many thanks all contributors our goals are best achieved indirectly
Rank: Member Joined: 12/7/2010 Posts: 520 Location: Epicentre - Ngamia 1
Props to all contributors for the invaluable info and being kind enough to share. Thank you. Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
Vj wrote:vineyard16 wrote:@VJ thanks for the insight i am a ugandan, i want to purchase a vehicle through trade car view(nissan selana) , it cost USD 1790 CIF ex mombasa. year of manufacture 1997. furnish me with tax duties i will have to pay KRA for clearance.
You can not register a car that is more than 8 years old in Kenya. However Uganda does not have an age limit on imported cars. You will not pay duties to KRA, however you need to pay port and shipping line charges. The important thing for you is to get a very reliable clearing agent in Uganda. As for the duty these will be payable to Uganda Revenue Authority and will be as follows: Import Duty: 15% of dutiable value VAT : 17% of VAT value Import commission: 2% of Dutiable Value Withholding Tax: 4% of Dutiable Value I would also like to advise you that tradecarview is not a seller but a website that links buyers and sellers. therefore you should be very careful about the seller you are dealing with, as there have been cases of fraud and delayed shipping by some sellers on tradecarview. VJ is the info on duty paid in Uganda still accurate? See: http://allafrica.com/stories/200507251100.html
How is the duty payable to UGANDA revenue calculated for a used car? Excelsior
Have decided to revisit this thread. A quick one, what is the process of buying a vehicle unit if its on high seas? Bearing in mind importation documents bears the name of a local dealer or the Japan merchant
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
254.co.ke wrote:Have decided to revisit this thread. A quick one, what is the process of buying a vehicle unit if its on high seas? Bearing in mind importation documents bears the name of a local dealer or the Japan merchant I have never done it but if I had to; I would pay a small deposit, say 10%, for the car to book it. Then wait for it to arrive, and complete the transaction in the same way that one does when buying from a local agent...
Rank: Member Joined: 1/1/2010 Posts: 511 Location: kandara, Murang'a
I saw an Impreza I liked in Trade Car view and On calling A naija Guy answered and gave me a Jap name.. I gave up on them, telling him I needed Duty info 1st so i decide if to buy, He said they had a Kenyan buyer in the yard who could offer me the info blah blah.. I ran! Foresight..
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/11/2006 Posts: 971 Location: Home
It has been said here on this thread that KRA will base their tax calculation on either the CIF or the show room value of a vehicle depreciated for age - whichever is higher. Is this still true? I am importing a unit whose CIF exceeds the calculated customs value based on the KRA's work sheets. Does this mean I will pay more in taxes? Just for the avoidance of doubt... Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
Rank: Member Joined: 2/11/2011 Posts: 240 Location: jamuhuri ya kenya
@seppuku, relax, your clearing agent will handle that
254.co.ke wrote: importation documents bears the name of a local dealer or the Japan merchant Once you make 100% payment the seller will inform the shipping line to change the consignee details to your names, then the bill of lading & other import documents will be sent to you via DHL or if the seller has an agent in kenya you will be emailed details on how to go and collect the bill of lading at their local branch, usually in mombasa. You can opt to forward the email to your clearing agent, they print it & collect the import documents on your behalf
jimmy1 wrote:@seppuku, relax, your clearing agent will handle that Sure they will, but I'll be the one paying so I need to know what to budget for... Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 9/6/2010 Posts: 97 Location: nairobi, kenya
seppuku wrote:It has been said here on this thread that KRA will base their tax calculation on either the CIF or the show room value of a vehicle depreciated for age - whichever is higher. Is this still true? I am importing a unit whose CIF exceeds the calculated customs value based on the KRA's work sheets. Does this mean I will pay more in taxes? Just for the avoidance of doubt... It still works the same way, you pay based on whichever yields the higher tax value. Think smart and you'll pay by the crsp list. Before you can be be old and wise, you must first be young and stupid.
seppuku wrote: I need to know what to budget for... You only need to budget for tax based on the crsp list. Na uwache maswali mingi....
Vj wrote:seppuku wrote:It has been said here on this thread that KRA will base their tax calculation on either the CIF or the show room value of a vehicle depreciated for age - whichever is higher. Is this still true? I am importing a unit whose CIF exceeds the calculated customs value based on the KRA's work sheets. Does this mean I will pay more in taxes? Just for the avoidance of doubt... It still works the same way, you pay based on whichever yields the higher tax value. Think smart and you'll pay by the crsp list. jimmy1 wrote:seppuku wrote: I need to know what to budget for... You only need to budget for tax based on the crsp list. Na uwache maswali mingi.... Jameni! Sasa ukweli ni upi? @Vj, the car is already paid for. What smart thinking are you talking about? Kindly educate a brother. Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 9/6/2010 Posts: 97 Location: nairobi, kenya
@Jimmy: He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever. Seppuku put your e.mail address so i can brief you on what to do. Or you can ask @livie on how its done, he has learnt from experience. Before you can be be old and wise, you must first be young and stupid.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/11/2006 Posts: 971 Location: Home
Vj wrote:@Jimmy: He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.
Seppuku put your e.mail address so i can brief you on what to do. Or you can ask @livie on how its done, he has learnt from experience. VJ, kindly assist with the wise/smart move. Been seeing cool deals but the CIF factor always takes the juice out of it. holycowazua(at)gmail dot com
http://dutycalc.co.ke/how-to-use-duty-calc.htmlIf you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
Vj wrote:seppuku wrote:It has been said here on this thread that KRA will base their tax calculation on either the CIF or the show room value of a vehicle depreciated for age - whichever is higher. Is this still true? I am importing a unit whose CIF exceeds the calculated customs value based on the KRA's work sheets. Does this mean I will pay more in taxes? Just for the avoidance of doubt... It still works the same way, you pay based on whichever yields the higher tax value. Think smart and you'll pay by the crsp list. I was not very good at masomo back in school, and I have been trying to figure out what smart way I could use lakini my head is aching now. the only way I have come up with is to bargain hard for a crazy discount, or buy it on hire purchase
Vj wrote:@Jimmy: He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.
Seppuku put your e.mail address so i can brief you on what to do. Or you can ask @livie on how its done, he has learnt from experience. @Vj, my email address is gitahi86@gmail.com. Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
Market
Pennywise
A guide to imporing cars from Japan