Culture
Women being better than men at multitasking is a myth
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
a new study has shown rink hapa http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/ej4aenz/-/index.htmlAll Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
This thing of women thinking with both sides of the brain, whilst the man only manages one, is not true?
its not.The title . "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
[quote=masukuma]a new study has shown rink hapa http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/ej4aenz/-/index.html[/quote] still a user? I think @lady admin has taken the differences a bit too far. Africa belongs to Africans.
Come on guys, men and women can all multitask, the only problem is, women like to talk, they talk too much so over time, men have developed and master that excuse of not being able to multitask in order to avoid the woman's never ending talking.
Take me for instance, it is known to every woman I have dated that I cannot talk and drive at the same time, but thats not true, it is my excuse to not talk to whoever I am dating at that time, infact I am always on the phone while driving but with people I want to talk to.
Please don't let any woman know this excuse but it is an excuse, sometimes a man want to just sit without talking, watch TV or something, woman want all the attention all the time.
Thought it's inborn. Hebu research cz I read an article on the male and female brains concerning this very topic. seen how in shags an old woman can be cooking,milking,cleaning,talking on phone,the neighbour,talking/singing to the cow/goat,while feeding it at the same time? The man would be sitting by the fence watching cows graze.He can't add another task to that. Women multitask on the domestic front esp,in order to save on time. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
essyk wrote:Thought it's inborn. Hebu research cz I read an article on the male and female brains concerning this very topic. seen how in shags an old woman can be cooking,milking,cleaning,talking on phone,the neighbour,talking/singing to the cow/goat,while feeding it at the same time? The man would be sitting by the fence watching cows graze.He can't add another task to that.
Women multitask on the domestic front esp,in order to save on time.
men multitask on interesting things...(at least for me) All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
That's why we are so different. We also find the things we multitask in interesting you know, including changing baby's diapers. The good thing with the man (well some) is,he will concentrate on one thing and perfect it kabisa. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
I thought the myth was shattered a loog time back. Think of a matatu driver. Driving the mat, taking a soda, talking on phone, keeping an eye on traffic police and listening to the conductors prompt for the next alighting passenger. If this is not multi tasking, I dont know what is. On the other hand, I have seen many women who cannot handle two tasks at a time.
Lolest! wrote:I thought the myth was shattered a loog time back. Think of a matatu driver. Driving the mat, taking a soda, talking on phone, keeping an eye on traffic police and listening to the conductors prompt for the next alighting passenger. If this is not multi tasking, I dont know what is. On the other hand, I have seen many women who cannot handle two tasks at a time. @Lolest - this is not fair, you have left out so much of the dere's hourly/daily job description: adjusting sound/ equalizer, keeping a keen eye out for new passengers, looking for shortcuts, even competing with fellow deres, etc @essyk - interestingly,the common thread in all your posts is that women multi-tasking is limited to domestic affairs/child rearing only.Period. Show me a woman who can handle 2 intellectually demanding tasks such as doing calculus while driving at 80km/h and I will believe multi-tasking is the preserve of our sisters. Another tired myth/cliche is that they also have a 6th sense...
Drunkard wrote:Come on guys, men and women can all multitask, the only problem is, women like to talk, they talk too much so over time, men have developed and master that excuse of not being able to multitask in order to avoid the woman's never ending talking.
Take me for instance, it is known to every woman I have dated that I cannot talk and drive at the same time, but thats not true, it is my excuse to not talk to whoever I am dating at that time, infact I am always on the phone while driving but with people I want to talk to.
