Rank: Member Joined: 1/13/2011 Posts: 297 Location: Nairobi
Spend.thrift wrote:Foz00 wrote:Depending on what route you are on Km/L wont make sense maybe Hrs/L....from rongai to langata in 3hrs jam i use 10L Ouch!! Foz00, you took this right out of my mind. With the kind of traffic that has been on Nairobi this week, the measure should surely be hours/litre. I fuelled 3000 bob at Kshs. 106 i.e 28 litres on Sunday. 145 km later today my fuel gauge is just about to read 'E'nough. Thats about 5km/ litres. On the other hand if I consider that I spent about 16.5 hours to cover that distance then I would be saying 1.7hours/litre. The tragedy of the driving class! No wonder my mum says we young people are the cross of a crazy generation and a mad one. This i totally relate to GPS Trip Time Moving: 30Min Time Stopped: 2H 30Min Trip ODO: 15Km Average Speed: 5Km/Hr
Rank: Member Joined: 10/8/2010 Posts: 763 Location: Intersection
chiaroscuro wrote:danas10 wrote:bird_man wrote:@Benzino....pretty much the same as what I had heard.Thanks for confirming.
Anyone with details on the RunX/Allex? 20Km/Ltr (highway) & 14Km/Ltr (town) sounds too high. with a Runx i do 42km daily, monday to friday and i use 3k on fuel for 2 weeks...but am on the road when there are few cars so i never wait in traffic...its roughly 14km/L (it's parked on weekends) Make a more accurate measurement; fill up the car, run(x) it for two weeks and fill again. Now check the km done and the litres consumed. i put 18 litres (2k when the price was 108) when it emptied and waited for it to empty. in total i did 279kms...thats approximately 15.5km/L. Again, i was on the road with few cars
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
danas10 wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:danas10 wrote:bird_man wrote:@Benzino....pretty much the same as what I had heard.Thanks for confirming.
Anyone with details on the RunX/Allex? 20Km/Ltr (highway) & 14Km/Ltr (town) sounds too high. with a Runx i do 42km daily, monday to friday and i use 3k on fuel for 2 weeks...but am on the road when there are few cars so i never wait in traffic...its roughly 14km/L (it's parked on weekends) Make a more accurate measurement; fill up the car, run(x) it for two weeks and fill again. Now check the km done and the litres consumed. i put 18 litres (2k when the price was 108) when it emptied and waited for it to empty. in total i did 279kms...thats approximately 15.5km/L. Again, i was on the road with few cars How many litres were in the tank before you put the 18L? Don't fear; the only way you can get correct consumption figures is to start with a full tank, then drive around normally and then fill it up again. The second fill-up if the consumption for your drive-around
bird_man wrote:Hey people! I have a friend who claims his Toyota RunX achieves 14Km/Ltr (Nairobi) & 20Km/Ltr (highway).Can someone verify this?
Also whats your experience on consumption of the 1500cc GG2 Subaru Impreza? I can confirm 16Km/Litre;Nissan B15 Manual transmission. at speeed between 80 and 90Km/h.
@chiroscuro, You think guys have cheddah to fill up tanks, economy ni ngumu bana!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Member Joined: 10/8/2010 Posts: 763 Location: Intersection
chiaroscuro wrote:danas10 wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:danas10 wrote:bird_man wrote:@Benzino....pretty much the same as what I had heard.Thanks for confirming.
Anyone with details on the RunX/Allex? 20Km/Ltr (highway) & 14Km/Ltr (town) sounds too high. with a Runx i do 42km daily, monday to friday and i use 3k on fuel for 2 weeks...but am on the road when there are few cars so i never wait in traffic...its roughly 14km/L (it's parked on weekends) Make a more accurate measurement; fill up the car, run(x) it for two weeks and fill again. Now check the km done and the litres consumed. i put 18 litres (2k when the price was 108) when it emptied and waited for it to empty. in total i did 279kms...thats approximately 15.5km/L. Again, i was on the road with few cars How many litres were in the tank before you put the 18L? Don't fear; the only way you can get correct consumption figures is to start with a full tank, then drive around normally and then fill it up again. The second fill-up if the consumption for your drive-around I actually waited for it to empty (and went for 2 kms on E) then put 18 litres and went for an additional 2kms on E. thats how i got my 279km on 18 litres... hii kizungu haileti point home
Lexus RX300 did 10.2km/lt average driving in Nairobi.
