wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

Kplc Has a Horrible Officer
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 4:56:31 PM

I know I'm not alone in complaining about KPLC but guys explain this to me.

1. No electricity for 4 months
2. Add tokens to their meters.
3. Nothing comes back
4. Call Customer Service
5. Given 8 different reasons
6. Finally decide to to and camp there

So this is what happened.

Stage 1

First I meet a fellow on the ground floor and I explain to him that the two meters have had no electricity for 4 months.

The fellow seats under a banner that says something like meter issues or something. He seats next to 3 ladies who deal with new accounts and cheques.

The guy tells me that I'm lying since there is no way to stay with electricity for 4 months.

I'm nice. So I tell him that if he grew up in a family where he was lied to, he can't imagine that everyone in his life lies to him.

He gets annoyed with me and I tell him to grow up and do his work. If he can't do the work, he should send me to the fellow who deals with people who are liars and don't have electricity for 4 months.

Eisssh. Kenya power is that customer service?

I'm then sent to second floor and I meet THEM. I call them, THEM because, they all have a newspaper they are reading. Kama haujasoma gazeti saa tisa jioni, wewe ni jinga tu.

Stage 2

This is where the fireworks begin.

I'm asked for the meter numbers which I duly handover in a paper.

The paper is handed to one fellow. He looks at it and scribles on it. He ticked it 4 times in the area next to the account numbers. He then hands the paper back to Kplc employee number 2.

Kplc employee number 2 hands the paper to me and says everything is ok.

So I ask. "What is ok?"
"Kila kitu sawa mzee" employee no.2 says
"What was the problem since everything is ok?" I ask
"It's working"

So I get mad and tell the scribler who's name I will name in a few starts telling us that we should know people. Ok, not exactly those words, but you know when you are being called a fool.

For about 5 minutes I'm hot on my collar and explain to him that he's extremely rude and I ain't leaving his damn office until I get my electricity.

I want to know exactly why those meters take my money and don't give me back any units.

He takes my paper back and goes back to his kalaptop to "investigate".

He comes back with the following

meter xxxxx682 owes ksh.1600. You have paid ksh.1500 and only need to pay ksh.100

meter xxxx517 owes 2886. You have sent ksh. 1470 in mpesa. So you owe ksh. 1416

Apparently, my landlord had not paid a monthly standing charge on the meter.

Haya. So is that the only problem sirs, I ask. Mzee ukilipa hii, utapata stima saa hizi.

So I go to my pocket to give them ksh.1600. Apana mzee, lipa na mpesa.

(By the way, those are real meter numbers. The amounts owed are in a piece of paper in the handwriting of the Kplc rude employee. Just in case you think of suing me for defamation or such ujinga)

So ended my day. Or so I thought.

Stage 3

So I paid.

Ksh. 250 to meter xxxx682 and
ksh. 1650 to meter xxxx517

And alas

Hakuna stima.

I call customer service again. Guess what?

I now owe them ksh. 3398 and ksh.2278

True story.

I ask, if the standing fee for their meter is ksh.135 per month. And the meter was installed in April 2011, how can the amount owed be ksh. 3398

135x 18 months = ksh. 2430

I still don't have electricity. Their customer service lady is fantastic and she is actually working to help me. The one of the phone that is.

However, the fellow in their office who I shall name in the update obviously is either

1. A liar
2. Doesn't know how to add

I don't expect much from KPlc. But just needed to payuka a bit.

If only to let off steam. Pray
#2 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 5:15:09 PM

Pole sana
shygal
#3 Posted: : Thursday, October 25, 2012 5:56:41 PM

I've always thought of this KPLC people as dunderheads. Pole sana.
#4 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 6:01:35 PM

Usijali thats KP for you,recenti got a 10,450 (its like i have a cottage industry in the hao) another pal of mine got 9k,apparently they have been underestimating the meter reading so wht i get in the post office iznt the correct amount to be paid and the way its religiously paid to avoid disconnection.nkt
#5 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 6:21:52 PM

Update:

So now I got other numbers.

