps we can leave only two cops to arrest the idiots who ignore the lights (and those who stop 3m past the lamp post then never realise when they lights go green) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:murchr wrote:maka wrote:mkeiyd wrote:the only drawback on this is the 100bob fare. otherwise it makes a lot of sense time wise. how long does it take to find park after 10 in the morning in town?how long does it on the road? About having different classes of fares,that would be beating the whole logic of MASS urban transport. Whether its a tube or a subway, the brits/americans stand or has our middle class gotten richer than those two? ...We need to do a practical study on the viability of ths thing hakuna mtu anaishi mahali huko awe case study for a week we make a comparison of how much they save if they use the train instead of a car to and fro...and the car shouldnt be a vitz. Fuel from Syokimau to and fro = 300 + parking fees 150. (note this is not a rainy day) and if u have a guzzler ur likely to be spending more, so what is 200/- for a hustle free ride? 300 bob fuel syokimau - railway station to and fro - I need to buy that car asap, please advice on the car. Nasikia Platz hunusa tu "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Murchr,I think if we are to share cars with our neighbours it would be cheaper coz there is no point of 5 cars going to town when you could use 1 car.you just need to work on the modalities.i suspect my asian neighbours have that arrangement.
mawinder wrote:Murchr,I think if we are to share cars with our neighbours it would be cheaper coz there is no point of 5 cars going to town when you could use 1 car.you just need to work on the modalities.i suspect my asian neighbours have that arrangement. Good idea, but it only works with the Asian neighbors. Me thinks this train project is a good one in the long run! Once they build such stations in all suburban areas… a journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step! The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/19/2010 Posts: 1,308 Location: nairobi metropolitan
On another note, i think the trend now is that a sizable size of Nairobi is working away from city centre i.e that is mombasa road, upperhill, westlands. I was on mombasa road and i did not like what i saw, traffic jam @ 1. I know people have their homes somewhere and some at places opposite their workplace in respect to cbd. Why can't we have people residing close to where they work as it can reduce traffic jams and save the manhours you are talking about. I live in kikuyu and i work in westlands, i take only 20 mins from house to work, i wouldn't need the train from kikuyu as will need to go to cbd then to westlands which will take no less than 1 hour. Lets look at other solutions as i also work with other guys who have to leave house before six to arrive by 9 just because they are attached to their homes somewhere. Why can't one rent his house along ngong road to some one who works in upperhill and use the same proceeds to rent a house along thika road where he/she works instead cogesting the towncentre unnecessarily. Democracy does not belong to the dead
Investor
Property
Syokimau Railway Line