McReggae wrote:@chiroscuro, You think guys have cheddah to fill up tanks, economy ni ngumu bana!!!! McReggae, economy yes. But even if you were able to fill up say to 50kgs, why carry excess weight around when personal rounds are predictable. Why not just drink 20 litres every Monday morning enough for the week? You will never be able to precisely determine the car's consumption even if you use full tank and top up after drive. There are a couple of coefficients to consider. Even manufacturer rates are at best controlled estimations.
And who has experiences of Toyota Caldina new model 1800CC,2004.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/24/2010 Posts: 236 Location: nairobi
Spend.thrift wrote:McReggae wrote:@chiroscuro, You think guys have cheddah to fill up tanks, economy ni ngumu bana!!!! McReggae, economy yes. But even if you were able to fill up say to 50kgs, why carry excess weight around when personal rounds are predictable. Why not just drink 20 litres every Monday morning enough for the week? You will never be able to precisely determine the car's consumption even if you use full tank and top up after drive. There are a couple of coefficients to consider. Even manufacturer rates are at best controlled estimations. In some modern cars, the fuel consumption is measured at the point of injection and not from the tank. This gives you the exact amount of fuel consumed per distance covered.
skforce wrote:Lexus RX300 did 10.2km/lt average driving in Nairobi. wow! that's great, you did better than the official fuel consumption figures about, 7.6km/l city and 8.9 km/l on the highway
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
Just finished Christmas run-around in a 2,000cc Mazda Premacy (2005 version), fully laden with 5-day lagguage plus 3 adults and three children [it's a 7-seater]....
Stats:
Total distance = 1,278km
Total fuel = 116L
Average consumption = 11km/L
Did about 600km with 35 litres in a 997cc vitz ! TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
@ simonkabz - think we have a winner. Vitz with all the bad rep is definitely the way to go.
guru me wrote:@ simonkabz - think we have a winner. Vitz with all the bad rep is definitely the way to go. I guess so, having come straight from a 2000 cc subaru, I felt nice, real nice! TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
I too use the rudimentary method of estimating the consumption per mileage.This how i do it,Record the actual odometer readings immediately The 'E' amber lights comes on, Fuel any amount say 2K, then wait for the next 'E' lights on, where i do the subtraction on the distance covered.Then based on the actual amount of fuel consumed i do the subdivision to get the KM/Litre. All alomg i have had very close figures for town rides it ranges between 9.2KMs/L-10.3KMs/L while out of town (highways) the figure ranges between 11-12KMs/L. And having used this methods for a long time i consider the figures not to be too far from truth.The ride is a 2005 make, 2000cc Toyota Altezza.@SimonKabz what would the 2000cc SUB give you?
I had 2 legacies in a span of 2 months. The older model gave me circa 11 kpl, the newer 12kpl. Both 2000cc, nonturbo. Me thinks engine technology hasnt improved much from the '90s. The two cars were pre 1997, yet a 2005 toyota 2000cc gives roughly the same milage..... TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
simonkabz wrote:I had 2 legacies in a span of 2 months. The older model gave me circa 11 kpl, the newer 12kpl. Both 2000cc, nonturbo.
Me thinks engine technology hasnt improved much from the '90s. The two cars were pre 1997, yet a 2005 toyota 2000cc gives roughly the same milage..... @kabz So does it then mean that the other factors e.g driver, road terrain etc come into play? me thinks so! You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
Personal experience this xmas so far (though still on holiday and expect to cover another 300kms):
Fuel cost so far Ksh 8500. Number of ltrs about 75ltrs. Kms covered so far 823km. Average Fuel consumption 11km/l Manufacturer's statistics 14km/l (or 7ltrs/100km) Equipment: 2003 Toyota Noah 2000cc D4 VVTi. Terrain: combination of smooth highway, potholes, rural roads.
Curious as to everyone's driving styles. Personally note that the difference between lead footed me and eggshell footed me can be as much as a 100% diff in consumption ie if lead foot is 7km/l eggshell foot can be 14 km/l.
That having been said, I'm a hopeless car junky and a perpetual cheap thrill seeker and lead footed me always seems to prevail even when I should know better.