wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

11 Pages<1234>»
Syokimau Railway Line
chiaroscuro
#21 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 12:20:58 PM

You think sh100 is too much?

How much would you be willing to pay if you lived in the target area?

How much would you charge if YOU OWNED the service?
maina20
#22 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 12:38:39 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:
You think sh100 is too much?

How much would you be willing to pay if you lived in the target area?

How much would you charge if YOU OWNED the service?

1. Yes. coz i currently pay 50bob(affordable) and seat(comfort+ less chances of pick pocketer). i believe matatus are not on charity and thus make money by charging50bob.infact, since the railway has no traffic jam , it must make even more profits at 50bob...
2. Am willing 50 bob or less, unless the 100bob is inclusive of breakfast.
3. if i owned the service, i would start with 40bob and add couches. i would target volumes, and consider 2 or more trips. then i would have a VIP section and charge more,(product diversifi...)..when business picks up. later i invest on an electric train!!!! smile smile
..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
Mkimwa
#23 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 1:01:39 PM

This will make sense when there are more stations all round.

I am bullish on this one... It is priced for the guy who drives and works in CBD, not the guy who takes a matatu. It will make economic and time sense for that guy. For the guys who take Matatus at the moment, please continue using the matatu.

The only flow is - when did mass transport system (rail) start targeting the driving class?

I think they should have more regular trains though, I don't think one train during peak hours is enough.
#24 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 1:46:07 PM

maina20 wrote:
githundi wrote:
From the face of it, the prices look unrealistic. Most users of rail transport are watu wa kawaida, the guy who waits for fares to go down.1. Wrong target market. 2. Not many people work around the rail transport, and i don't think they will be willing to walk up and down the city. I mean why do people buy cars; convinience, ease of movement and comfort. 3. Most of the passengers are standing. Why should i pay 100 to stand. It defeats logic. I'd rather be up early to avoid these inconviniences. I don't know why, but until the entire city transport is rationalized, this remains just but another white elephant.

U missed the point, the target market is the motorists from Athiriver, Machakos and its environs. The wo/man who will park his/her car board the train save the fuel and time that he would have spent on traffic. Its not the man who even if he's charged 10/- he will wait for it at the corner to dandia it.

2. You dont have to work around railway, but u can board a bus to ur office/town etc from railways.

3. Commuter rails and buses in major cities around the world have provision for standing some people dont like sitting..if the train is full and u have to get to work, simama...kwani?

You gave an example of you being early and enjoyn ur luxury, that is ur choice...others will choose otherwise. Soon, it will be very expensive to have ur car in the city, with the intro of tolls, traffic fines, fuel levy and high parking fees..reli mtapanda

i dont think the railway parking at syokimau is free...we need the numbers to compare..
The railway is NOT at syokimau but KAPA, meaning even syokimau residents have to walk or connect a boda boda or drive for 2km only to leave their cars and pay for parking,then upon reaching railway station in nairobi, walk another 2km/ connect to upper hill or viewpark towers and do the same in the evening...
fare from mlolongo/ athi river/ kite/syokimau to town is 70-80bob. if u connect to railway at syoki then 20-30bob, then pay 100, then stand to to c.b.d........d'oh!
i dont get it...its a white elephant....Sad

...what about time wasted on the traffic jam??atleast its a start bana btw i,d b comfy standing 20-25 mins if it,l save me hrz wasted on jam...how lng ds it take 1 to drive from harambee avenue all the way to that pedestrian bridge at the beginning of M-road during rush hour??usually double the time it,l take me to reach my destination using the train...they should work on increasing the frequency,making it efficient,safe and reliable...it,l take sometime but eventually we will get there...
#25 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 1:48:23 PM

Mkimwa wrote:

I am bullish on this one... It is priced for the guy who drives and works in CBD, not the guy who takes a matatu. It will make economic and time sense for that guy. For the guys who take Matatus at the moment, please continue using the matatu.

