wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

11 Pages123>»
Syokimau Railway Line
eboomerang
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 10:36:34 AM

Any one with pictures??

Is this a new rail line or is it an existing line with new a station?

What is the cost of using a mat since the expected train ride prices are unrealistic, or who are expected to use these trains at that price?

A one-way ticket will cost Sh100. The Syokimau stop has a parking lot for 2,500 vehicles. Motorists will be charged Sh300 — Sh200 for a two-way ticket and Sh100 for parking at the secure grounds.

The articles in the newspaper do not give proper details and the picture looks like it was taken with a Nokia 3310.

#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 11:10:16 AM

eboomerang wrote:
Any one with pictures??

Is this a new rail line or is it an existing line with new a station?
With the station’s construction and the laying of 2.2 kilometres of new railway tracks linking the station to the Nairobi-Mombasa line, the Syokimau station is a first in many ways

What is the cost of using a mat since the expected train ride prices are unrealistic, or who are expected to use these trains at that price?

A one-way ticket will cost Sh100. The Syokimau stop has a parking lot for 2,500 vehicles. Motorists will be charged Sh300 — Sh200 for a two-way ticket and Sh100 for parking at the secure grounds.
This cost seems abit too high

The articles in the newspaper do not give proper details and the picture looks like it was taken with a Nokia 3310.

#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 4:25:56 PM

eboomerang wrote:

@eboomerang the trains are meant for motorists.. The prices are cheaper than fuel + parking fees in town combined!
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 4:57:15 PM

Assuming u drive from syokimau to town daily how much does it cost in terms of fuel and parking per month??

Do they also have other stations where they drop or pick passngers apart from syokimau and town???
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 5:45:12 PM

dossy7 wrote:
Assuming u drive from syokimau to town daily how much does it cost in terms of fuel and parking per month??

Fuel is about 500-1000 per day and parking in town is 250shs per day!
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 5:46:52 PM

guru267 wrote:
eboomerang wrote:

@eboomerang the trains are meant for motorists.. The prices are cheaper than fuel + parking fees in town combined!

Have you factored in the cost from Nairobi Railway station to my office(Westlands)Sad
#7 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 8:23:26 PM

It sure will make economic sense for motorists esp those that park at railways. However there are many other reasons for driving to town e.g. Partying and staying late in town or running errands. That said, I want a ride.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 8:34:13 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
guru267 wrote:
eboomerang wrote:

Have you factored in the cost from Nairobi Railway station to my office(Westlands)Sad

Kenyans are pecular indeed!

githundi
#9 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 9:12:09 PM

From the face of it, the prices look unrealistic. Most users of rail transport are watu wa kawaida, the guy who waits for fares to go down.1. Wrong target market. 2. Not many people work around the rail transport, and i don't think they will be willing to walk up and down the city. I mean why do people buy cars; convinience, ease of movement and comfort. 3. Most of the passengers are standing. Why should i pay 100 to stand. It defeats logic. I'd rather be up early to avoid these inconviniences. I don't know why, but until the entire city transport is rationalized, this remains just but another white elephant.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
rock
#10 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 9:27:53 PM

Major places within the city need to be interconnected for it to be effective.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 10:37:45 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
guru267 wrote:
eboomerang wrote:

So you want the railway extended to your office?
#12 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 11:13:19 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
guru267 wrote:
eboomerang wrote:

Ouch !
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:12:50 AM

aemathenge wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
guru267 wrote:
eboomerang wrote:

Ouch !

I'm with Gekko on this one...
Wrong target market... they should have aimed at the commonest mwananchi first...

How much is fare from Kitengela to tao...?
Who are the targeted residents? guys from Kite, southlands?

