wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

7 Pages«<23456>»
Safaricom encouraging MPesa fraud
#61 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 7:29:28 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

you can only cancel a transaction, so he will only get his 50 bob back not the 45,000

Was about to say those are 2 different transactions.
I am sure the id no.or whatever they call it are different.
But that customer care fellow was silly.Asking you to go to the cops when it's obvious the cops will redirect you back to safcom.

Why do we always assume that the customer care guys know it all? I have on several occasions caught them down in their pants.
At times they make me believe they could be high school dropouts.
If one doesn't know how to handle a case,please refer them to a more qualified personell instead of giving foolish advise.
sitaki.kujulikana
#62 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 9:15:08 PM

premio wrote:
Every 1 missing the point here and some of us will learn the hard way.

Suppose someone buys your goods, pays by mpesa, walks away for some meters then calls Safaricom to cancel the transaction. Won't you have lost the goods?
Just picture yourself been Safcom. The only way is for the users to be very keen when transacting. So next time you are paid by MPESA, re-transfer a portion of the money immediately so as the buyer doesn't cancel the transaction

mpesa is not legal tender
#63 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 9:43:57 PM

There is this friend of mine who calls people before sending them money via m pesa. I now know why.
#64 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 10:05:01 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
mpesa is not legal tender

So?

#65 Posted : Sunday, October 14, 2012 8:48:03 AM

mnandii wrote:
Kwani,you cannot account if part of the money is refunded or are you making a mockery of the accountin.g profession?

The idea was to reverse the transaction. How can u reverse a transaction when the amounts involved are different?

This is painful but jst like @McReggae says write down the numbers, check and recheck before sending.

I don't think it is reversal as such. And actually it can be done. About two years ago I received an Mpesa of 30k. Incidentally I was about to send a colleague some money. I went on and sent it plus the amount to cover withdrawal. I had not calculated well and ended up using 100 bob from the 30k. Now the only information I had from the sender was the name and I tried severally to call customer care but never got through so I gave up.

The sender never contacted me. About four days later however I receive end a all from Mpesa informing me that the transaction had been made in error and they needed to take back the money and asking for my comments. And thereafter 29900 was deducted from my account. I find it strange that they now claim that the amount has to be exact for them to act.
#66 Posted : Sunday, October 14, 2012 4:57:11 PM

mnandii wrote:
Kwani,you cannot account if part of the money is refunded or are you making a mockery of the accountin.g profession?

The idea was to reverse the transaction. How can u reverse a transaction when the amounts involved are different?

This is painful but jst like @McReggae says write down the numbers, check and recheck before sending.

How do you write the number for instance when you are in a Bar at 3am?

#67 Posted : Sunday, October 14, 2012 5:00:07 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
seeker* wrote:
Why didn't your friend just send the wrong number 50shs to make the amount complete again? 44950+50=45000 problem solved.

Genius!

you can only cancel a transaction, so he will only get his 50 bob back not the 45,000

Sasa hii mnamaliza ndugu yetu kwanini?

#68 Posted : Sunday, October 14, 2012 5:05:14 PM

Impunity,kwani you pay for your take away bills via mpesa?
mozenrat
#69 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 12:05:55 PM

Mozenrat,some of these jobs are got through lobbying.The Pm does it,the president does it and a host of guyz.Mark you it was double my salo.i dont expect any sympathy and was just sharing with wazuans my experience.

My crooked friend.. what you did is called bribery, corruption, wizi and you got exactly what you deserved... Your politically correct lingo, eti "lobbying" does not change these facts
mozenrat
#70 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 12:07:49 PM

mnandii wrote:

How do you write the number for instance when you are in a Bar at 3am?

and how many cheques do you write in a bar at 3am?? there is no difference
mkeiyd
#71 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 2:06:03 PM

Layman wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
premio wrote:
Safaricom is the one driving mpesa fraud, a friend sent 45000ksh to a wrong number and reported to c.service cant beleive that the transaction could not be reversed coz the guy had bought ksh 50 airtime leaving 44950ksh meaning safaricon will only reverse a transaction if full amount sent is still intact and they told him to report to police this is crazy no wonder repeat offenders still draw money using the same number several times. I think any line that draws money sent by mistake should be blocked for good or cash recovered after any amount is loaded thats how they will increase confidence in MPESA security.

That is IMPOSSIBLE!

Don't we simply lift the number from the phonebook?
How can you then say you sent to the wrong number?

That problem was solved a long time ago.

tell your friend to change to a modern SIM card - it will cost only 50 bob.

Really, I could easily delete your wife's number or husband's number (for example) from your phonebook and save my number using their names. If you scroll you will pick the "wife" of "husband's" name and you will M-Pesa me thinking its your wife or husband. Mistakes happen and sending money to the wrong number is just a mistake like any other and can happen to anyone

How i wish i could do that on some guy who's just refused to pay his debt?
However,the possibility of this ever working leans on zero,i'm made to keep on pushing.
#72 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 2:19:31 PM

First I'm very happy that a briber was conned. It should happen to you more often.