The only flow is - when did mass transport system (rail) start targeting the driving class?

I think they should have more regular trains though, I don't think one train during peak hours is enough.

...when we privitaised a national corporation...its all bt SWM now...mnyongee hana chake.
mibbz
#26 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 1:55:40 PM

i also believe RVR is a bit greedy on this one,100 bob one way or 200 bob return plus 100 bob parking is a high price to pay for standing,inconvenience and connecting to other parts of the city.considering matatu is 70-80 one way and 160 return by matatu is more cheaper than 300 return by train and car.and during rush hour fare goes to 120 one way by train.....my price point would be 50bob one way,100 return so as to make it appeal to a larger population.
mibbz
#27 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 1:59:30 PM

and if you listened to the ministers speech its target includes those in the matatus as he said a simple 100 matatus would be off the road per rail trip.
were it my product 50 bob one way would be my price point then i would introduce a classier/vip cabin for 100 bob/trip
rock
#28 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 2:03:26 PM

Mkimwa wrote:

Si guys can COMPLAIN..how many trains would you have preferred for this pilot project??
Chaka
#29 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 3:28:17 PM

mibbz wrote:
and if you listened to the ministers speech its target includes those in the matatus as he said a simple 100 matatus would be off the road per rail trip.
were it my product 50 bob one way would be my price point then i would introduce a classier/vip cabin for 100 bob/trip

If 100 matrees will be off the road,then 200 people(drivers and manamba)will be out of work.
If this is so,these guys will change profession and become pickpockets... and will form part of the standing passengers daily..?
#30 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 3:59:04 PM

maina20 wrote:
githundi wrote:
From the face of it, the prices look unrealistic. Most users of rail transport are watu wa kawaida, the guy who waits for fares to go down.1. Wrong target market. 2. Not many people work around the rail transport, and i don't think they will be willing to walk up and down the city. I mean why do people buy cars; convinience, ease of movement and comfort. 3. Most of the passengers are standing. Why should i pay 100 to stand. It defeats logic. I'd rather be up early to avoid these inconviniences. I don't know why, but until the entire city transport is rationalized, this remains just but another white elephant.

U missed the point, the target market is the motorists from Athiriver, Machakos and its environs. The wo/man who will park his/her car board the train save the fuel and time that he would have spent on traffic. Its not the man who even if he's charged 10/- he will wait for it at the corner to dandia it.

2. You dont have to work around railway, but u can board a bus to ur office/town etc from railways.

3. Commuter rails and buses in major cities around the world have provision for standing some people dont like sitting..if the train is full and u have to get to work, simama...kwani?

You gave an example of you being early and enjoyn ur luxury, that is ur choice...others will choose otherwise. Soon, it will be very expensive to have ur car in the city, with the intro of tolls, traffic fines, fuel levy and high parking fees..reli mtapanda

i dont think the railway parking at syokimau is free...we need the numbers to compare..
The railway is NOT at syokimau but KAPA, meaning even syokimau residents have to walk or connect a boda boda or drive for 2km only to leave their cars and pay for parking,then upon reaching railway station in nairobi, walk another 2km/ connect to upper hill or viewpark towers and do the same in the evening...
fare from mlolongo/ athi river/ kite/syokimau to town is 70-80bob. if u connect to railway at syoki then 20-30bob, then pay 100, then stand to to c.b.d........d'oh!
i dont get it...its a white elephant....Sad

Its in todays or yesterdays news that the govt is thinking of increasing the fuel levy, soon that 50/60/80 will not be enough for that mat...then with the weather, which matatu doesnt hike fares?

Stop looking at life today, toll ikiwekwa these mats will not want to pay that, the smart mat/bus operator is the one who will manage to capitalize from this opportunity, time people at railways, - city shuttle.

