wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

Kplc Has a Horrible Officer
#21 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 12:15:55 PM

@alma,
Nothing hurts me like a stranger who calls me a liar.....Lucky bastard.If it was me,he would be very dead.
#22 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 12:34:58 PM

Spend.thrift wrote:
What to do? But what more should we expect from a power and lighting company which considers darkness and parafin to be among their main competitors?. I heard this on TV not so long ago.

@Spend.thrift...even James Smart was really disturbed by the fact that an MD can reason like that in the 21st century...felt like really punching him on the face,as I said in a previous post this guys have generators and never face the kindof problems a common mwananchi would face he then doesnt feel the urge to work out things when they go wrong in a fast manner he doesnt know the pain of the pinching shoe.
#23 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 12:47:02 PM

majimaji wrote:
KPLC will only change after the elections, when we have managers managing institutions and not engineers. These engineers do not understand customer needs, their priorities are on the dangling lines. As in the police reforms where the head will be a professional manager deputized by two professional police men/women, it should be like that everywhere.

I disagree on the engineers bit being the problem. The customer care is not manned by engineersShame on you

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you what's wrong with this one, NKT!!!
#24 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 3:15:08 PM

majimaji wrote:
KPLC will only change after the elections, when we have managers managing institutions and not engineers. These engineers do not understand customer needs, their priorities are on the dangling lines. As in the police reforms where the head will be a professional manager deputized by two professional police men/women, it should be like that everywhere.

I disagree on the engineers bit being the problem. The customer care is not manned by engineersShame on you

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you what's wrong with this one, NKT!!!

Laughing out loudly Engineer OAR should also rest!

#25 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 3:28:20 PM

Mukiri,why drag OAR's name into a KPLC thread or you want to divert attention?
#26 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 3:53:54 PM

Last night i purchased KPLC units worth Ksh.1000 through Mpesa but instead i received an sms telling me to add an extra 100 to get the credit. I sent sh. 500 and that's when i received my units.....hii ni kawaida kweli ama ni ukora! Btw why is it that the number of units keeps changing everytime you buy yet amount is the same.
#27 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 4:08:34 PM

Last night i purchased KPLC units worth Ksh.1000 through Mpesa but instead i received an sms telling me to add an extra 100 to get the credit. I sent sh. 500 and that's when i received my units.....hii ni kawaida kweli ama ni ukora! Btw why is it that the number of units keeps changing everytime you buy yet amount is the same.

credit for what now?
I have never received such a message,except one telling me that I don't have enough in my mpesa for the transaction.So I top up or buy less units and use balance to cover for that.I guess that is what you are calling the 'credit'?

What I know is that, If one doesn't have enough in their mpesa to pay for the transaction the buying bounces.
Kplc can't ackowledge because it's your mobile subscriber charging you for the service, not them.

Saaasa I had 1.24 units left when I left the house.I switched off the main till I go top up!
Pray Pray
I hope Sakwa and Nekesa aren't on duty today.

#28 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 4:12:39 PM

@alma,
Nothing hurts me like a stranger who calls me a liar.....Lucky bastard.If it was me,he would be very dead.

you guys should learn to lie low like envelopes when the situation warrants it. just say yes sir and go along and hii kitu would have been solved. lakini if you come across like you are entitled..kwisha
#29 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 4:19:28 PM

@ essyk....The message was very specific, "Please add Ksh. 102 to get credit" and it was from KP. My Mpesa account had more than what i wanted to buy thats why i sent them an extra Sh. 500. Btw the units i received were worth about 1K but in total i gave them 1,500.
tnai9
#30 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 4:23:49 PM

The tariff is a step one. u pay a fixed charge of 134.4 pm, so if you sent ksh 500, the 1st time in month, 134.4 wil be deducted there4 just abt 365 go to the units. If u send 500 again in the same month, all of it go to units because you already paid fixed charges during the 1st buy. So u will likely get more units the second time. This plus other factors like the total units you have consumed in the month - 1st 50 units @2.00, from 51-1500units @8.10, and over 1500 units at 18.57. If u consume upto 200 units in any month u only pay tax on fixed charge, if u consume over 200 units in a month, u also pay tax on fuel, forex, inflation and consumption. So there are so many factors that will make one get different units from the same amount of money
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
#31 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 4:28:49 PM

Moreso if you bought like units enough for kedo 6 months then 1k itamezwa tu!!!!
#32 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 4:29:36 PM

The tariff is a step one. u pay a fixed charge of 134.4 pm, so if you sent ksh 500, the 1st time in month, 134.4 wil be deducted there4 just abt 365 go to the units. If u send 500 again in the same month, all of it go to units because you already paid fixed charges during the 1st buy. So u will likely get more units the second time. This plus other factors like the total units you have consumed in the month - 1st 50 units @2.00, from 51-1500units @8.10, and over 1500 units at 18.57. If u consume upto 200 units in any month u only pay tax on fixed charge, if u consume over 200 units in a month, u also pay tax on fuel, forex, inflation and consumption. So there are so many factors that will make one get different units from the same amount of money

