Market
Pennywise
Safaricom encouraging MPesa fraud
Safaricom is the one driving mpesa fraud, a friend sent 45000ksh to a wrong number and reported to c.service cant beleive that the transaction could not be reversed coz the guy had bought ksh 50 airtime leaving 44950ksh meaning safaricon will only reverse a transaction if full amount sent is still intact and they told him to report to police this is crazy no wonder repeat offenders still draw money using the same number several times. I think any line that draws money sent by mistake should be blocked for good or cash recovered after any amount is loaded thats how they will increase confidence in MPESA security.
You got to be careful and countercheck! its your money. History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
premio wrote:Safaricom is the one driving mpesa fraud, a friend sent 45000ksh to a wrong number and reported to c.service cant beleive that the transaction could not be reversed coz the guy had bought ksh 50 airtime leaving 44950ksh meaning safaricon will only reverse a transaction if full amount sent is still intact and they told him to report to police this is crazy no wonder repeat offenders still draw money using the same number several times. I think any line that draws money sent by mistake should be blocked for good or cash recovered after any amount is loaded thats how they will increase confidence in MPESA security. That is IMPOSSIBLE! Don't we simply lift the number from the phonebook? How can you then say you sent to the wrong number? That problem was solved a long time ago. tell your friend to change to a modern SIM card - it will cost only 50 bob.
chiaroscuro wrote:premio wrote:Safaricom is the one driving mpesa fraud, a friend sent 45000ksh to a wrong number and reported to c.service cant beleive that the transaction could not be reversed coz the guy had bought ksh 50 airtime leaving 44950ksh meaning safaricon will only reverse a transaction if full amount sent is still intact and they told him to report to police this is crazy no wonder repeat offenders still draw money using the same number several times. I think any line that draws money sent by mistake should be blocked for good or cash recovered after any amount is loaded thats how they will increase confidence in MPESA security. That is IMPOSSIBLE! Don't we simply lift the number from the phonebook? How can you then say you sent to the wrong number? That problem was solved a long time ago. tell your friend to change to a modern SIM card - it will cost only 50 bob. +1 Take responsibility.
Rank: Member Joined: 9/21/2006 Posts: 422 Location: Nairobi
chiaroscuro wrote:premio wrote:Safaricom is the one driving mpesa fraud, a friend sent 45000ksh to a wrong number and reported to c.service cant beleive that the transaction could not be reversed coz the guy had bought ksh 50 airtime leaving 44950ksh meaning safaricon will only reverse a transaction if full amount sent is still intact and they told him to report to police this is crazy no wonder repeat offenders still draw money using the same number several times. I think any line that draws money sent by mistake should be blocked for good or cash recovered after any amount is loaded thats how they will increase confidence in MPESA security. That is IMPOSSIBLE! Don't we simply lift the number from the phonebook?How can you then say you sent to the wrong number? That problem was solved a long time ago. tell your friend to change to a modern SIM card - it will cost only 50 bob. Really, I could easily delete your wife's number or husband's number (for example) from your phonebook and save my number using their names. If you scroll you will pick the "wife" of "husband's" name and you will M-Pesa me thinking its your wife or husband. Mistakes happen and sending money to the wrong number is just a mistake like any other and can happen to anyone
Layman wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:premio wrote:Safaricom is the one driving mpesa fraud, a friend sent 45000ksh to a wrong number and reported to c.service cant beleive that the transaction could not be reversed coz the guy had bought ksh 50 airtime leaving 44950ksh meaning safaricon will only reverse a transaction if full amount sent is still intact and they told him to report to police this is crazy no wonder repeat offenders still draw money using the same number several times. I think any line that draws money sent by mistake should be blocked for good or cash recovered after any amount is loaded thats how they will increase confidence in MPESA security. That is IMPOSSIBLE! Don't we simply lift the number from the phonebook?How can you then say you sent to the wrong number? That problem was solved a long time ago. tell your friend to change to a modern SIM card - it will cost only 50 bob. Really, I could easily delete your wife's number or husband's number (for example) from your phonebook and save my number using their names. If you scroll you will pick the "wife" of "husband's" name and you will M-Pesa me thinking its your wife or husband. Mistakes happen and sending money to the wrong number is just a mistake like any other and can happen to anyone @Layman, Then In that case, I would not have sent to a wrong number. You wud simply have managed to defraud me. N mpesa asks at the point of send "Send to 0722....." then you confirm....so unless Iam Not CAREFUL since ITS my MONEY, then I wud send to yu whose intention was all along to steal from Me (Or why else wud you pick my phone and delete my wifes number replacing it with yours? )
