wazua Fri, Apr 3, 2026

Best Stock Broker - as at October 2012
#11 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 6:24:47 PM

... the worst is CFC financial services. Very useless. Where's @genghiscapital to answer the above?
#12 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 9:13:19 PM

Best broker in terms of?Netting in the highest commissions isn't a sign of you being good as @guru said it just shows that you have probably a large client base or your rate of turning trades is significantly higher than other brokers probably due to a strong back office9which is a plus).Me thinks we seriously need an independent body or bodies to monitor and conduct surveys which should be published periodically @Mauryc should have just gone to a particular site and voila all the info should have been there.
Essentially the performance of a broker can be measured in two ways:
(1)The service received on the basis of the client's own assessment.
(2)The performance of the broker relevant to a benchmark.

investors need to know how many problem logs are generated by each broker,the frequency and type of the logs and how the broker went about solving the problem,number of failed trades that occur during a given duration,how queries from clients were responded to by the different brokers.
A poll can be conducted and a scoring system be put in place this is the only way brokers can be put on their toes.Numerous complaints have come to the fore over and over again especially on this site, this should be things of the past if we want a proper working Securities exchange that can compete with the best...All said and done am an A.A guy all the way...For genghis and chase bank sisemi kitu its always been a constant...
Aguytrying
#13 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 9:17:40 PM

Cfc are good. my bankers cheque reflected the next day. pap.
customer care is excellent and responsive.
trading platform is more than you can ask for(except few hiccups- cant log in- very rarely). Im so happy with their service( almost emailed them to tell them)
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
S.Mutaga III
#14 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 9:49:33 PM

My broker is equity custodial...ie equity bank...no regrets so far...no reason to shift...mimi ni mkulima mdogoLaughing out loudly
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 9:57:02 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
trading platform is more than you can ask for(except few hiccups- cant log in- very rarely). Im so happy with their service( almost emailed them to tell them)

..advantages of having a bank,with a brokerage arm.lakini hapo juu kuna mtu amezusha juu ya CFCFS
Aguytrying
#16 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 10:22:43 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

..advantages of having a bank,with a brokerage arm.lakini hapo juu kuna mtu amezusha juu ya CFCFS

did i also say they charge 1.87 commission, even trades below 100k.

that person didnt even say their problem.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#17 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 10:41:00 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
My broker is equity custodial...ie equity bank...no regrets so far...no reason to shift...mimi ni mkulima mdogoLaughing out loudly

Equity bank uses SIB i think. Am also with them, EQUITY, yet i cannot call myself mkulima mdogo (or am i dreaming, my portfolio value is about 1.4M).
I use it coz i feel safer working with a bank as opposed with my money been with a broker (Nyaga and DSL collapsed with guys cash).

S.Mutaga III
#18 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 10:54:25 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:

Equity bank uses SIB i think. Am also with them, EQUITY, yet i cannot call myself mkulima mdogo (or am i dreaming, my portfolio value is about 1.4M).
I use it coz i feel safer working with a bank as opposed with my money been with a broker (Nyaga and DSL collapsed with guys cash).

1.4m...not bad...perhaps am not a mkulima mdogo after all.
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
mauryc
#19 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 9:03:10 AM

StatMeister wrote:
mauryc wrote:
I know this topic has been discussed severally on this forum, but times have changed and some brokers have improved their services while others are worse. Which stockbroker would you consider the best in terms of customer service, online platforms, efficiency among other criterion?

You views are welcomed.

Which broker do you work for or trade with?

I dont work with any broker. I was asking because i want to start trading.
mwekez@ji
#20 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 10:05:44 AM

guru267 wrote:
Definitely dyer and Blair!!

4. Highest commissions in Kenya!

Liar Liar Liar

I know of the following hierarchy,

1. Kestrel – 22% of market share
2. Renaissance Capital – 12%
3. CFCFS – 10%
4. AA – 10%
5. Dyer & Blair – 8%
6. Sterling – 6%
7. SIB – 5%
8. Apex – 5%
9. Faida – 5%
10. NIC – 4%
11. Others – 13%

Source: CFC Stanbic IM dated Friday 31st August, 2012, clause 8.2.2 - Capital markets brokerage and portfolio investment industry overview, page 42