wazua Sun, Jul 27, 2025

Lets Talk Marketing
ChessMaster
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 2:28:07 PM

I think we need to start a marketing thread.
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
ChessMaster
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 2:31:04 PM

Marketing is the process of communicating the value of a product or service to customers(Wikipedia). Are you effectively communicating value to your employers,customers,partners,stakeholders?
ChessMaster
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 2:56:51 PM

Communication means transferring information from yourself to others.This information could be thoughts, messages and feelings among others. The problem is that communication is subjective. It's not what you say,it's what people hear!! Value is both subjective and contextual. People value things differently and different situations change the value of an object.In marketing yourself,product or service what strategies do take to communicate your value(potential and real) in a way that resonates with your audience?
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 4:58:41 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
Marketing is the process of communicating the value of a product or service to customers

That's not 100% correct. Marketing could also be letting people know you have a product without communicating it's value. E.g. When a matatu stops and the condi calls you (that's marketing) but he doesn't promise you great seats, an enjoyable ride or that he'll take you to your destination.

For that I like the CIM definition: Marketing is the management process responsible for identifying, anticipating and satisfying customer requirements profitably.

ChessMaster
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 5:52:44 PM

Marketing is the management process responsible for identifying, anticipating and satisfying customer requirements profitably.
What does the profitably mean? Is it to generate profits or reduce marketing expenses? I ask because of NGO's and other not for profit organizations. But I agree with the rest of the definition.

I think the condi is advertising a product. The value s/he is offering is implied - transport by a car or get a boda boda or walk.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 07, 2012 12:04:03 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
Marketing is the management process responsible for identifying, anticipating and satisfying customer requirements profitably.
What does the profitably mean? Is it to generate profits or reduce marketing expenses? I ask because of NGO's and other not for profit organizations. But I agree with the rest of the definition.

I think the condi is advertising a product. The value s/he is offering is implied - transport by a car or get a boda boda or walk.

I think the definition you've given describes advertising and not marketing. Marketing is about filling a gap. If I put up a kiosk near your home and sell milk to you at 40/- while you can get it at 33/- at the supermarket, I will be hoping that it would be an expensive inconvenience for you to burn fuel or take a matatu to the super to buy milk. I will not have to advertise and you may even complain but you will/might buy. That's marketing.

On profit, your business will not survive unless it's making a profit. If you are a monopoly like KPLC you don't have to run a customer focused system because the customer doesn't have real choice but things might turn around like they did for Telkom and your customers ditch you.

Remember the 4/7 Ps of marketing?

#7 Posted : Thursday, November 08, 2012 12:33:54 PM

The most important thing which I learnt from marketing and which you should remember if you forget everything else is, 'perceived value must always be higher than the price value'. If you maintain this I believe you'll always be in business.

Drunkard
#8 Posted : Thursday, November 08, 2012 8:16:35 PM

The next thing ChessMaster will say is, "I have a marketing consulting business, I can help you increase sales by 600% in a a month".
#9 Posted : Friday, November 09, 2012 1:19:54 AM

The most important thing which I learnt from marketing and which you should remember if you forget everything else is, 'perceived value must always be higher than the price value'. If you maintain this I believe you'll always be in business.

Applause I like

ChessMaster
#10 Posted : Monday, November 12, 2012 5:28:45 AM

@Drunkard - No,I'm not starting a consulting business.I personally think marketing in Kenya is not well understood or effective as it should be.I'm just sharing my thoughts and hoping others will share their thoughts too.

@2012 - Yes I do remember the 4Ps of marketing.I agree perceived value must always be higher than the price value and for me marketing is the main way an organization achieves this. Can we start by differentiating between marketing and advertising? Let's go with your definition of marketing which I find is better, at the heart of which lies value for both customer and company.For now lets exclude NGO's and other similar organizations. When it comes to advertising,I see it as one of the most dominant methods by which organizations communicate to their customers.What role do you think it plays and how effective do you think it is in Kenya and possibly why?
#11 Posted : Monday, November 12, 2012 8:44:34 AM

ChessMaster wrote:
When it comes to advertising,I see it as one of the most dominant methods by which organizations communicate to their customers.What role do you think it plays and how effective do you think it is in Kenya and possibly why?

I agree with you. Advertising especially in Kenya is critical. People might not know it and most will even deny that they've been influenced by advertising on their purchase but her's evidence on influence of advertising, if you are looking for a product or service you are most likely to purchase one that you saw an advert on over one that you haven't seen even if it is of a lower quality. Advertising in my view acts as public endorsement of a product or service. Think of anything eg bread, banks, airlines, cooking oil, fuel etc and I can bet you the ones that come to mind first are the advertised ones. The message is very critical and can be your best weapon eg EA Cables - wire si wire will make you not want to take a risk wiring your house with any other brand while there can be other superior brands.

Danny Young
#12 Posted : Monday, November 12, 2012 1:56:22 PM

So..how do you distinguish between marketing and advertising?
Meet me at the top its less crowded up there
#13 Posted : Monday, November 12, 2012 2:50:33 PM

Danny Young wrote:
So..how do you distinguish between marketing and advertising?

Advertising is a subdivision in marketing. The primary 4P's of marketing illustrate this well - product, place, promotion, price. (Secondary - process, people, physical evidence)

So you come up with the product/service, look for where it's needed (place/location) eg you're more likely to sell more water in a residential area served by Nairobi City Council than one served by a borehole, or don't open a kiosk next to Nakumatt or Uchumi. Advertising comes under promotion it's what you intend your prospective/current customers to know or believe about your product/service. And price is pretty obvious.

