wazua Sat, Jan 18, 2025

8 Pages«<45678>
Safaricom at 4 bob...
#101 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 2:52:53 PM

Bought quite some shares @ IPO and have bravely held onto them. Sell when they get to 5? (loosing on inflation, time and opportunity cost) Whats your advice? Mimi ni kurutu

hisah
#102 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 3:14:45 PM

hisah wrote:
VWAP @4.35/-

5cts away from Morgan Stanley's target. I expect 5/- to be tested by yr end.

VWAP closes @4.45/- with a high of 4.50/- MS target achieved. Demand today is 16x supply. I still see scope of 4.80 - 5/- being hit by Nov 8th as H1 results come in.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#103 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 3:16:52 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
Reading a fair value of KES 4.63. We may see a thread ‘Safaricom 5 Point’

Yet it was rated a sell TP 2.80 just 5 months ago.

Discernment is what Wanjiku has to learn to survive in this casino...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#104 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 3:18:23 PM

Bought quite some shares @ IPO and have bravely held onto them. Sell when they get to 5? (loosing on inflation, time and opportunity cost) Whats your advice? Mimi ni kurutu

Why did you buy or make this IPO investment? When you answer that question then you won't need nobody to tell how to invest.
ProverB
#105 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 4:03:09 PM

You have come this far...don't quit now...u ignored every voice out there..it's not time to listen now. just keep them.. until the day Aly Khan Saatchu's prediction on it getting to 8 bob puns out.. smile

#i'mjussaying.

please hold.. keep ignoring.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
earthvoice
#106 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 4:05:37 PM

hisah wrote:

Why did you buy or make this IPO investment? When you answer that question then you won't need nobody to tell how to invest.

"All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
#107 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 5:09:14 PM

ProverB wrote:

You have come this far...don't quit now...u ignored every voice out there..it's not time to listen now. just keep them.. until the day Aly Khan Saatchu's prediction on it getting to 8 bob puns out.. smile

#i'mjussaying.

please hold.. keep ignoring.

@ProverB Let it be so. Vision 8/=

@hisah Everyone was getting into the mbus, I wasn't going to be left out. Now I'm with Warren Buffet, mass psychology, never ever!

#108 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 6:44:54 PM

Goes to show that not all investors are equal.

People who bought just 5 or 6 months ago are already 50% up on capital gains, add a dividend yield of 10% or so (at KShs 3 per share) and that is 60% already.

You need strategy in this market. Learn when to buy and when to take profits.
#109 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 7:30:52 PM

Goes to show that not all investors are equal.

People who bought just 5 or 6 months ago are already 50% up on capital gains, add a dividend yield of 10% or so (at KShs 3 per share) and that is 60% already.

You need strategy in this market. Learn when to buy and when to take profits.

I'm learning, Boss. I'm learning. And now that you mention it, those dividends haven't yet hit the account.

mazingira
#110 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 11:54:16 PM

I believe with the woes affecting Airtel and YU just being denied use of the M-Pesa Platform, we have an interesting future in this share . I personally have only ever sold one counter that i ever owned due to lack of faith in that share. I believe in the long term investments (in good counters ), buy and forget for ten years , keep re-investing your dividends and should all be okay. POLE POLE TU
Bettertry
#111 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 10:54:18 AM

I empathise with u bt, on another note, looking back had u continued, systematically, to invest in this firm ignoring all the naysayers & red herrings that were all over the place u'd now, comfortably, b in that position that @Sparkly outlined above! Invest time in educating urself as u also invest ur money...
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
gesowan
#112 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 4:04:54 PM

mazingira wrote:
I believe with the woes affecting Airtel and YU just being denied use of the M-Pesa Platform, we have an interesting future in this share . I personally have only ever sold one counter that i ever owned due to lack of faith in that share. I believe in the long term investments (in good counters ), buy and forget for ten years , keep re-investing your dividends and should all be okay. POLE POLE TU

sawa but will Olympia get to 18 which was our entry point and then bot rights at 14 today trading sub 3
#113 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 6:41:58 PM

hisah wrote:
VWAP @4.35/-

VWAP closes @4.45/- with a high of 4.50/- MS target achieved. Demand today is 16x supply. I still see scope of 4.80 - 5/- being hit by Nov 8th as H1 results come in.

Then Wanjikus will flood the market.
#114 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 7:16:06 PM

I think wanjikus exited safcom and those left are not wanjikus as such.
#115 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 12:07:17 AM

gesowan wrote:
mazingira wrote:

sawa but will Olympia get to 18 which was our entry point and then bot rights at 14 today trading sub 3

Unlikely that OCH will get to 18 just so that you can breakeven. Fair value is nowhere near 18. Cut your losses and move on.
#116 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 12:12:46 AM

mlennyma wrote:
I think wanjikus exited safcom and those left are not wanjikus as such.

@mlennyma trust me they are still there... About 800,000 of them!
#117 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 1:29:28 AM

gesowan wrote:
will Olympia get to 18 which was our entry point and then bot rights at 14 today trading sub 3

Maybe someday it will! but investors should learn & know when to cut losses...

In 2010 OCH was trading at 10bob and it was that year they made it obvious to the world that this company was in a pit latrine!

Why didn't you sell with the available info?? I know hindsight vision is 20-20 but you cannot compare the loss @ 10bob & @ 3bob!

My advice is
1. since you lost 84% of your money in OCH sell your shares and get into one of the banks (HFCK,NIC) or insurers(Kenya re, PAI) and break even within 5years...

2. You may also choose to stick with OCH if you believe the directors who dumped their own company will turn things around!
www.businessdailyafrica....ml/-/dx5jfc/-/index.html
hisah
#118 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 8:24:15 AM

hisah wrote:
VWAP @4.35/-

Why will wanjikus flood? They've had 5yrs of harsh punishment. Any wanjiku still standing now gave up or has grown a thick hide!
#119 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 10:47:20 AM

hisah wrote:
VWAP @4.35/-

Why will wanjikus flood? They've had 5yrs of harsh punishment. Any wanjiku still standing now gave up or has grown a thick hide!

...@hisah,flood the market is two sided buy or sell side...@murchr nipande gani?
#120 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 6:51:14 PM

gesowan wrote:
mazingira wrote:

Not as long as matu & friends are running the show.