mawinder wrote:Quicksand,one can open an mpesa account in your name without an id card,passport photo and without your knowledge by bribing the mpesa girl 1k.does safaricom keep copies of the id and passport photos like banks?
Keeping copies of the id, photo would now require the agent to have a computer, and naturally an internet connection to upload these to a central database for cross-reference. We are now talking a small Front Office operation, like Posta. This would curtail Mpesa's reach severely cause as you can see there is quite some capital outlay required for this. If this was a prerequisite, Mpesa would not be Mpesa. It wouldn't be the world beating, revolutionary money transfer system for the common mwananchi that it is. If you prefer a service that doesn't have a broad reach,...eehh well, there are many options to choose from...posta, money order, etc etc. How far has banks and posta taken us? they have had years head start
You can't have your cake and eat it.
Treat Mpesa transacting the way you regard Nigerian fraud mail and you will be OK. Basic care will save you lots of grief.
As for all the other armchair legal experts,...I am sure banks who have been squeezed by Mpesa have employed real lawyers who have searched for legal loopholes they can use to shut down Mpesa, or at least slow down its momentum and haven't found anything useful. Mpesa does way more good than harm, I am not advertising here but the rampant negativity and baying for blood is exasperating. Learn the risks and be careful or avoid the service.