wazua Fri, May 16, 2025

7 Pages<1234>»
Safaricom encouraging MPesa fraud
#21 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 2:18:42 PM

it is true safaricom is encouraging mpesa fraud.i applied for a job with a leading company and was interviewed.days later i received a call from someone claiming to be the chairman of the company.he told me he was a bit down financially but would push for my appointment if i facilitated him with 100k.in my wisdom i used my watchman's line to send him 500 bob and indeed i received a confirmation message with the chairman's name.was excited and send 100k and i received a confirmation message with the chairman's name.a week later i bump into the real chairman in united kenya club and after introduction i realize he does not even know me and was not the one i send cash to.i call the fake chairman immediately with my phone on handsfree and he picks the call and says how he i am going to get the job and should send him 50k to buy other directors lunch.to cut the long story short the guy registered an mpesa line in the chairman's name and swindled several people.it should be a requirement for strict kyc before opening a mpesa account i.e passport photo,id copy,utility bill etc.

Haiya. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly.
Maybe its the chairman screwing you with his board. POLE SANA. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

#22 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 2:26:51 PM

it is true safaricom is encouraging mpesa fraud.i applied for a job with a leading company and was interviewed.days later i received a call from someone claiming to be the chairman of the company.he told me he was a bit down financially but would push for my appointment if i facilitated him with 100k.in my wisdom i used my watchman's line to send him 500 bob and indeed i received a confirmation message with the chairman's name.was excited and send 100k and i received a confirmation message with the chairman's name.a week later i bump into the real chairman in united kenya club and after introduction i realize he does not even know me and was not the one i send cash to.i call the fake chairman immediately with my phone on handsfree and he picks the call and says how he i am going to get the job and should send him 50k to buy other directors lunch.to cut the long story short the guy registered an mpesa line in the chairman's name and swindled several people.it should be a requirement for strict kyc before opening a mpesa account i.e passport photo,id copy,utility bill etc.

This is just a Friday story, right?
#23 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 2:28:22 PM

You must be kidding? I wouldn't send sh100 to a 'chairman' of a company I am seeking to be employed in.
What company image is he reflecting?
How sure am I that he will be paying me on time??
Those are the questions I would ask myself before I make a move.

Kuna shida za kujitakia tu.
#24 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 2:46:15 PM

@ premio, although we ought to be careful when sending cash, and although its not safcom's obligation to reverse, 45K is not little money. And by the way the theory of it can not be returned is what is written on paper but there is always an exception. You shud av asked your friend to walk to any retail centre and request to speak to a manager. I am so sure this cud have been sorted. All in all, Safaricom is not really to blame here, they even ask you to confirm b4 clicking ok. So lets deal with the issue at hand. An Safaricom retail manager can sort u out. Assuming the money is still in the wrong recipient's phone that is...
#25 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 2:48:18 PM

People carry on here as if such mistakes can never happen to them. For one not all the numbers you send money to by Mpesa would be in your phone book. Secondly if it is in your address book it may be a matter of confusing similar surnames or first names. Or you could be sending money under a lot of stress - like someone seriously sick in the hospital. The list is really endless.

It is only sensible for the service provider to ensure that there are checks in place to protect its user and to that end put in place clear dispute resolution guidelines. A good example of that is Paypal where I believe you can cancel a transaction before it is completed or ask for a refund from the recipient within 60 days. They even have avenues for complaints and their resolutions in order to protect both buyers and sellers using their platform. I think there is a time that CBK was talking upon regulations needing to be in place for the protection of mobile money transfer users. I don't know whether they were ever put in place.

@quicksand, you are right about refund if not done well, possibly leading to fraud. However I think Safaricom has a way of handling that. Sometime back I tried to send some guy money by Mpesa only to receive a message that I could not send money to that number. When I called him he told me he had sent about 50k by mistake to a wrong number. He then called Safaricom immediately. What they did was to cancel the transaction but while they investigated (I don't know how) his Mpesa account was suspended such that he could not deposit, withdraw or transfer money using it. I think it was for over 72 hours. Ultimately they were satisfied it was genuine and refunded the money to him.
#26 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 2:54:10 PM

@mawinder....hahahahhahha, I have never laughed more!!!

@Elder, whenever I am sending large amounts I write the number down, lest I forget, people have to be careful with their money!!!
kryptonite
#27 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 3:04:21 PM

Mawinder, what position were you interviewing for?
The harder you work, the luckier you get
#28 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 3:07:52 PM

Essyk,it was a public listed company.the guy confessed to having conned many people including applicants to top gava jobs.he is now in remand for other fraud cases even though i didnt pursue the matter further.
hairglo
#29 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 3:12:12 PM

Hey. Does not the title sound alarmist to you. 'SAFARICOM ENCOURAGING FRAUD ...'. How? Not unless you work with rival money transfer services, there is no way safaricom can be purported to be promoting fraud there. FYI, if i could recieve that 45K, u will have to SWEAT to get it back, ndio iwe funzo kwako, and also i can be sure u r not a CON trying to extract people identity!

U hav to take responsibility for your money and not blame safaricom. if ur wallet falls out of your pocket you don't blame the tailor who made the trouser

@mawinder, so u want to lay blame on safaricom for your inclination to bribe ur way into a job?
#30 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 3:12:41 PM

Kryptonite,head of department of a large public ltd company.
#31 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 4:04:55 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I'm sorry for laughing @mawinder. But seriously? If my name is Linus Gitahi it doesn't mean I am THE Linus Gitahi of NMG!! I might be Linus Alai Refrigerator Magigi Gitahi or a guy with a fake ID as in your case!

