wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

7 Pages«<4567>
Safaricom encouraging MPesa fraud
Abunuasi
#101 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 7:35:33 AM

richdad wrote:
What safaricom has done is employ guys to clean its image everywhere over the internet. The truth of the matter is that when you have a one to one issue with these guys, they act like devils advocates with evil smiles on their faces. Only use Mpesa for very small amounts, don't use their data unless its mobile or modem.

Also don't try any of their safaricom business products. Its a total rip off meant to make then billions. eg zindisha biashara, wimax internet etc.

Wish u argued with facts.
I use Zidisha and could not be happier.
chiaroscuro
#102 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 8:26:32 AM

theking wrote:
one can only pick a contact from phonebook if it's saved in the SIM card n not in the phone. in case u din't know now u know

Yeah; Yeah; Yeah!!

So if the number is in the phone memory, you simply move it to the SIM and do your MPESA transaction. If your phone cannot move numbers from memory to SIM, then throw it away and buy another one - it's a liability!
chiaroscuro
#103 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 8:29:40 AM

Mozenrat,some of these jobs are got through lobbying.The Pm does it,the president does it and a host of guyz.Mark you it was double my salo.i dont expect any sympathy and was just sharing with wazuans my experience.

The LOVE of money is the route of all evil. Now you know!
#104 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 8:29:54 AM

richdad wrote:
What safaricom has done is employ guys to clean its image everywhere over the internet. The truth of the matter is that when you have a one to one issue with these guys, they act like devils advocates with evil smiles on their faces. Only use Mpesa for very small amounts, don't use their data unless its mobile or modem.

Also don't try any of their safaricom business products. Its a total rip off meant to make then billions. eg zindisha biashara, wimax internet etc.

I hate it when people have alternatives to MPESA and they don't want to MOVE to them but instead complain like BABIES. Why don't you just sto using MPESA if u r not satisfied. NKTEST.

FYI. I operated a KCB a/c for 3 years without an ID and photo. A day reached when i needed 140K that i could only get OTC, its when i knew the details were never uploaded on their Database.

chiaroscuro
#105 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 8:32:15 AM

mnandii wrote:
Kwani,you cannot account if part of the money is refunded or are you making a mockery of the accountin.g profession?

The idea was to reverse the transaction. How can u reverse a transaction when the amounts involved are different?

This is painful but jst like @McReggae says write down the numbers, check and recheck before sending.

How do you write the number for instance when you are in a Bar at 3am?

If you are making payments of large amounts while drunk at 3am, then you are just simply CARELESS!!!!!!!
#106 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 8:55:46 AM

FYI. I operated a KCB a/c for 3 years without an ID and photo. A day reached when i needed 140K that i could only get OTC, its when i knew the details were never uploaded on their Database.

If you opened your bank account on those tents set on roadsides or with those bank employees hawkers who move from office to office registering new customers, chances are that the ID and photo details were not uploaded in the banks database if you never deposited any money in the next 3 months.

BTW, what is the difference between MPesa, Orange/YU/Airtel money and the bank Agents? NKTEST

#107 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 9:12:00 AM

richdad wrote:

I hate it when people have alternatives to MPESA and they don't want to MOVE to them but instead complain like BABIES. Why don't you just sto using MPESA if u r not satisfied. NKTEST.

Very well said. Judging from the endless grumbling here one would think safcom puts a gun to peoples' heads and forces them to use Mpesa. There are so many alternatives out there eg Airtel money, orange, Yu etc etc, you can even use the bus to send money to your folks huko shags.
So no one is forcing anyone to use Mpesa. It's a free market. Hama!
Personally am very happy with Mpesa.
#108 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 9:21:00 AM

Kweli there was a meeting at Safcom social media offices this morning?

Facts are facts. You can't bully yourself through social media and expect them to be real.

So get used to it. And yes, we are dumping safcom, yu, airtel and any other payment system that doesn't allow basic fraud checks together.

Having said that, Mpesa is a very easy product for me to use.

But I don't swallow the coolaid. It is a danger to the economy and must be regulated. If only to stop all drunkards from sending money to fraudulent safcom clients.You can add it as part of your CRM.
Drobos fly
#109 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 9:21:07 AM

Very well said. Judging from the endless grumbling here one would think safcom puts a gun to peoples' heads and forces them to use Mpesa. There are so many alternatives out there eg Airtel money, orange, Yu etc etc, you can even use the bus to send money to your folks huko shags.
So no one is forcing anyone to use Mpesa. It's a free market. Hama!