Nai will be like NY...in some years to come.
#31 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:22:32 PM

Wont some of this target need to use matatu/bodaboda/motorbikes to and from the railway station to thier abode therby increasing the cost of transport used in a day?
#32 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:24:19 PM

rock wrote:
Caveat passenger: 70 seated + 120 standing in each coach must be a pickpockets wet dream!

Like button iko wapi, hapo sasa, kwanza wadosi!

mfadhili
#33 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:31:46 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
guru267 wrote:
eboomerang wrote:
What is the cost of using a mat since the expected train ride prices are unrealistic, or who are expected to use these trains at that price?

@eboomerang the trains are meant for motorists.. The prices are cheaper than fuel + parking fees in town combined!

Have you factored in the cost from Nairobi Railway station to my office(Westlands)Sad

Kenyans are pecular indeed!

one way or the other u will still have to go to westlands. in your case its a matter of how cheap will it be etting to town
mkeiyd
#34 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:43:25 PM

the only drawback on this is the 100bob fare. otherwise it makes a lot of sense time wise. how long does it take to find park after 10 in the morning in town?how long does it on the road?
About having different classes of fares,that would be beating the whole logic of MASS urban transport.
Whether its a tube or a subway, the brits/americans stand or has our middle class gotten richer than those two?
#35 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:57:16 PM

mfadhili wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
guru267 wrote:
eboomerang wrote:
What is the cost of using a mat since the expected train ride prices are unrealistic, or who are expected to use these trains at that price?

@eboomerang the trains are meant for motorists.. The prices are cheaper than fuel + parking fees in town combined!

Have you factored in the cost from Nairobi Railway station to my office(Westlands)Sad

one way or the other u will still have to go to westlands. in your case its a matter of how cheap will it be etting to town

There is no matatu that plies msard westlands route
DtheK
#36 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 5:06:57 PM

I thought I saw that guy of matatu welfare during the launch,he would not be doing his job if he did not try to influence the price(upwards).
Where else is rail transport targeted at the middle class?
And the thing is govt owned aren't cheaper fares to their advantage,inflation and all.
Just doesn't make sense.
#37 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 12:59:59 AM

mkeiyd wrote:
the only drawback on this is the 100bob fare. otherwise it makes a lot of sense time wise. how long does it take to find park after 10 in the morning in town?how long does it on the road?
About having different classes of fares,that would be beating the whole logic of MASS urban transport.
Whether its a tube or a subway, the brits/americans stand or has our middle class gotten richer than those two?

...We need to do a practical study on the viability of ths thing hakuna mtu anaishi mahali huko awe case study for a week we make a comparison of how much they save if they use the train instead of a car to and fro...and the car shouldnt be a vitz.
#38 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 6:15:15 AM

mkeiyd wrote:

...We need to do a practical study on the viability of ths thing hakuna mtu anaishi mahali huko awe case study for a week we make a comparison of how much they save if they use the train instead of a car to and fro...and the car shouldnt be a vitz.

Fuel from Syokimau to and fro = 300 + parking fees 150. (note this is not a rainy day) and if u have a guzzler ur likely to be spending more, so what is 200/- for a hustle free ride?
chiaroscuro
#39 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 7:58:24 AM

mfadhili wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
guru267 wrote:
eboomerang wrote:

There is no matatu that plies msard westlands route

Yeah!

I remember one time when I worked near Airtel centre and had to go to Westlands... First matatu took me to Central Bus Station, then had to walk all the way to Fire Station Roundabout to the the Westy mat.

It will be the same for those using the new rail. So G-G's point doesn't hold water!
Muheani
#40 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 8:06:39 AM

mkeiyd wrote:

Fuel from Syokimau to and fro = 300 + parking fees 150. (note this is not a rainy day) and if u have a guzzler ur likely to be spending more, so what is 200/- for a hustle free ride?

I use this road frequently every day. What you have described is a scenario not very common on MSA rd? unless U are a mid day or weekend person

but i agree.... 100/120 bob is a little on the higher side