What is happening?
#2 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 4:42:08 PM

server failure in germany.

hata developed countries get blackouts
#3 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 4:59:43 PM

Kenmac,mpesa is not serious.kwani they dont have a back up server?what if the server is bombed?
#4 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 8:58:16 PM

here is a statement from CEO,

Mobile service provider, Safaricom
has reported a complete outage
on its M-PESA money transfer
service.
This follows a power outage on a
Vodafone server in Germany on
Saturday night that damaged
server discs.
Safaricom CEO Bob Collymore
said, "Our technical teams both
here and in Germany are working
to restore normal services as soon
as possible. However, we expect
services to resume later on today.
We regret the inconvenience
caused."

the service is back though.
#5 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 9:50:38 PM

Collymore must have flown his engineers to Germany to work on the server as per his statement.
sitaki.kujulikana
#6 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 9:50:26 AM

mpesa servers are in germany, I don't know much about servers but, no one in kenya can maintain servers - how did we innovate such a highly praised system.
#7 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 10:26:14 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
mpesa servers are in germany, I don't know much about servers but, no one in kenya can maintain servers - how did we innovate such a highly praised system.

I hope that was a question rather than a statement.
wilyum
#8 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 10:40:36 AM

don't the engineers there understand what replication is and disaster recovery sites?

what a shame!!

bonze
#9 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 10:55:57 AM

Caught napping this time.

For a network service this big and critical, an outage that lasted over 12 hours is absolutely unacceptable. It calls for a press conference, not a mere statement released to the media.

The technology out there to mitigate such component failures is so vast and advanced that subscribers must demand explanations and immediate steps to deter such failures onto the future. Our expectations can't be this low.

qooler
#10 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 11:09:46 AM

users should have backup servers ( airtel money, yu cash etc)
Bachuma Gate
#11 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 11:33:57 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

FYI all major firms in kenya, banks, industries etc have complex servers and they are located and maintained here. We have had engineers who can do such work from early 80s. The days of mainframe computers.
DOH
#12 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 12:00:35 PM

This is disaster waiting to happen with clients billions. i hope they have offsite and disaster recovery systems in place
sitaki.kujulikana
#13 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 12:24:42 PM

radio wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

I hope that was a question rather than a statement.

no wonder I scored poorly in English, I meant;
can no one in kenya maintain servers ?
sitaki.kujulikana
#14 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 12:27:49 PM

Bachuma Gate wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

FYI all major firms in kenya, banks, industries etc have complex servers and they are located and maintained here. We have had engineers who can do such work from early 80s. The days of mainframe computers.

why then does safaricom, place such crucial and sensitive data in germany ? I would understand if it was India because of costs, but I am sure an engineer in germany is way more expensive than in kenya
Kanjora1
#15 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 1:13:52 PM

Guys, I think you're getting your nickers in a twist by not appreciating one thing: Mpesa does not belong to Safcom! (This explains how the servers came to be located in Germany). It is wholly owned by Vodafone and in fact Safcom pays dearly for the right to use it. When Mpesa was developed, Vodafone wanted to roll it out in Europe first but the anti-money laundering laws in Europe could not allow them. That's how Kenya got it thru Safcom (thru the parent company) although at the time they did not fully appreciate what a powerful tool it would end up to be.
amga
#16 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 7:01:51 PM

@kanjora1, stop joking mpesa was fully developed in Kenya, check your history mr
Ash Ock
#17 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 7:19:06 PM

amga wrote:
@kanjora1, stop joking mpesa was fully developed in Kenya, check your history mr

Wrong.

MPesa was designed and developed by Sagentia UK on behalf of VODAFONE UK with no input from SAFCON. The only thing SAFCON did was implement the system after SAFCON was forced into it (MJ was initially against MPesa as he reportedly stated that SAFCON was a telecommunication company and not a bank). The full intellectual rights for Mpesa do not belong to SAFCON, who have to pay a quarterly license fee to Vodafone UK.

You can read the correct history here.
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
#18 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 7:40:27 PM

amga wrote:

Mpesa was developed by Vodafone and was first deployed in Kenya. Vodafone own Mpesa, not Safaricom, that's why it's being rolled out in countries like Afghanistan, Tanzania, India, etc, where Vodafone has shareholding in the networks there. Safaricom later on wanted to buy the Kenyan license but Vodafone refused.
#19 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 7:45:04 PM

Ash Ock wrote:
amga wrote:

Wrong.

MPesa was designed and developed by Sagentia UK on behalf of VODAFONE UK with no input from SAFCON. The only thing SAFCON did was implement the system after SAFCON was forced into it (MJ was initially against MPesa as he reportedly stated that SAFCON was a telecommunication company and not a bank). The full intellectual rights for Mpesa do not belong to SAFCON, who have to pay a quarterly license fee to Vodafone UK.

You can read the correct history here.

Ditto! Huyu @amga should know history.
#20 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 7:53:05 PM

So the story of some techie in Kenya inventing MPESA and selling it/being conned by Safcom is just that- a story?