wazua Fri, Aug 15, 2025

Mombasa road
#41 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 9:55:25 AM

Six more dead this morning at Machakos turn off.

...crazy its like flies dying cant we just drive slowly esp whn its wet?to digress a bit there were several other accidents yesterday,we need speed cameras ASAP,whoever is caught fines should be hefty and the cash paid as bonuses to the cops.
#42 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 10:53:22 AM

Rryzz,why are u assuming everyone who uses the road drives himself?there are passengers in matatus,pedestrians,cyclists,cows,taxi passengers etc.
#43 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 9:14:45 PM

...crazy its like flies dying cant we just drive slowly esp whn its wet?to digress a bit there were several other accidents yesterday,we need speed cameras ASAP,whoever is caught fines should be hefty and the cash paid as bonuses to the cops.

Death toll rose to 9Sad
Wah! How many Kenyans do we lose on Kenyan roads?
#44 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 9:22:11 PM

I blame the police 90% the remaining 10% is the reckless greedy drivers.there are many roadblocks yet they allow uninspected vehicles after taking bribes.

in this case unregistered mtumba van was ferrying 9 souls from mombasa passing all the roadblocks without getting arrested.how safe are we? suppose the mtumba car was carrying explosives?

kenyans need somebody to save themselves from themselves.
the young kids died here because of careless adults including the parents who chose to use shortcuts (namely unregistered means of transport/ vehicles)and the police who were too busy taking 50bobs instead of doing their work.
w
btw who is the transport minister?

matatus on this highway are very reckless and have bought all the police officers in the highway.
they speed, carry excess passengers in broad view of traffic police officers who occassionally stop them to collect 'their' 50 bobs
#45 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 10:05:45 PM

^^
GREED GREED GREED.Consequences of greed!!!!
Very sad to see pampers strewn all over the scene of the accident.Sad

And why we love colluding with greedy people baffles me.
It's as if we have a contract with death and we hurry to fulfill it.
Cheap shortcuts is not always the way to go.
They are costly and deadly.
We never know our time yeah,but let us not give the devil a chance either to kill us b4 our time.

This sickening accident killed the old mzee before his time, even though he was on his death bed.
May their souls rip.
#46 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 3:41:33 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Death toll rose to 9Sad
Wah! How many Kenyans do we lose on Kenyan roads?

...the numbers are alarming for a country with 40m people http://www.worldlifeexpe...ad-traffic-accidents,as @newfarer said this matatu drivers are too careless,the other day sm idiot was smack right on the highway,just at the turn off to JKIA alighting people,there was no stage he dint have the hazards on,jst dint care,you can easily ram him from behind...we really need stiffer penalties,this thing is serious,we need urgent intervention.
mkeiyd
#47 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 10:14:10 AM

I blame the police 90% the remaining 10% is the reckless greedy drivers.there are many roadblocks yet they allow uninspected vehicles after taking bribes.

in this case unregistered mtumba van was ferrying 9 souls from mombasa passing all the roadblocks without getting arrested.how safe are we? suppose the mtumba car was carrying explosives?

kenyans need somebody to save themselves from themselves.
the young kids died here because of careless adults including the parents who chose to use shortcuts (namely unregistered means of transport/ vehicles)and the police who were too busy taking 50bobs instead of doing their work.
w
btw who is the transport minister?

matatus on this highway are very reckless and have bought all the police officers in the highway.
they speed, carry excess passengers in broad view of traffic police officers who occassionally stop them to collect 'their' 50 bobs

@newfarer, Hell NO!, If you can place 90% of the responsibility of your life to someone else,i don't think you deserve to be alive,if you gave it to me that is.
Who herded the 9 to that mtumba van you are talking about? The police?
We can't thrive on irresponsibility/impunity. Messing up and expect to get away with it.
If you mess up, be ready to pay for it.
I'm not blaming the 9 dead, i just don't agree with the apportion of blame carried above.
If i drive fast, i know the consequences and i cannot turn and blame the police when shit hits the fan.
Let every driver and any other road user be responsible. PERIOD!
Recklessness is what's killing people on the roads.
There are spineless bunches of human flesh attempting to move vehicles on the road.
#48 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 11:27:22 AM

Ditto @mkeiyd.

All other factors held constant, when driving from Nyayo Stadium to Mlolongo at 140kph, you'll take 8.6 mins covering the 20km stretch. When you reduce to 120kph, you take 10mins. When you reduce further to 100kph, you take 12 mins. And while doing 80kph, you take 15 mins. In other words, it doesn't make sense to speed in that section of the highway if all you'll be saving is less than 7 minutes! Spend 7 minutes more on the road and save lives, and reach home safe, with no visits to the insurance or the mechanics. Reduce your need for speed, driver. It's also upto you, the passenger, to always tell the driver to drive well.
#49 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 12:13:56 PM

Pray Pray
This morning at General Motors flyover .

This private car swerved,dived under the bridge and landed upside down on the railway line below.
And GSU officers in 2 full trucks were part of the 'watching crowds'.

Thank God no lives lost.

#50 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 10:19:38 AM

This car lost control along Mombasa road near GM flyover and burst into flames!!!

FancyFace
#51 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 11:02:25 AM

This GM flyover is now too much....very sad that we loose people here on this particular spot almost every week.

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
#52 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 11:24:55 AM

ok there are madeemoni in need of cleansing on Gm flyover.
rryyzz
#53 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 12:08:47 PM

FancyFace wrote:
This GM flyover is now too much....very sad that we loose people here on this particular spot almost every week.

This is my route every morning & eveningPray
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
#54 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 12:29:24 PM

rryyzz wrote:
FancyFace wrote:

Last week, hapo Imara entrance, there was a terrible accident, the pedestrian died instantly!

But I think it would be prudent for drivers to reduce their speed when you approach these "crossing sections"...Bellevue, GM, Cabanas..
FancyFace
#55 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 12:58:11 PM

rryyzz wrote:
FancyFace wrote:

Sad Pray mine too..gives me chills when driving past using the two outer lanes, something permanent needs to be done and fast...at times I even enjoy driving past when there is jam.. who is responsible to sort this mess? KeNHA, KURA ama watu wa Kidero?...Sad

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
#56 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 1:17:33 PM

Most Kenyan drivers truth be told are just careless,dont care about other road users,are poorly trained and dont realise that a car is just a piece of metal that can double up as your coffin...you can drive fast and be careful,there are countries where you can hit 180kph in their highways without worry drivers are super disciplined no silly changing of lanes or a car stopping right infront of you to pick someone try driving that fast in Kenya you will be playing russian roulette witb your life...everyday driving in our roads and coming back home alive is another day to be thankful to God.
#57 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 10:17:27 AM

Another bad night....
#58 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 10:21:13 AM

Another bad night....

?????
#59 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 10:32:10 AM

Another bad night....

?????

A series of accidents...one terrible...Sad Last weekend same story...
#60 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2015 12:43:56 PM

Pray Pray Pray