wazua Sat, May 16, 2026

11 Pages«<891011>
obsession with "most expensive"
kiash
#91 Posted : Friday, October 19, 2012 9:01:24 AM

Me I guess the problem is the status that comes with what you have, we judge people through what they drive, what and where they eat, what they wear where they live etc etc. Like someone pointed those standing in queues flipping their phones for photos and maybe they do not even have credit.
Reminds me of one Soita Shitada who said ministers cannot drive around in Passats. Most people better take loans and buy or eat expensive just ndio waonekane . It’s really interesting to read people’s views on such issues.
MKWASI
#92 Posted : Friday, October 19, 2012 10:52:53 AM

Applause

This is true, and this thing you sacrifice and get is of value to you definitely and may not be of value to someone else.

[/quote]

This thing...d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#93 Posted : Sunday, October 21, 2012 7:11:19 PM

I have just read todays's lifestyle article on the Sunday nation about the new emerging middle class. The type who spend kes.85,000 on a round of drinks. For them its all about the flamboyance with an emphasis on the price tag. So one of them pays Kes.1m school fees p.a. Am asking myself ....is there some intrinsic value in that high figure ?? Is there a correlation with the quality of education you get at that price??

Am reminded of a poem by a Mr.Rubadiri ;
Society is a market stall/
And men goods on display/
where the label is more important than the labelled/
and the price more fascinating than the value
#94 Posted : Sunday, October 21, 2012 7:33:35 PM

It doesn't really matter how people choose to live their lives.It's okay IF they can afford it.
The most important thing is the LEGACY left behind.
-Have they mentored their future generation?
-Will their works last long enough to be enjoyed by those coming after them?
-Are they role models ama their grandkids will be ashamed of being associated with them?

Enjoy what God has RIGHTFULLY given you.

#95 Posted : Sunday, October 21, 2012 7:54:36 PM

The article is wanting for instance the author has stated an x trail is posh car,which school in karen charges 1m fees,the definition that is given is not in line with obure who should be upper class as per the definition.
#96 Posted : Sunday, October 21, 2012 8:06:32 PM

Eti the Guy makes 1m every WEEK na yeye ni middo crass? Seems this middo crass is a mind thing....you are as rich as you feel.

www.nation.co.ke/Feature...84/-/19s75a/-/index.html

Now yesterday Mashujaa day I was very surprised. My former classmate in high school invited me for a Mashujaa day party in eastlando. He lives in Kayole 'where his business is'. Let me admit I was abit apprehensive going to Kayole. We went to some joint called Kosovo. Can you believe we couldn't get parking at the pub coz it was full and had to pack kwa barabara. My premio, a KBN, was one of the older and cheaper cars in the vicinity since I could see some Harriers, xtrails, Rav 4s, and of course many promboxes. The guy owns 2 matatus plying Kayole - cbd route, both 33 seaters and makes 16,000 per day (thats 480,000 pm). He also has 3 butcheries with 9 employees that make him a total of 15k per day profit (or 450,000pm) huko kayole and also has 2 kerosene pumps that sell 400l per day @10bob profit thats 4000 per day or 120,000 pm and he still considers himself a struggling mwananchi and still not middo crass. He calls himself mtu wa juakali despite earning over Ksh1,000,000 pm. Strange fact is that he's doing much better than someone earning 200k and living in some 70k apartment in kileleshwa

#97 Posted : Sunday, October 21, 2012 8:48:21 PM

I have just read todays's lifestyle article on the Sunday nation about the new emerging middle class. The type who spend kes.85,000 on a round of drinks. For them its all about the flamboyance with an emphasis on the price tag. So one of them pays Kes.1m school fees p.a. Am asking myself ....is there some intrinsic value in that high figure ?? Is there a correlation with the quality of education you get at that price??

Am reminded of a poem by a Mr.Rubadiri ;
Society is a market stall/
And men goods on display/
where the label is more important than the labelled/
and the price more fascinating than the value

When you script your life towards having lots of money, and showing the world that you have made it, you come to a culdesac. You come realize that even the people who fear and respect you are just as clueless about their being as you are.

And they have stuffed you with money; you just feel like vomiting, or to rush out to the street, tear out your clothes and show God the middle finger.

But you aren't very sure of yourself and you are full of fear. You end up vomiting the money and kicking humanity in the ass.

Cowardice is then rewarded with admiration and envy, and you grow bolder and bolder in your spite for others, and yourself.

Everything is meaningless, you become the 'American psycho'.

This is the middle class.
#98 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 8:28:08 AM

A tiger does not proclaim its "tigritude"; it pounces!
#99 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 12:45:00 PM

Eti the Guy makes 1m every WEEK na yeye ni middo crass? Seems this middo crass is a mind thing....you are as rich as you feel.

www.nation.co.ke/Feature...84/-/19s75a/-/index.html

Now yesterday Mashujaa day I was very surprised. My former classmate in high school invited me for a Mashujaa day party in eastlando. He lives in Kayole 'where his business is'. Let me admit I was abit apprehensive going to Kayole. We went to some joint called Kosovo. Can you believe we couldn't get parking at the pub coz it was full and had to pack kwa barabara. My premio, a KBN, was one of the older and cheaper cars in the vicinity since I could see some Harriers, xtrails, Rav 4s, and of course many promboxes. The guy owns 2 matatus plying Kayole - cbd route, both 33 seaters and makes 16,000 per day (thats 480,000 pm). He also has 3 butcheries with 9 employees that make him a total of 15k per day profit (or 450,000pm) huko kayole and also has 2 kerosene pumps that sell 400l per day @10bob profit thats 4000 per day or 120,000 pm and he still considers himself a struggling mwananchi and still not middo crass. He calls himself mtu wa juakali despite earning over Ksh1,000,000 pm. Strange fact is that he's doing much better than someone earning 200k and living in some 70k apartment in kileleshwa

Applause Applause
#100 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 1:00:19 PM

Some of the bank balances of the middleclass are amazing. I know of a guy who sales kerosene by the pump inside the mukuru's. when his balance is about 30m ako na wasiwasi. he is getting broke!

But he denies himself alot in life, the family will rejoice if he departs the world!
11 Pages«<891011>