People! Kenya is the only nation that has guys complaining when they are completely satisfied. It's simple you take alternative action when you feel short changed otherwise you are satisfied.
#110 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 9:35:38 AM

richdad wrote:
What safaricom has done is employ guys to clean its image everywhere over the internet.

Very wrong. The customer is always right and we the happy customers have a right to air our very positive views/experiences regarding Mpesa.

The problem with some people is that they never want to take full responsibility for their mistakes.
#111 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 9:43:05 AM

I used to send money to shags through Akamba/Easy Coach.......the upgrade to MPesa was a massive improvement!!!!
#112 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 9:54:20 AM

Now you can even withdraw or deposit funds to your bank account via Mpesa 24/7. No need to visit the bank/ATM. Of course you can still pay your bills eg power, water, Dstv, credit card, supermarket bill etc via the service. You can even buy your plane ticket, bus ticket etc. It's a great service.
#113 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 10:16:19 AM

Of course it is good and i use it but it does not mean i cant complain about its shortcomings and loopholes.
#114 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 11:57:38 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:
mnandii wrote:
Kwani,you cannot account if part of the money is refunded or are you making a mockery of the accountin.g profession?

The idea was to reverse the transaction. How can u reverse a transaction when the amounts involved are different?

This is painful but jst like @McReggae says write down the numbers, check and recheck before sending.

How do you write the number for instance when you are in a Bar at 3am?

If you are making payments of large amounts while drunk at 3am, then you are just simply CARELESS!!!!!!!

Bar/kesha at 3 am is to take away not do serious business involving transfer of funds. If you transact, then that is pure carelesness!
#115 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 12:05:03 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:
Mozenrat,some of these jobs are got through lobbying.The Pm does it,the president does it and a host of guyz.Mark you it was double my salo.i dont expect any sympathy and was just sharing with wazuans my experience.

The LOVE of money is the route of all evil. Now you know!

@mawinder, i wonder who would employ you to head a department in their organization. From what you have stated your strategy and policy on bribery and processes to facilitate the same were flawed from the beginning. That clearly shows lack of skills in leadership and management whereas you want to do the same. Any sane chairman CANNOT receive bribes through their official lines, that would be suicidal on their part – have you not seen the way it is easy to wear JUVE uniforms nowadays. This is where middlemen come in. I hope you were truly coned!
#116 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 12:09:17 PM

register your simcards, use original phones...i see a time when these "small" issues will be sorted by class one kids.
#117 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 5:51:42 PM

Elder wrote:
People carry on here as if such mistakes can never happen to them. For one not all the numbers you send money to by Mpesa would be in your phone book. .

My sim phone book carries the maximum 250 numbers, and my phone memory another over 700 numbers. Sending to a wrong no. happens to anyone. I once sent out Sh 32,700 and it went to a wrong no. I called and a lady answered, told her to resend back the money minus the transaction cost and even another two hundred for her token. I received the cash back.... no big deal. Recently I sent another 6,500 but also went to a wrong no. Called the guy, who became arrogant and disconnected. I immediately called Safcom (On 200 since am on postpaid). The funds were refunded within a record 2hrs!!!. Mr. Zainabu must have been rushing to withdraw the funds at a nearest outlet. Laughing out loudly

AND YES THEY DEDUCTED SH.30 UPON REVERSING THE TRANSACTION.
#118 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 12:07:27 PM

Bwana Tebes you are very liberal with your cash!!!

......By default I save numbers on my phone memory, close relations are all on the sim, each time I need to send somebody cheddah I simply copy the number to my sim, serves me well all the time...just protect and love your money and these mistakes will not happen!!!

.....even if the refund is within 2 hrs, you can only transact with the cash after 48hrs!!!
mozenrat
#119 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 3:45:33 PM

Actually this carelessness problem is not limited to MPESA... Kenyans nowadays simply don't take care of their stuff and will look for anyone else to blame for losses EXCEPT themselves... look through the investment threads and you'll find many moaning about losses after purchasing stocks at ridiculously inflated prices and blaming their brokers.. as if pesa ni ya broker.. we're becoming a nation of whiners. I wish you were complaining about M-PESA downtimes, that would make sense.
#120 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 10:35:11 PM

Bwana Tebes you are very liberal with your cash!!!

......By default I save numbers on my phone memory, close relations are all on the sim, each time I need to send somebody cheddah I simply copy the number to my sim, serves me well all the time...just protect and love your money and these mistakes will not happen!!!

.....even if the refund is within 2 hrs, you can only transact with the cash after 48hrs!!!

Nope not after 48hrs but as soon as u receive the reverse SMS.