Why would one leave the car miles away(safety), get dropped at Railways then figure out how to get to the office at viewpark towers/westie/ museum area?(convenience)
They should have targeted guys who wont have to worry about
letting Toyota 'Hotcakes' from their sites...
commuters comfortable walking from railways to say UoN
people who dont have meetings here n there in the course of the day, mostly at the desk...
#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:26:37 AM

githundi wrote:
From the face of it, the prices look unrealistic. Most users of rail transport are watu wa kawaida, the guy who waits for fares to go down.1. Wrong target market. 2. Not many people work around the rail transport, and i don't think they will be willing to walk up and down the city. I mean why do people buy cars; convinience, ease of movement and comfort. 3. Most of the passengers are standing. Why should i pay 100 to stand. It defeats logic. I'd rather be up early to avoid these inconviniences. I don't know why, but until the entire city transport is rationalized, this remains just but another white elephant.

U missed the point, the target market is the motorists from Athiriver, Machakos and its environs. The wo/man who will park his/her car board the train save the fuel and time that he would have spent on traffic. Its not the man who even if he's charged 10/- he will wait for it at the corner to dandia it.

2. You dont have to work around railway, but u can board a bus to ur office/town etc from railways.

3. Commuter rails and buses in major cities around the world have provision for standing some people dont like sitting..if the train is full and u have to get to work, simama...kwani?

You gave an example of you being early and enjoyn ur luxury, that is ur choice...others will choose otherwise. Soon, it will be very expensive to have ur car in the city, with the intro of tolls, traffic fines, fuel levy and high parking fees..reli mtapanda
Um Sayala
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 10:53:27 AM

githundi wrote:

U missed the point, the target market is the motorists from Athiriver, Machakos and its environs. The wo/man who will park his/her car board the train save the fuel and time that he would have spent on traffic. Its not the man who even if he's charged 10/- he will wait for it at the corner to dandia it.

2. You dont have to work around railway, but u can board a bus to ur office/town etc from railways.

3. Commuter rails and buses in major cities around the world have provision for standing some people dont like sitting..if the train is full and u have to get to work, simama...kwani?

You gave an example of you being early and enjoyn ur luxury, that is ur choice...others will choose otherwise. Soon, it will be very expensive to have ur car in the city, with the intro of tolls, traffic fines, fuel levy and high parking fees..reli mtapanda

@ Muchir...Hapo umenena kama prophetess Syokimau.
Going long term reli ndio njia. nataka kuinvest on a new route. Katani-syokimau estate- Syoki railway stn and back.
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
chiaroscuro
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 11:21:59 AM

why are people reasoning as if this service is in the planning stages? Just simply walk to the CBD railway station at arrival/departure times and see if there are people using it!

All the marketing theories presented here mean nothing!

The service is on and all you need to is find out if there are people using it.

Remember; it carries only 1,200 people per trip. Compare that to the estimated 1.5 million who enter the CBD each working day
rock
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 11:31:10 AM

Caveat passenger: 70 seated + 120 standing in each coach must be a pickpockets wet dream!
chiaroscuro
#18 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 11:31:27 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:
why are people reasoning as if this service is in the planning stages? Just simply walk to the CBD railway station at arrival/departure times and see if there are people using it!

All the marketing theories presented here mean nothing!

The service is on and all you need to is find out if there are people using it.

Remember; it carries only 1,200 people per trip. Compare that to the estimated 1.5 million who enter the CBD each working day

FYI: If I lived in that side of town, I'd use it daily to go to work instead of driving to town... and I work near the university of Nairobi
maina20
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 11:43:15 AM

githundi wrote:

i dont think the railway parking at syokimau is free...we need the numbers to compare..
The railway is NOT at syokimau but KAPA, meaning even syokimau residents have to walk or connect a boda boda or drive for 2km only to leave their cars and pay for parking,then upon reaching railway station in nairobi, walk another 2km/ connect to upper hill or viewpark towers and do the same in the evening...
fare from mlolongo/ athi river/ kite/syokimau to town is 70-80bob. if u connect to railway at syoki then 20-30bob, then pay 100, then stand to to c.b.d........d'oh!
i dont get it...its a white elephant....Sad

..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 11:53:00 AM

White Elephant is too strong a word for this. But the fare is a bit on the higher side. Can someone give a feedback on the current state of utilization?