Raila says no to Athletes Taxation
#11 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 10:10:50 AM

FundamentAli wrote:
@ King, enlighten me brother....the amount the athletes earned is taxed in the foreign country, right? Why tax the same amount here? What if the same athletes opened accounts in a foreign country, and deposited that money there to later do bank transfers?

@ Nostop,

The athletes are not taxed if the tax paid is equivalent to what would have been paid here. If a country has a tax rate of say 20% and Kenya's taxation is 30%, Njiraini will come for the balance of 10%. However, if they were taxed at 30% in the country of the meet, Njiraini gets zero.

ad if they were taxed at 60%, Njiraini still gets zero, sindio?

Then I really do not see why the PM had to go around mentioning this...he would have just explained it like you just did...

yes
#12 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 10:37:47 AM

FundamentAli wrote:
@ King, enlighten me brother....the amount the athletes earned is taxed in the foreign country, right? Why tax the same amount here? What if the same athletes opened accounts in a foreign country, and deposited that money there to later do bank transfers?

@ Nostop,

The athletes are not taxed if the tax paid is equivalent to what would have been paid here. If a country has a tax rate of say 20% and Kenya's taxation is 30%, Njiraini will come for the balance of 10%. However, if they were taxed at 30% in the country of the meet, Njiraini gets zero.

Then I really do not see why the PM had to go around mentioning this...he would have just explained it like you just did...

yes

Most Countries have a higher tax rate than Kenya, They should get a tax credit for future meets if taxed above Kenyan rates
#13 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 10:37:58 AM

Paying tax is a honorable thing to do. It is your duty to the nation to pay tax.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 10:39:58 AM

FundamentAli wrote:

@ Nostop,

yes

Most Countries have a higher tax rate than Kenya, They should get a tax credit for future meets if taxed above Kenyan rates

Looks like this is a non-issue in Kenya...the countries these athletes go to earn their monies most probably have higher taxes...
villageseer
#15 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 10:44:06 AM

Why do you waste your time in quoting what Raila says or do!

Haven't you seen how the government and its parastatals' officials ignores his pronouncements, day-in and day-out without any reprimands!

#16 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 11:00:24 AM

gesowan wrote:
i pay atleast 30% of my income,why should they not pay .....These are some of the reasons I fear about our leadership everyone must pay taxes "kulipa ushuru ni kujitegemea".
if not that they can stop using public facilities ....i am very fear full ,and i insist i am proud to pay my taxes

...personally the ITA is one of the clearest acts in terms of understanding I hv come across,the person who should put an end to this hullabaloo is Njiraini himself let him come out openly and say if athletes do pay taxes,if they dont let him apply the act to the letter there is no favouritsm in matters taxes,everybody should pay.
eboomerang
#17 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 11:13:57 AM

I'm dismayed by how this fellow plays his politics, wasn't he the same person who during last election period was pledging that people in north eastern Kenya would have their livestock insured by the government? and recently (sometime this year) somewhere in Lamu he was saying that they plan to convert Lamu to look and operate like Dubai ?

Kenya's population, stands at ~40M people, what fraction of them are professional athletes? Of all the information he has access to as a PM, are athletes the best candidates for tax breaks (if that is the intention)?

Hardly makes sense of anything...
#18 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 11:19:37 AM

The rink, the context and the exact words used please????

@gesowan, you care to answer me???

....almost 20 posts now and nobody wanna answer this????
#19 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 12:26:09 PM

Wewe wacha, tulisikia sauti ya pamba kwa radio asubuhi!

Just admit that was a bad pronouncement. OAR goes overboard most of the times!
#20 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 12:57:27 PM

Wewe wacha, tulisikia sauti ya pamba kwa radio asubuhi!

Just admit that was a bad pronouncement. OAR goes overboard most of the times!

Ndio hii...

http://www.citizennews.c...ts-on-athletes-taxation

and

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/137epx3/-/index.html

he has however clarified in the video about double taxation - every one seems to be clear on that