Pole lakini.
earthvoice
#32 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 4:09:56 PM

u first blame your carelessness before jumping to social fora to curse others. Umelipwa na Airtel money?
if true, this should be reported to the nearest police station since the recipient must/should have an ID for MPESA, though police wont do it for free since its not their work to collect your debts and negligence.
And what is fraudulent in recieving and using money that u have not asked for forcefully or by con game?

Eish!
Yawa!!!Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
"All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
chiaroscuro
#33 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 4:10:28 PM

Mwizi kaibiwa na mwizi mwenza; shida ni?
#34 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 4:15:06 PM

What @McReggae has said is true before sending money I usually counter check more than once,when entering the digits,before sending...those familiar with settlement for equities in overseas markets know that at times matching takes place upto 3 times this is to avoid fails even if billions are traded.Do the same counter check more than once as many have said its your money after all be careful...@premio if you are taken to court over your statements utajitetea aje??
chiaroscuro
#35 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 4:19:13 PM

Elder wrote:
People carry on here as if such mistakes can never happen to them. For one not all the numbers you send money to by Mpesa would be in your phone book. Secondly if it is in your address book it may be a matter of confusing similar surnames or first names. Or you could be sending money under a lot of stress - like someone seriously sick in the hospital. The list is really endless.

It is only sensible for the service provider to ensure that there are checks in place to protect its user and to that end put in place clear dispute resolution guidelines. A good example of that is Paypal where I believe you can cancel a transaction before it is completed or ask for a refund from the recipient within 60 days. They even have avenues for complaints and their resolutions in order to protect both buyers and sellers using their platform. I think there is a time that CBK was talking upon regulations needing to be in place for the protection of mobile money transfer users. I don't know whether they were ever put in place.

@quicksand, you are right about refund if not done well, possibly leading to fraud. However I think Safaricom has a way of handling that. Sometime back I tried to send some guy money by Mpesa only to receive a message that I could not send money to that number. When I called him he told me he had sent about 50k by mistake to a wrong number. He then called Safaricom immediately. What they did was to cancel the transaction but while they investigated (I don't know how) his Mpesa account was suspended such that he could not deposit, withdraw or transfer money using it. I think it was for over 72 hours. Ultimately they were satisfied it was genuine and refunded the money to him.

I still insist it was carelessness...and it has happened to me as well, but the figure was less than a hundredth of the 45k in question here...

Before the new SIMs were introduced, I paid about 400 bob to some one else's water account... I was watching an interesting program on TV while punching the account number; ended up with two digits interchanged.

I realised my mistake after hitting "OK" to send! Ooops!

Now I' very careful....

BTW: if the person you are sending to is in your phonebook, it means you know one another so you simply call them and ask them to refund it.
#36 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 4:19:47 PM

I would hate to be safcom, it's like being the govt! You are blamed for everything.
#37 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 4:20:48 PM

Bashing the victim while sitting on a high perfection pedestal is near blasphemous, only God does not make mistakes. I wrote off Safaricom long ago espin matters pertaining sensitivity to customer needs. Just be careful next time. Btw, those safcon employees, just like most wazuans, dont give a freaking shit about your loss, they will simply call you careless n crap. Take care, you are alone in this.
#38 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 4:30:19 PM

Bashing the victim while sitting on a high perfection pedestal is near blasphemous, only God does not make mistakes. I wrote off Safaricom long ago espin matters pertaining sensitivity to customer needs. Just be careful next time. Btw, those safcon employees, just like most wazuans, dont give a freaking shit about your loss, they will simply call you careless n crap. Take care, you are alone in this.

hiyo ya kumiss 1 digit while sending money is understandable. But sending money to Wilfred Kiboro for a job hapana.

I can't understand why I should blame safcom for that, saidia mimi nielewe.
#39 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 4:35:30 PM

earthvoice wrote:

And what is fraudulent in recieving and using money that u have not asked for forcefully or by con game?

Eish!
Yawa!!!Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

FRAUD : an intentional deception made for personal gain or to damage another individual; the related adjective is fraudulent.
Also, A false representation of a matter of fact—whether by words or by conduct, by false or misleading allegations, or by concealment of what should have been disclosed that deceives and is intended to deceive another so that
the individual will act upon it to her or his legal injury.
Fraud is commonly understood as dishonesty calculated
for advantage. A person who is dishonest may be called
a fraud.

premio
#40 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 5:17:47 PM

Every 1 missing the point here and some of us will learn the hard way. If i send 45k to someone and the guys withdrawals all of it i have no problem with safaricom. My problem is if the money is still in the recepient account what THE HELL OF A RULE do i have to follow that they cant reverse since part of it was utilised thats sheer stupidity and i think cbk should look at the safety of all money transfers mobile or western union. Money sent to utility companies and paybill numbers is never reversible ands thats ok. Child kidnappers are using mpesa because of these simple stupid rules that if ransom money is sent to otieno then otieno transfers to kamau then they cant touch kamaus account . What some people forget is that Mpesa is a way of life nowadays and it has made it very easy to do bussiness, its creating employment to thousands but.We pay for spares via mpesa, uchumi via mpesa,schools fees /kplc deposit cash to banks via mpesa so the chance of one making a mistake is there and safaricom must eliminate those stupid rule that if whole amount is not intact no reversal