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Layman wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:premio wrote:Safaricom is the one driving mpesa fraud, a friend sent 45000ksh to a wrong number and reported to c.service cant beleive that the transaction could not be reversed coz the guy had bought ksh 50 airtime leaving 44950ksh meaning safaricon will only reverse a transaction if full amount sent is still intact and they told him to report to police this is crazy no wonder repeat offenders still draw money using the same number several times. I think any line that draws money sent by mistake should be blocked for good or cash recovered after any amount is loaded thats how they will increase confidence in MPESA security. That is IMPOSSIBLE! Don't we simply lift the number from the phonebook?How can you then say you sent to the wrong number? That problem was solved a long time ago. tell your friend to change to a modern SIM card - it will cost only 50 bob. Really, I could easily delete your wife's number or husband's number (for example) from your phonebook and save my number using their names. If you scroll you will pick the "wife" of "husband's" name and you will M-Pesa me thinking its your wife or husband. Mistakes happen and sending money to the wrong number is just a mistake like any other and can happen to anyone @Layman - you must take requisite care with your money (when sending it), you cannot make errors and apportion blame on the provider of the platform - that is just lame. Mpesa has other genuine problems, yours really isn't. There are 2 plausible explanations why reversing transfers is a tedious process: 1) Mpesa has to discourage the thing where people send money to pay for services then go back and cancel the transfer - if this was to become an acute problem people would stop trusting the platform. Your losing money is a painful lesson to the user to be very careful the next time round. It is the price of maintaining trust in the system. 2) Contrary to popular belief, Safaricom does not own 100% policy control over Mpesa, ..the facility is owned by Vodafone (its called VMT). As such, Safaricom has to abide by the license terms (I am guessing 1 above would fall under such)
You send 45K by mistake??? Goodness gracious!!!!.......you gotta be careful with your money mate, unless you got too much...!!! @Layman, mtu anareplace number kwani anajua when you will Mpesa that number, what if the 1st thing you do is to call the number, in any case huyu itakuwa mtu unamjua!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Muheani wrote:Layman wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:premio wrote:Safaricom is the one driving mpesa fraud, a friend sent 45000ksh to a wrong number and reported to c.service cant beleive that the transaction could not be reversed coz the guy had bought ksh 50 airtime leaving 44950ksh meaning safaricon will only reverse a transaction if full amount sent is still intact and they told him to report to police this is crazy no wonder repeat offenders still draw money using the same number several times. I think any line that draws money sent by mistake should be blocked for good or cash recovered after any amount is loaded thats how they will increase confidence in MPESA security. That is IMPOSSIBLE! Don't we simply lift the number from the phonebook?How can you then say you sent to the wrong number? That problem was solved a long time ago. tell your friend to change to a modern SIM card - it will cost only 50 bob. Really, I could easily delete your wife's number or husband's number (for example) from your phonebook and save my number using their names. If you scroll you will pick the "wife" of "husband's" name and you will M-Pesa me thinking its your wife or husband. Mistakes happen and sending money to the wrong number is just a mistake like any other and can happen to anyone @Layman, Then In that case, I would not have sent to a wrong number. You wud simply have managed to defraud me. N mpesa asks at the point of send "Send to 0722....." then you confirm....so unless Iam Not CAREFUL since ITS my MONEY, then I wud send to yu whose intention was all along to steal from Me (Or why else wud you pick my phone and delete my wifes number replacing it with yours? ) mistakes happen
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
u first blame your carelessness before jumping to social fora to curse others. Umelipwa na Airtel money? Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
This matter is not trivial. anyone can make a mistake and send to the wrong number, Mpesa/Safaricom is not taking this matter seriously and thousands of people loose money this way everyday. I believe Safcom can sort this mess and make it easier for one to recover money sent to a wrong number. Safaricom Mpesa service in not charity and they owe a duty of care to their customers
Rank: Member Joined: 9/21/2006 Posts: 422 Location: Nairobi
McReggae wrote:You send 45K by mistake??? Goodness gracious!!!!.......you gotta be careful with your money mate, unless you got too much...!!!