What is disconcerting is the nonchalant way guys are taking this mpesa thing.

Economies have been crashed by monetary tools more stringent than Mpesa. There was a post that was totally ignored by the safaricom addicts to do with a lady who was asking serious questions on the legality of this Mpesa thing.

As long as there is a loophole in a monetary system that anyone in Kamiti can exploit, then there should be serious regulation on its use.

What do you mean that if I send my money to Onyango and his wife get's it, I cannot claim my money by Mpesa?

What kind of a monetary system is that?

Sure its my fault. I messed up. But if I mess up with Western Union, I get my money back. If I mess up with a check, I get my money back.However painful the process.

If someone collects money that is not intended for him either by my mistake or intentionally, that is fraud. That is a crime which safaricom has facilitated.

Iko kitu na hii mpesa. One day some day, shit will hit the fan.
#73 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 3:26:28 PM

If you board a taxi and tell the driver to take you to destination x, then on arrival you realize you were supposed to go to y, you don't blame the taxi company for your mistake. Neither do you sue Toyota the makers of the taxi cab because their product took you to x instead of y.
#74 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 3:43:07 PM

If you board a taxi and tell the driver to take you to destination x, then on arrival you realize you were supposed to go to y, you don't blame the taxi company for your mistake. Neither do you sue Toyota the makers of the taxi cab because their product took you to x instead of y.

I don't think there is any comparion here.
Mpesa involves monetary transactions.
It's not about the destination either, but a weak system.
Any company dealing with citizens money must have in place stringent measures to safeguard its customers in such cases.It doesn't matter the gravity, since they have trusted your system to work in their favour.Bear the headache and save the customer loss.
Passing blame to customers all the time because you have loopholes is not healthy in business because we are human and prone to mistakes.

mozenrat
#75 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 4:12:34 PM

Sure its my fault. I messed up. But if I mess up with Western Union, I get my money back. If I mess up with a check, I get my money back.However painful the process.

If someone collects money that is not intended for him either by my mistake or intentionally, that is fraud. That is a crime which safaricom has facilitated.

This is a fallacy. if you deposit money into the wrong account - by writing the wrong account number - and its withdrawn, the bank will not refund you neither is it obliged to try and recover the cash for you. They'll send you to the police just like Safcom is doing. I don't know where you people got this nonsense from. Same applies to Western Union.
#76 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 4:32:23 PM

monzerat don't let your support of safaricom show your ignorance.

How do you write a check again to the wrong person? My goodness, good banks these days even call you to confirm checks signed by you. If your bank is allowing you to deposit funds in an account with the wrong name and bank account number, then I suggest you move to another bank.

as for western union, for something that is so international, there are enough checks and balances in that system to make you cry. Yet it looks so easy.

So explain to me why your company allowing someone who they know to be the unintended receiver of the money. With even an opportunity to return the money. Not be in cohots with the defrauder? How do they allow criminals in Kamiti use their money system? That is a crime by itself.

That is why criminals in Kamiti love safaricom that much.
#77 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 5:22:11 PM

A pub manager recently told me that they are no longer accepting Mpesa payments on pub bills because after payment, some clients have been promptly calling safcom to cancel the transaction complaining that they sent the money to the wrong number.
mozenrat
#78 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 5:48:17 PM

monzerat don't let your support of safaricom show your ignorance.

How do you write a check again to the wrong person? My goodness, good banks these days even call you to confirm checks signed by you. If your bank is allowing you to deposit funds in an account with the wrong name and bank account number

Who said anything about writing the account number in a cheque??.. If I walk into a bank with cash to deposit into your account, I'll fill in a deposit slip in which I'm supposed to fill in your account number and may well make a mistake... Same applies to EFT.

I know you'll say that I can always confirm whether the account number is correct by asking the bank.. KCB, Barclays and Stanchart do not allow this. They'll ask you to call the recipient to confirm which is the equivalent of confirming on MPESA... I'm not loyal to Safcom.. I'm just tired of Kenyans blaming others for their lack of thinking.

wacha generalizations.. tell us which checks and balances these are that Western Union has that would cover the carelessness of a person who sends cash to the wrong recipient and its withdrawn.. Kwani WU wataenda nyumbani kwa huyo recipient kumtafuta?.. NKT
#79 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 5:57:41 PM

wazua and talking in tongues...what is NKT?

Go to western union and find out.

But now I bow down from this topic.
mozenrat
#80 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 5:58:15 PM

wazua and talking in tongues...what is NKT?

Go to western union and find out.

But now I bow down from this topic.

So you don't know??? na venye unapayuka..
Learn from those of us who've actually worked in banks