wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

Multi-million dollar Thika Road Mall sneak peek
Suspended Account
#1 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 7:39:08 AM

#2 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 8:43:10 AM

@Suspended, only that? That is what i would have to call waste of precious land space. I had expected a ka-sarit or west gate building there.

Or is it that the Lower Middle class (or Upper Lower class) can't sustain the sarit class of shopping?

#3 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 9:32:23 AM

This is a joke, right? Looks like a go-down.

#4 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 9:45:00 AM

From the design am seeing a waste of space because there is a parking lot on the roof. let the parking be downstairs so that there can be open air restaurant at the top and even a swimming pool. my suggestion that is.
rock
#5 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 9:57:19 AM

What an eyesore! It will stain our beloved kenyan wonderSad
Jitahidi
#6 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 10:03:00 AM

And Tuskys are currently building Tuskys Mall at Garden Estate near Blue Spring Hotel, less than 2kms from Nakumatt's mall. Then Uchumi is walking distance away. Why go to the same place?
jerry
#7 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 10:11:48 AM

Jitahidi wrote:
And Tuskys are currently building Tuskys Mall at Garden Estate near Blue Spring Hotel, less than 2kms from Nakumatt's mall. Then Uchumi is walking distance away. Why go to the same place?

Let them compete to the advantage of us;shoppers.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#8 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 10:24:16 AM

If this is what you call multi-million then it must be worth 2 million!

#9 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 10:32:28 AM

Jitahidi wrote:

maybe there is a big pool of customers. Just like Nakumatt and Uchumi
#10 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 11:54:32 AM

Jitahidi wrote:

maybe there is a big pool of customers. Just like Nakumatt and Uchumi

And Actis is building a giant mall right opposite at the Eabl land.
GGK
#11 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 12:36:55 PM

There is an ocean on the left hand side.....
Its also going to be constructed?
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#12 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 1:40:49 PM

@Suspended, only that? That is what i would have to call waste of precious land space. I had expected a ka-sarit or west gate building there.

Or is it that the Lower Middle class (or Upper Lower class) can't sustain the sarit class of shopping?

So you are calling the thousands of Kenyans who own their homes at Thome, kahawa sukari, garden estate, membrey, ruiru, kasarani, Safaripark etc and drive their own cars as lower class? Those must be the people the mall is targeting, and the 80,000 motorists who use Thika rd everyday, not the residents of githurai.
#13 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 2:31:40 PM

Good idea but poor design. And the ocean hhhhm lake to the right might just be a swimming pool.

About competition, there are always customers for supermarkets. Tuskys buru came and Uchumi almost went under but now they are at par despite being 50 metres apart.

even the lower middle class shop on amonthly basis.
#14 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 3:23:33 PM

So you are calling the thousands of Kenyans who own their homes at Thome, kahawa sukari, garden estate, membrey, ruiru, kasarani, Safaripark etc and drive their own cars as lower class? Those must be the people the mall is targeting, and the 80,000 motorists who use Thika rd everyday, not the residents of githurai.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

FYI, owning a house doesn't make you upper class.

If the target market was anything better than Lower Middle Class, there would have been a Java, deacons, brew bistro et. al. there.

Nanyuki Mall (Nakumatt Nanyuki) is much much much better than this warehouse!

That warehouse surely targets probox owners from Githurai (44 & 45), Roysambu, Kasarani, K-West, Zimmerman, Marurui residents.

#15 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 3:50:06 PM

wilmary estate where a single unit goes for 25million is opposite tuskys mall is already full and it seems they are adding more houses.supermarkets must done some research before embarking on their investments.for 25million one can get a quiet neighborhood all that hooting by PSVs
Jitahidi
#16 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 4:26:46 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

If the target market was anything better than Lower Middle Class, there would have been a Java, deacons, brew bistro et. al. there.

Nanyuki Mall (Nakumatt Nanyuki) is much much much better than this warehouse!That warehouse surely targets probox owners from Githurai (44 & 45), Roysambu, Kasarani, K-West, Zimmerman, Marurui residents.

Shame on you Shame on you
@ dunkang wacha matusi & be real! Owning a house in Thika rd is better than paying rent in Buru or Donholm.
Ofcourse you dont expect this mall to match Nanyuki Mall. A friend of mine who drives to Nanyuki every week tells me there are more white men/women than you would expect in Karen these days
tnai9
#17 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 5:05:00 PM

Jitahidi wrote:

Nanyuki Mall (Nakumatt Nanyuki) is much much much better than this warehouse!That warehouse surely targets probox owners from Githurai (44 & 45), Roysambu, Kasarani, K-West, Zimmerman, Marurui residents.

Shame on you Shame on you
@ dunkang wacha matusi & be real! Owning a house in Thika rd is better than paying rent in Buru or Donholm.
Ofcourse you dont expect this mall to match Nanyuki Mall. A friend of mine who drives to Nanyuki every week tells me there are more white men/women than you would expect in Karen these days

Oh my! the obsession about classes here is shocking. There is more to life than the classes we perceive to belong to. Some of us even lie to ourselves. The reality in life is u can nvr be exactly the same as the other person, even if both of u are in middle-middle-middle class, if such a 'class' exists. So shop in Nakumatt, N1 Mall, Canal walk, Dubai or UK based on what u think ur class recommends. Personally i feel peaceful co-existence with others and a happy family and a fulfilling career are paramount. Of course this is not to say i condone laziness. I agree more with one Barack, that money matters, though its not everything. Between one who bought a probox for cash, and one who is paying 38k pm for a Harrier, who is more at peace? Those are my views.
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
#18 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 8:28:40 AM

@Dunkang

For your Infomation only, Java, Deacons,KFC has all booked and Confirmed space on this mall. So Wacha kupuuza hii mall.
charming soul
#19 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 9:02:37 AM

WELL WELL SAID TNAI9!!!!! I Couldnt agree more with what you feel. It's as though you stole the words right out of my mouth. Asante sana
wanyuru
#20 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 9:12:46 AM

This is a joke, right? Looks like a go-down.

Kweli kabisa. The developer should be dumped in a sea, osama style, for calling this a mall!!