#14 Posted : Monday, November 12, 2012 3:13:04 PM

Marketing imo is about the product and how you position and promote it.

Advertising is one among many ways of doing exactly that.

Now my questions.

1.Why do many Kenyan companies market only when they need customers? Marketing ought to be an ongoing process if anyone is keen on building a brand for themselves.

2. Can aggressive marketing become a nuisance.
I find it so at times esp if the method used is boring.

3. Which marketing strategy is most effective in AFRICA?

4. Do products sell because of Marketing or Brand?

4. Does Marketing build a Brand or does a Brand make Marketing easier?

brb.
#15 Posted : Monday, November 12, 2012 4:35:59 PM

I like your simple definition too. As a marketer, let me try and answer your question to my knowledge. It's not a science and every marketer would have what they prefer.

1.Why do many Kenyan companies market only when they need customers? Marketing ought to be an ongoing process if anyone is keen on building a brand for themselves.

Most companies in Kenya have a marketing budget which the marketers in the company direct to above-the-line. This is expensive and most budgets can't sustain 12 months so they go to media experts who advise them on how to spread (mostly around December).

2. Can aggressive marketing become a nuisance.
I find it so at times esp if the method used is boring.

Unfortunately, a nuisance is not considered to be bad, it's better than no presence at all. Sadly, due to 'limited budgets' most companies produce one set of communication and re-use it over and over. They forget that the customer is not an idiot.

3. Which marketing strategy is most effective in AFRICA?

To get people to talk about your brand positively is the best strategy be it through PR, advertising, sales reps etc.
But if you are asking about advertising strategy then tv, newsprint, magazines and direct mailers would be the best.

4. Do products sell because of Marketing or Brand?

Some products will move despite the brand because of demand, price, place, promotion. When you go to the supermarket, there are many brand names selling eggs but you'll choose the cheapest. You are likely to sell more Tuskers during a Tusker only promo as some will temporarily relocate from Keroche, Castle and other EABL products.
That said, a brand is the best way of selling anything you hope to get repeat customers on.

5. Does Marketing build a Brand or does a Brand make Marketing easier?

Marketing always builds the brand to make it easy to market. A brand in simple terms is 'the promise'.

#16 Posted : Monday, November 12, 2012 5:07:46 PM

Great and thanks.
Scenario: Multinational company and local partner.
Each has their own budget, but share profits.

The partner expects the corporate to cover local marketing costs.
Reason> They bear their brand name.
In short they are promoting the corporate Brand which stands to gain more in exposure than the partner.

The corporate on the other hand insists that it's not their biz take care of marketing costs on behalf of partner even though it's their name on the market.The partner is riding on their Brand name which is big enough to sell.

A tug of war.What would you advice?

ChessMaster
#17 Posted : Monday, November 12, 2012 6:01:10 PM

I think another problem marketing departments face is justifying expenses to finance departments. Marketing is qualitative and finance is quantitative.In the developed economies its not so much an issue of aggressive marketing as it is an issue of intrusion and invasion of privacy.

@Essyk - I think the corporate is right, even generous. The partner is being given an opportunity to profit from the corporate brand. How much or little they benefit from the brand is dependent on their own effort. Thats how I see it. I think they are generous because they are giving the partner leeway to design its marketing strategy which could negatively harm the brand of the corporate.
#18 Posted : Monday, November 12, 2012 6:23:30 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
I think another problem marketing departments face is justifying expenses to finance departments. Marketing is qualitative and finance is quantitative.In the developed economies its not so much an issue of aggressive marketing as it is an issue of intrusion and invasion of privacy.

Exactly what I am talking about.Some aggression makes you turn down the volume or switch off.
It's forcing your products down my throat.
Esp here.We suck at marketing and instead become annoying and irritating. Now add product ignorance to that!
Why not come up with a great strategy that will leave a lasting impression instead of leaving all to media houses who in turn bombard us with stale repeats.
I am not sure if that is what they call Emotional Marketing.

@Essyk - I think the corporate is right, even generous. The partner is being given an opportunity to profit from the corporate brand. How much or little they benefit from the brand is dependent on their own effort. Thats how I see it. I think they are generous because they are giving the partner leeway to design its marketing strategy which could negatively harm the brand of the corporate.

Noted and copied.Sorry but I will make use of those very words in an upcoming event.smile
At times partners cry foul wanting want to ride on the corporate's budget.Esp in matters Branding.
You put it so well.

#19 Posted : Monday, November 12, 2012 7:21:09 PM

Somebody told me that, You can have Marketing without Branding but you cannot have Branding without Marketing.

How true is that?
ChessMaster
#20 Posted : Monday, November 12, 2012 8:30:25 PM

Marketing is such a powerful force but very undervalued.The problem is our organizations are in spending their time trying to sell you a product and not investing time in getting you what you want to buy,where you want it and how you want it. This needs a lot of investment in research and development which is almost non-existent in Kenya. I wish I live to see patent wars in Kenya.

Emotional marketing is basically using emotional triggers to influence your buying choices. For example, with men you use his pride as a trigger thus purchasing a product that reinforces his pride("Are you ready to join the table of Men?"lol). With women you use insecurity and thus purchasing a product acts as a reassurance towards a certain insecurity.

Like 2012 said a brand is like a promise or a self-imprinted stamp of quality. I don't think you can successfully communicate your brand concept with a clear marketing strategy,at the least because a brand goes beyond the product.