That's a lot!! It's no wonder my 1k worth of units just get swallowed up by that meter and starts bleeping like crazy.
How can one ensure they pay less? cz I top up like 4 times a month.
1k,500,250k any amount to stop the bleeping,the way one does with credo.

tnai9
#33 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 4:45:34 PM

Ai my head is saturated,
Infact I have always wondered how IK worth of units go mia in 1 and a half week yet am not an electronic gadgets person.

I was told that watu wa town pay for people in shags,reason why monthly eletricity bills in shags huwa 24 bob.

This i was taught by a kplc frend. If u look at the tariff keenly, its some sort of socialism. The 1st 50 units one consumes, u pay at 2bob a unit, so if ones monthly consum is always 40 units, the consumption component wil be 80bob. If say u consume 90 units in a month, the 1st 50-at 2@, the next 40 @8.10 so coz u r a 'sonko' some of the units u buy at a higher rate. Some1 who consumes 200 units in 1 month may pay like 4000, and someone who consumes 201 units, may pay like 4600. U r taxed more if you are a heavy consumer read 'Sonko'
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
#34 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 4:48:28 PM

Mukiri,why drag OAR's name into a KPLC thread or you want to divert attention?

Pray Solli

tnai9
#35 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 5:06:10 PM

That's a lot!! It's no wonder my 1k worth of units just get swallowed up by that meter and starts bleeping like crazy.
How can one ensure they pay less? cz I top up like 4 times a month.
1k,500,250k any amount to stop the bleeping,the way one does with credo.

The bottom line is the total number of units u consume. If u can keep track of the total units u have consumed so far in a month it will help, esp for guys whose total monthly consumption rotates around 180-200 units.
sample this monthly consumption:
Fixed charge 120
consumption 1500
fuel 1800
forex 200
inflation 100
Tax ????

if the total units above are not more than 200, u only pay tax (12%) on 120=14.4, otherwise if the units uhav consumed above exceed 200, then u pay 12% *(120+1500+1800+200+100)=446.4

So if by 31st of the month you hav consumed a total of 190 units, u can just buy 7 to take u to 1st, when u can now buy the many. If u buy 100 on 31st, u may pay 700 in tax, n if u had sent a K, you get 14 units

#36 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 5:36:27 PM

T9 I really appreciate that. My problem is that I hv been focusing on the amount instead of units. I spend like 3k per month ..
#37 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 5:50:27 PM

UPDATE!

I did say I wasn't going to stay another day without electricity.

I was called later in the evening. In the spirit of shaming the bad fruits and praising the good ones in this company, I'll say I was called by a nice gentle man called Kimani.

So we went through the numbers. The calculations, the ARITHMETICS.

Apparently, the previous tenant had "fixed" the problem. If you know what I mean.

So the bill was reflecting the fine plus the standing charges.

That's easy to sort isn't it?

In my view, it isn't easy to sort especially if you are involved in "fixing" the problem in the first place.

Wachana na huyo mzee, hawezi jua nini inanendelea.

That is why I was never being given the correct amounts. That's my view and having seen that Sakwa fellow standing up in such a threatening manner, I thinks its fair for me to imagine what may have happened.

So to cut the story short, one meter is back. After paying what was owed. The other has just come in as I was typing this.

So the moral of the story is.

Fire the Sakwa fellow and hire people who can do arithmetic and be honest with clients.
#38 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 6:12:28 PM

majimaji wrote:

This is just my opinion but people from certain professions don't do well running service industries and that's why you'll hardly get a pilot running an airline.

brayokasa4
#39 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 9:51:13 PM

Boss, clearly you are agitated. But the Kenyan in you is speaking so loudly! You've been hurt but all you want to do is 'play nice'. I bet they are laughing while reading their papers 'Hako ka mzee hakawezi fanya kitu! He should know people' I wonder where we would be if Kerubo acted like you.

From me to you, grow a set of balls and NAME PEOPLE! And not just here, everywhere! For your sake and that of Kenyans who might not have a voice.

Ama kama si hivyo, remain in yesterday's Kenya and suck your thumb quietly.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
If you think you can, and if you think you can't , either way, you are right!
solo
#40 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 10:16:37 AM

All,

And at this rate i can see Kenya being forced to become one of the fastest growing Green powered nation, obviuosly not by choice but as a result of others being inefficient. You have guessed it right this award goes to.......................

So for those Kenyans who can afford it lets go M-KOPA, Solar, wind or Biogas
http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/kkptodz/-/index.html