The story now is that the landlord had not cleared his post paid balance. So one account owes 3398 and the other owes ksh.250

Meter 1

It happens a lot that landlords don't clear their accounts so the tenant suffers. However, in this case, the landlord has all the reciepts. He's even had them confirmed by them and even has letters to the effect that he owes them nothing on the property.

You see, not all people believe in Kplc so we keep records of any dealings with them.

So that one,I've sent to the landlord who's going ballistic on the phone. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Meter 2

Remember I told you that it was ksh.250 remaining. Topped up with ksh.500 an hour ago. No power. No power people as in nothing nada.

Called their line and now the story is that their system is down.

Obviously they have talked to funza huyo mzee adabu.

What they don't know is that I've accepted my fate and will continue posting until I get my electricity. Wapende wasipende or my money back.

edit: talked to a nice guy at kplc who asked I don't name names until tommorow if I don't get sorted.

But he still can't count or he's lying.

All this he could have informed me when I was camping in his office. But he's decided to show the small people like me adabu.
#6 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 7:40:49 PM

Wonders of wonders

So now I have called them back and guess what.

I paid ksh.500 to them after they told me they wanted ksh.250 from me. Remember that?

Now they are telling me that ALL the money is gone and now they want ksh. 77 to get the account back.

KPLC you guys are either pathetically stupid or you are stealing my money.

Hii ni ukora wa aina gani?
grolut
#7 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 12:19:08 AM

Name names.
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
#8 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 8:26:30 AM

Boss, clearly you are agitated. But the Kenyan in you is speaking so loudly! You've been hurt but all you want to do is 'play nice'. I bet they are laughing while reading their papers 'Hako ka mzee hakawezi fanya kitu! He should know people' I wonder where we would be if Kerubo acted like you.

From me to you, grow a set of balls and NAME PEOPLE! And not just here, everywhere! For your sake and that of Kenyans who might not have a voice.

Ama kama si hivyo, remain in yesterday's Kenya and suck your thumb quietly.

wairegi
#9 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 8:47:42 AM

Depending on you area, google the Regional managers email address and phones. Write to them or direct them to this, and they juniors will come sweating and sorting you from the comfort of you home.

I have written to them several times and, they response was swift..and know also some dudes had questions to answer..
#10 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 8:52:00 AM

My personal view is that this is an extortion campaign.

I have talked to the following people in KPLC headquarters and their customer care

1. Sakwa - on Second floor. I have a note in his handwriting stating how much is owed in the said meters. He of the standing in a threatening manner and saying that he can decide not to help with this issue and yelling.

2. Customer care on phone - forgot their names but i have notes so will add them later. This team on the phone has given me the following excuses. Add ksh.100, add ksh. 250, add ksh.1500, hit #100#, the pre-paid system is down, the landlord has a bill of 3898, there is nothing wrong with your meter etc

3. Customer care supervisor who declined to talk to me on phone - Nekesa. She refused to talk to a customer who expressly asked to talk to a supervisor. She advised the customer care agent that she was busy on another phone and would call back. She never did.

4. Twitter customer care - totally ignored me.

Till this time, even after being assured that paying for the last ksh.250 the account would be back to normal, their is no electricity.

The landlord has assured me that he has no bills, resent me his account termination forms indicating that the meters have no debt.

What I'm now convinced now is that this team of customer care agents have decided to take me round in circles until mzee apate adabu.

Their game unfortunately is shallow since having suffered for 4 months, I think I have learned how to live without their company.

So there you go

All I want to know is the exact amount of money owed. I will pay it, I have offered to pay it, I have even paid what they said. They on the other hand seem to want to play games with a customer.

#11 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 9:07:01 AM

My personal view is that this is an extortion campaign.

I have talked to the following people in KPLC headquarters and their customer care

1. Sakwa - on Second floor. I have a note in his handwriting stating how much is owed in the said meters. He of the standing in a threatening manner and saying that he can decide not to help with this issue and yelling.