@Layman, mtu anareplace number kwani anajua when you will Mpesa that number, what if the 1st thing you do is to call the number, in any case huyu itakuwa mtu unamjua!!! Wooiiii, I only gave a "for example", msinimalize.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
Layman wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:premio wrote:Safaricom is the one driving mpesa fraud, a friend sent 45000ksh to a wrong number and reported to c.service cant beleive that the transaction could not be reversed coz the guy had bought ksh 50 airtime leaving 44950ksh meaning safaricon will only reverse a transaction if full amount sent is still intact and they told him to report to police this is crazy no wonder repeat offenders still draw money using the same number several times. I think any line that draws money sent by mistake should be blocked for good or cash recovered after any amount is loaded thats how they will increase confidence in MPESA security. That is IMPOSSIBLE! Don't we simply lift the number from the phonebook?How can you then say you sent to the wrong number? That problem was solved a long time ago. tell your friend to change to a modern SIM card - it will cost only 50 bob. Really, I could easily delete your wife's number or husband's number (for example) from your phonebook and save my number using their names. If you scroll you will pick the "wife" of "husband's" name and you will M-Pesa me thinking its your wife or husband. Mistakes happen and sending money to the wrong number is just a mistake like any other and can happen to anyone NO! NO! NO! It's not easy! You first have to know that I intend to send my wife 45k today... then steal my phone... then figure out which of the 753 contacts is my wife (she's not saved as "WIFE")... then return my phone (remember, I can't MPESA without it)... and now wait for the transfer!!! This guy is simply careless with his/her money! I hope by now he has gone to change his SIM card.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
dunkang wrote:u first blame your carelessness before jumping to social fora to curse others. Umelipwa na Airtel money? makosa imetendeka give the guy a solution to his problem. No need to blast him he is already down. You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
XSK wrote:dunkang wrote:u first blame your carelessness before jumping to social fora to curse others. Umelipwa na Airtel money? makosa imetendeka give the guy a solution to his problem. No need to blast him he is already down. if true, this should be reported to the nearest police station since the recipient must/should have an ID for MPESA, though police wont do it for free since its not their work to collect your debts and negligence. And what is fraudulent in recieving and using money that u have not asked for forcefully or by con game? Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
dunkang wrote:XSK wrote:dunkang wrote:u first blame your carelessness before jumping to social fora to curse others. Umelipwa na Airtel money? makosa imetendeka give the guy a solution to his problem. No need to blast him he is already down. if true, this should be reported to the nearest police station since the recipient must/should have an ID for MPESA, though police wont do it for free since its not their work to collect your debts and negligence. And what is fraudulent in recieving and using money that u have not asked for forcefully or by con game? this has struck some nerve, ama you are the one who received, or are a past recipient of such a mistake. This is just a mistake, not a police case - I have receive cash via mpesa once by mistake, not a big figure - but I refunded after confirming it was not a con game.
dunkang wrote:u first blame your carelessness before jumping to social fora to curse others. Umelipwa na Airtel money? where does airtel come in ?
Kama hii ni 'normal mistake' then I don't know the meaning of the same....45K....T to a wrong number!!!!.....endleeni kupoteza pesa!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Hey. Does not the title sound alarmist to you. 'SAFARICOM ENCOURAGING FRAUD ...'. How? Not unless you work with rival money transfer services, there is no way safaricom can be purported to be promoting fraud there. FYI, if i could recieve that 45K, u will have to SWEAT to get it back, ndio iwe funzo kwako, and also i can be sure u r not a CON trying to extract people identity! Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
it is true safaricom is encouraging mpesa fraud.i applied for a job with a leading company and was interviewed.days later i received a call from someone claiming to be the chairman of the company.he told me he was a bit down financially but would push for my appointment if i facilitated him with 100k.in my wisdom i used my watchman's line to send him 500 bob and indeed i received a confirmation message with the chairman's name.was excited and send 100k and i received a confirmation message with the chairman's name.a week later i bump into the real chairman in united kenya club and after introduction i realize he does not even know me and was not the one i send cash to.i call the fake chairman immediately with my phone on handsfree and he picks the call and says how he i am going to get the job and should send him 50k to buy other directors lunch.to cut the long story short the guy registered an mpesa line in the chairman's name and swindled several people.it should be a requirement for strict kyc before opening a mpesa account i.e passport photo,id copy,utility bill etc.
Market
Pennywise
Safaricom encouraging MPesa fraud