Please don't let any woman know this excuse but it is an excuse, sometimes a man want to just sit without talking, watch TV or something, woman want all the attention all the time. ditto mlevi. women just wear us down with the never ending chatter. I also want my me time. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Lolest! wrote:I thought the myth was shattered a loog time back. Think of a matatu driver. Driving the mat, taking a soda, talking on phone, keeping an eye on traffic police and listening to the conductors prompt for the next alighting passenger. If this is not multi tasking, I dont know what is. On the other hand, I have seen many women who cannot handle two tasks at a time. best example. I'm yet to see a woman spin some of these nairobi death traps. the multiple tasking involved is peculiarly a mans domain. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
we are not discussing the 'TASK' but the ABILITY to multitask. It could be domestic or career based. So all these driving,calculus,diapers, are all irrelevant. A man who can for instance, drive,do calculus and feed baby all at once and the woman who does the same are both multitaskers. So is the career woman doing multiple things in the office, all at once and the masai woman in a manyatta. But I have heard men who say they can't cook and shower,drive and talk,yeah such. They can only stay focused on one thing at a time. Whateva.Just do your thing the best way you know how.no wahala. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
women cannot perform certain tasks simply coz their multitasking ability is lower. a nairobi bus driver does so many subtasks to get the job done. that is a tall order for women. and on the domestic front, that is clearly not a mans dormain, and if it were, men would probably be better. problem is, few are as patient as women. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
What a useless thread. a) Men vs women b) christians vs (more stupid) atheists c) pamba vs tina d) trigger-fast police vs trigger-fast thugs e) ........ Light Bearer
essyk wrote:Thought it's inborn. Hebu research cz I read an article on the male and female brains concerning this very topic. seen how in shags an old woman can be cooking,milking,cleaning,talking on phone,the neighbour,talking/singing to the cow/goat,while feeding it at the same time? The man would be sitting by the fence watching cows graze.He can't add another task to that.
Women multitask on the domestic front esp,in order to save on time.
@essyk, How so? How do you cook, milk and clean at the same time? As in, the cow is in the kitchen? hahaha. Cutting the chase,let's down it to dual-tasking. Hii mambo ya multi-tasking is a fallacy. Have a look at a woman driving when changing lanes or or at a junction and tell me where that "multi-tasking goes. Mostly what happens, more so on @essyk's case, one task is abandoned when moving to the next,that CAN'T be multi-tasking. You have to finish milking before cooking or cleaning. One task at a time for women if your take away talking.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Perhaps it's a lie created to justify over working women. 'Atieno yo'.
I don't multitask!
Multitasking is for computers, and even them, unless it's more than one processor, each processor has to schedule/prioritize the tasks in some order and execute each one at a time.
Multitasking for humans is a fallacy.
Now let me get back to the next task!
mkeiyd wrote: @essyk, How so? How do you cook, milk and clean at the same time? As in, the cow is in the kitchen? hahaha. Cutting the chase,let's down it to dual-tasking. Hii mambo ya multi-tasking is a fallacy. Have a look at a woman driving when changing lanes or or at a junction and tell me where that "multi-tasking goes.
Mostly what happens, more so on @essyk's case, one task is abandoned when moving to the next,that CAN'T be multi-tasking. You have to finish milking before cooking or cleaning. One task at a time for women if your take away talking.
Lol true that.But what else can be happening while you milk the cow? You don't have to finish one before embarking on another. You do what we call mental timing. Before you start the chores,know how long each should take. And then categorise them in your head.I am good at this cz it helps me plan. There's usually the MAIN work plus some other 'attachments'. The main work takes a longer time and so what you do is start it off,b4 picking on another. Why waste time sitting and waiting for rice to cook when I can be ironing at the same time? Now while the second work is progressing,pick on a 3rd one,b4 going to check on the progress of the main one. Most tasks get accomplished at the same time when you do these multiple things. Now you have to be chap chap to be able to do this. Its not for the lazy. At the office the scenario is diff because each person has got his own work which they get paid to do so you can't go 'multitasking'like crazy. Lol Tycho Atieno washes dishes, Atieno plucks the chicken, Atieno gets up early, Beds her sacks down in the kitchen, Atieno eight years old, Atieno yo."The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
@essyk, that aint not multi-tasking!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Culture
Women being better than men at multitasking is a myth