wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

Is MPESA dead?
#21 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 9:05:20 PM

Kenyans are trully peculiar. Facts are thrown out the window the moment they see an advert of beautiful girls singing on top of Mt. Kenya.

Mpesa has never been Kenyan in any way shape or form.

It is also a system that can't pass muster in 95% of the countries in the world.

This was just a hardware malfunction. So what happens when real shit hits the fan. Computers fail. So what about the day it fails for 3 days not the 12 you're miffed about right now.

I still say, this Mpesa thing needs to be regulated. Your country's economy depends on it.

Lakini shauri yenu.
#22 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 9:18:45 PM

alma,ditto.collymore was lying to kenyans when he said engineers in kenya were working on the server in germany-how?
#23 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 9:53:40 PM

@amga &@ Laughing out loudly are right..this thing was Kenyan
#24 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 10:42:57 PM

digitek1 wrote:
@amga &@ Laughing out loudly are right..this thing was Kenyan

Rink?
#25 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 9:27:39 AM

Kenyan’s are a tolerant lot. This thing breaks down like three times a month and we just take the s**t and inconvenience. Peculiar habits indeed!
Kanjora1
#26 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 1:10:14 PM

Ash Ock wrote:
amga wrote:
@kanjora1, stop joking mpesa was fully developed in Kenya, check your history mr

Wrong.

MPesa was designed and developed by Sagentia UK on behalf of VODAFONE UK with no input from SAFCON. The only thing SAFCON did was implement the system after SAFCON was forced into it (MJ was initially against MPesa as he reportedly stated that SAFCON was a telecommunication company and not a bank). The full intellectual rights for Mpesa do not belong to SAFCON, who have to pay a quarterly license fee to Vodafone UK.

You can read the correct history here.

Ditto! Huyu @amga should know history.

Mpesa, I repeat, is not Kenyan! Safcom doesn't even have any shareholding in Mpesa. In fact last financial year (year ending March) Safcom paid Vodafone plc about Ksh.1.9B as license fee for the use of Mpesa. They have even been trying to renegotiate this fee and also the possibility of transferring the platform to Kenya from Germany which they say might happen in the next 2 years. Read the following http://www.businessdaily.../-/epqqvh/-/index.html. I hope this will settle the debate!
#27 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 2:04:56 PM

Kanjora1 wrote:
Ash Ock wrote:
amga wrote:
@kanjora1, stop joking mpesa was fully developed in Kenya, check your history mr

Wrong.

MPesa was designed and developed by Sagentia UK on behalf of VODAFONE UK with no input from SAFCON. The only thing SAFCON did was implement the system after SAFCON was forced into it (MJ was initially against MPesa as he reportedly stated that SAFCON was a telecommunication company and not a bank). The full intellectual rights for Mpesa do not belong to SAFCON, who have to pay a quarterly license fee to Vodafone UK.

You can read the correct history here.

Ditto! Huyu @amga should know history.

Mpesa, I repeat, is not Kenyan! Safcom doesn't even have any shareholding in Mpesa. In fact last financial year (year ending March) Safcom paid Vodafone plc about Ksh.1.9B as license fee for the use of Mpesa. They have even been trying to renegotiate this fee and also the possibility of transferring the platform to Kenya from Germany which they say might happen in the next 2 years. Read the following http://www.businessdaily.../-/epqqvh/-/index.html. I hope this will settle the debate!

I believe those who say Mpesa is Kenyan actually mean the idea and maybe software came from Kenya but it ended up having a foreign 'inventor' and owner. They are not disputing that as implemented by Safaricom it is licensed from Vodafone.

One thing we have to realise is that the Kenyan inventor(s) may have actually come up with the idea but that does not mean that Vodafone was also not working on it independently. Maybe someone came up with the idea, pitched it to a Safaricom staff who found it great and brought it to the attention of the senior management who discarded it as they knew Vodafone was already working on the same. I at least know of someone who was working on something like that but before he could approach Safaricom or Zain, Safaricom announced Mpesa. Just shows that some ideas are so obvious there is never a monotony over them.

#28 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 2:29:04 PM

There was no idea or software that was ever created by a Kenyan to start Mpesa. You can take that to the bank.

The idea was there even before there was Safaricom.

Kenyans please, the only thing Kenyan about Mpesa is that you were used as guinea pigs in a system that allows money laundering with ease. Tafakari hayo.
#29 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 2:29:41 PM

@Elder, Mpesa is not Kenyan and has never been. Hata kama ni patriotism. Just because you have a similar idea to my implemented idea doesn't make my idea yours.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 2:36:28 PM

So the story of some techie in Kenya inventing MPESA and selling it/being conned by Safcom is just that- a story?

I thought Mpesa is more of a banking solution than a technical one - the technology involved is nothing new, its just a mini mini mini banking system that just debits and credits accounts and calculates some form of agent commission.
accelriskconsult
#31 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 3:02:46 PM

Kenyan’s are a tolerant lot. This thing breaks down like three times a month and we just take the s**t and inconvenience. Peculiar habits indeed!

Why the excessive anger over Safaricom? We experience power black outs every day (and no one is blowing out the candle on Kenya Power. We experience security lapses every day, but no one is cocking a gun at the Kenya Police. Point is we got used to suffering a long time ago.
#32 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 3:03:13 PM

@Elder, Mpesa is not Kenyan and has never been. Hata kama ni patriotism. Just because you have a similar idea to my implemented idea doesn't make my idea yours.

Have you actually read my post mbloo?
#33 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 4:30:53 PM

Elder wrote:

Why would I respond if I hadn't? Just trying to clarify for you that the Mpesa idea didn't originate in Kenya. You are believing the wrong info.
#34 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 4:51:31 PM

Elder wrote:

Why would I respond if I hadn't? Just trying to clarify for you that the Mpesa idea didn't originate in Kenya. You are believing the wrong info.

Then you have a problem in comprehension.
#35 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 6:27:45 PM

Elder wrote:

Then you have a problem in comprehension.

Hakuna mambo ya maybe. Itikia kufundishwa. If you can't, well then, stick to your beliefs. I rest my case.
#36 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 8:26:32 PM

qooler wrote:
users should have backup servers ( airtel money, yu cash etc)

Ditto.
And they stop all these yapping.

Applause Applause Applause Applause

mozenrat
#37 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 3:41:05 PM

So the story of some techie in Kenya inventing MPESA and selling it/being conned by Safcom is just that- a story?

Yep... just a ridiculous rumour.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 4:58:51 PM

qooler wrote:

Ditto.

and Equity bank account smile smile smile
#39 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 11:09:56 PM

qooler wrote:

Ditto.

and Equity bank account smile smile smile

Plus K-rep and KWIFT too.

#40 Posted : Thursday, November 01, 2012 6:43:07 AM

Impunity,ditto.users should shun mpesa and use western union.