wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

5 Pages123>»
Ongata Rongai - Taking action
sierra
#1 Posted : Monday, September 14, 2009 1:13:00 PM

Thanks to SK for this forum.

I am a Rongai resident and fellow residents will bear me witness that once you settle there you would hardly want to move to other places.

It is also a host to countryside lovers who want to get away from city life over the weekend judging from the amount of traffic on weekends.

I was proud the other weekend when KCB Rongai hosted Safari Rally flagging off but that was when I also realized how much you could be ashamed when the visitors are around. Rongai is in a state of neglect. From the stinking open drainage in town,to the narrow road,unplanned informal businesses,lack of proper sewer system,no street lights,etc..I don’t know who runs Rongai but there is no evidence of any local govt.

Am proposing that as residents we can form a Residents Association like the one formed by the Nairobi business district association so that we can facilitate and support the concerned authorities to foster a positive image of Rongai,raising the concerns of the residents to the relevant authorities e.g. the traffic management at Bomas in the morning,

Also lobby for funds for development of the town e.g. expansion of the roads,building of the markets etc.

Its time we take action and stop waiting for the govt . So if you are a member of Rongai and you are interested in the betterment of our town please post your comments,concerns,proposals and suggestion on how we can meet and start planning.

My email add : srr_mal@yahoo.com.

be yourself
Kioko_Nesa
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 15, 2009 5:50:00 AM

Maybe because its not managed by City council of Nairobi,I hear it is in kajiando.
What do u expect from that fact? no parking fee,no kanjuu chasing hawkers etc

Kioko
Kamaa
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 15, 2009 7:12:00 AM

@kioko_nesa

wewe wacha zako....

'kajiando' ni wapi???

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
skodhe
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 15, 2009 8:32:00 AM

@sierra

I stay in Church Road,count me in

Sleeping like a little baby
sierra
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 15, 2009 9:33:00 AM

@kioko - nesa -

if its the kajiado council then they are not aware of the revenues they are losing,coz am sure people there will not mind to pay 20/= for parking if a space is provided coz right now they are parking by the roadside or at tuskys if they are lucky to find space.

@skodhe -

am glad,about 10 of us will be enough.

be yourself
HUNGRY TIGER
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 15, 2009 11:59:00 AM

good thinking this is,and am a member. just wondering when this road to Narazene will get finished being tarmacked coz it's a big mess right now!

AND THOSE WHO WERE SEEN DANCING WERE THOUGHT TO BE MAD BY THOSE WHO COULD NOT HEAR THE MUSIC
kamaumash
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 15, 2009 1:13:00 PM

That a agood idea,there were plans to move the mkt to another area what happened.

invest slowly on a monthly basis dont wait till ati u get millions
cherubin
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2009 4:22:00 PM

i am also a resident in rongaaa and i am appalled by the waste mgmnt problem in this place.dont even know who the councillor is.count me in.

There Is No Virtue So Trully Great And Good Like Justice!
sierra
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 12:38:00 PM

thx to you who is standing to be counted in am setting a date maybe the following weekend,i'l confirm that. Any suggestions for the venue is welcomed.

be yourself
#10 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2009 11:23:00 PM

excellent!

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
5 Pages123>»