2. Customer care on phone - forgot their names but i have notes so will add them later. This team on the phone has given me the following excuses. Add ksh.100, add ksh. 250, add ksh.1500, hit #100#, the pre-paid system is down, the landlord has a bill of 3898, there is nothing wrong with your meter etc

3. Customer care supervisor who declined to talk to me on phone - Nekesa. She refused to talk to a customer who expressly asked to talk to a supervisor. She advised the customer care agent that she was busy on another phone and would call back. She never did.

4. Twitter customer care - totally ignored me.

Till this time, even after being assured that paying for the last ksh.250 the account would be back to normal, their is no electricity.

The landlord has assured me that he has no bills, resent me his account termination forms indicating that the meters have no debt.

What I'm now convinced now is that this team of customer care agents have decided to take me round in circles until mzee apate adabu.

Their game unfortunately is shallow since having suffered for 4 months, I think I have learned how to live without their company.

So there you go

All I want to know is the exact amount of money owed. I will pay it, I have offered to pay it, I have even paid what they said. They on the other hand seem to want to play games with a customer.

Applause Very good. Now take Wairegi's advice and write to all managers in your region (even the MD if you have the appetite!). How do you suffer for 4 months! How? How How? How do you even suffer for a week?

Lakini, you are not alone. Even me, a private share transfer has taken over a month (I'm told it takes a month thereabouts). But the customer care broker, is a comical guy. His entertainment makes me forget. And the tu mbeautifur radies don't help matters.

#12 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 9:08:02 AM

Am sure Mpesa must have contributed Sad Sad ...

#13 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 9:21:55 AM

Applause Very good. Now take Wairegi's advice and write to all managers in your region (even the MD if you have the appetite!). How do you suffer for 4 months! How? How How? How do you even suffer for a week?

Lakini, you are not alone. Even me, a private share transfer has taken over a month (I'm told it takes a month thereabouts). But the customer care broker, is a comical guy. His entertainment makes me forget. And the tu mbeautifur radies don't help matters.

My view is that this company is beyond redemption. If they can lie on the phone in a system that actually records what they say and even lie on a piece of paper in their own handwriting, I'd be expecting a lot from these fellows.

So writing to these fellows, which I've just done, is a waste of my bandwidth.

We got another solution. Pure solar for the smaller areas in the property. Surely I think its possible to get rid of kplc once and for all in all the properties we have.

All I want from them now is just to make guys aware of what kind of people are hired in this company.

I'm under no illusions that my documented rant is going to go anywhere with these people.
#14 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 9:30:34 AM

If you want to see how pathetic Kenya Power is just check out their Facebook page. At times they even delete the really bad complaints.
wairegi
#15 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 9:48:38 AM

..mukiri you are as comical as the people you dealing with
#16 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 9:57:14 AM

KPLC will only change after the elections, when we have managers managing institutions and not engineers. These engineers do not understand customer needs, their priorities are on the dangling lines. As in the police reforms where the head will be a professional manager deputized by two professional police men/women, it should be like that everywhere.

Spend.thrift
#17 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 10:11:33 AM

What to do? But what more should we expect from a power and lighting company which considers darkness and parafin to be among their main competitors?. I heard this on TV not so long ago.
majimaji
#18 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 10:37:54 AM

KPLC will only change after the elections, when we have managers managing institutions and not engineers. These engineers do not understand customer needs, their priorities are on the dangling lines. As in the police reforms where the head will be a professional manager deputized by two professional police men/women, it should be like that everywhere.

I disagree on the engineers bit being the problem. The customer care is not manned by engineersShame on you
MGM
#19 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 12:04:06 PM

That is the problem with monopoly. You have to beg for the services you are paying for.
madammary
#20 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 12:12:25 PM

Maybe after the elections and the beginning of county governments things will look up. I heard that private power distributors would be licenced to distribute power in the various counties and the county would even undertake power distribution in it's jurisdiction. All this KPLC fools need is competition and we are sorted out.